follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing

Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing Relating to suspension, chassis, and brakes. Sponsored by 949 Racing.

User Tag List

Old 05-13-2016, 07:40 AM   #1
gkubed

Drives: 15 ZN6, 97 NA8, 87 AE82, 78 MX32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Fortune Auto / Swift / Hyperco choice

Hi guys, I'm likely to purchase a set of Fortune Auto 500 Coilovers. Disregarding spring rates, I'm wondering if it's worth the extra money to upgrade to Swift or Hyperco springs. Both of them are a $350 upgrade on top of the cost of the coilover.

I'm no expert on springs, so I'd like to know if anyone had insight as to whether or not there's a $350 difference between the two products.

Notes:

Fortune Auto seems to have a warranty that covers the springs for 1 year (the actual coilovers are covered for five years).
I emailed FA who said their springs are "a silicone chrome alloy spring that we get made overseas".
The Hyperco springs may fall under their lifetime warranty.
Swift springs are generally lighter
In one ancient test, Swift springs had more consistent rates across all tested springs (source)
From what I've read, there's no real bad option.

Relevant info if needed:
I drive a bone stock FR-S, and when I install these coilovers I will also install SPL LCAs and TWS T66-F in 18x9.5 +45 with 265/35/18 Michelin PSS. I don't want to slam my car. I just want everything to fit.

Any thoughts/helpful threads out there I may have missed?

Thanks

Last edited by gkubed; 05-13-2016 at 02:19 PM.
gkubed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 08:54 AM   #2
OkieSnuffBox

Drives: '23 BRZ Limited
Thanked 1,230 Times in 703 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)