follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 11-01-2019, 02:02 PM   #1
JesseG

Drives: 2016 Scion FR-S
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
El Manuel Transmission

So for all you guys with the 6 speed I would like to ask some questions and make some comments:
Some days I love this gear box, and other days I get frustrated. It’s temperamental, which I’m used to with Subie gearboxes, and I love the mechanical feel of it. That being said, it’s especially finicky.
(I’m a veteran manual driver, but not a pro or anything)

1. Do you experience a lot of crunchy gear changes from 1 to 2? I find the 1-2 shift especially tricky, which is unfortunate because of how many times you make that shift.

2. Is the “tractor” sound normal when you are in a higher gear at lower rpm’s? My car really sounds like a little tractor in that situation. Lol It’s especially noticeable when you are in say 2nd gear slowly moving through a parking lot.

3. What is the consensus on short shift kits? I’m worried about spending a bunch of money on one and not being happy with it. I added a oem TRD shift knob, which surprisingly feels lighter than the stock one. I really like it though.

4. Is removing the clutch assist spring a helpful thing? I agree that the clutch takeup is a little strange, but my issues aren’t with the clutch pedal.

Overall it’s a great transmission, it feels light and mechanical and is usually precise. But at times I wonder if the synchros aren’t always up to the job. I had synchros replaced on my WRX as part of a recall, so I know it happens with Subaru manuals. Any other thoughts or comments about the 6 speed?