follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86WORX
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2020, 10:09 AM   #29
r3myx626
Member
 
r3myx626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Drives: 2015 Subaru BRZ Limited ISM
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I got a nearly identical unit except mine runs on a rockchip px6 processor. A problem that I ran into is that the native gps radio seems to not be able to get a gps fix. I've tried several antennas from different units that I know work. I'm on my second replacement for the same issue. Can you by chance install a gps test app on your unit and see if you can get full gps lock?
r3myx626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 11:20 AM   #30
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3myx626 View Post
I got a nearly identical unit except mine runs on a rockchip px6 processor. A problem that I ran into is that the native gps radio seems to not be able to get a gps fix. I've tried several antennas from different units that I know work. I'm on my second replacement for the same issue. Can you by chance install a gps test app on your unit and see if you can get full gps lock?
Mines seems to working fine. What app did you use to test?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 12:57 PM   #31
r3myx626
Member
 
r3myx626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Drives: 2015 Subaru BRZ Limited ISM
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rican_D View Post
Mines seems to working fine. What app did you use to test?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
GPS Test from Chartcross limited on play store
r3myx626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 05:05 PM   #32
r3myx626
Member
 
r3myx626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Drives: 2015 Subaru BRZ Limited ISM
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rican_D View Post
Mines seems to working fine. What app did you use to test?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
nvm looks like adjusting my antenna away from head unit fixed the issue.
r3myx626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 05:28 PM   #33
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3myx626 View Post
nvm looks like adjusting my antenna away from head unit fixed the issue.
Ah cool

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2020, 02:27 PM   #34
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3myx626 View Post
Use soap and water to lubricate it. Helps to use fish tape.
Ok so I finally got it through. I used ones of these grabbers, ran it through the car side of tube, grabbed end of RCA cable. I taped it up with electrical tape for good measure and used petroleum jelly. Pulled the cable through with ease.

Had to buy some wire to run the trigger and ground wire to harness that's right below the trunk latch. Hopefully tomorrow I can run everything so I can have my backup camera up and running.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk



Last edited by Rican_D; 12-28-2020 at 07:22 PM.
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 02:25 PM   #35
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
All done

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rican_D For This Useful Post:
ermax (12-30-2020), kevaughan (07-05-2021)
Old 12-29-2020, 02:26 PM   #36
Drifter X
Senior Member
 
Drifter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 224
Thanks: 136
Thanked 83 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
That looks so good! Are you using the factory camera?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Drifter X is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Drifter X For This Useful Post:
Rican_D (12-29-2020)
Old 12-29-2020, 02:59 PM   #37
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifter X View Post
That looks so good! Are you using the factory camera?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No, I have the 2013. Mines didn't come with the camera. I used the one included with the HU.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 03:08 PM   #38
Drifter X
Senior Member
 
Drifter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 224
Thanks: 136
Thanked 83 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Oh nice! I was gonna say that looks really clear for the factory camera. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Drifter X is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Drifter X For This Useful Post:
Rican_D (12-29-2020)
Old 12-29-2020, 06:08 PM   #39
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifter X View Post
Oh nice! I was gonna say that looks really clear for the factory camera. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lmao! That bad??? They offer a higher resolution camera, but I'm good with the one they include. Glad everything worked in first shot

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 06:14 PM   #40
Drifter X
Senior Member
 
Drifter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 224
Thanks: 136
Thanked 83 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yeah my oem one is pretty bad. It displayed in the mirror at first. Then I put in my pioneer HU and made it display on that screen. Itís like blowing up an already crappy quality image.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Drifter X is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Drifter X For This Useful Post:
Rican_D (12-29-2020)
Old 12-29-2020, 07:30 PM   #41
Rican_D
Senior Member
 
Rican_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orlando
Posts: 607
Thanks: 143
Thanked 164 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifter X View Post
Yeah my oem one is pretty bad. It displayed in the mirror at first. Then I put in my pioneer HU and made it display on that screen. Itís like blowing up an already crappy quality image.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well damn lol

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Rican_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 12:16 AM   #42
ermax
Senior Member
 
ermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Drives: 2013 FR-S 6MT Raven
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,507
Thanks: 870
Thanked 2,013 Times in 1,176 Posts
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Are there any adjustments for the guide lines? In your photo it leads you to believe there is room for your whole car back there. Hahaha
ermax is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android based stereo vs. stereo w/ Android auto redlined600 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 12 02-24-2019 03:53 AM
200mm android head unit with android lollipop rsingh Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 3 05-23-2016 09:48 PM
WTB: Android HU tonypalomo Want-To-Buy Requests 0 01-12-2015 04:00 PM
Help|Best Android based HU redsuns03 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 14 07-28-2013 09:30 AM
Android vs iOS vs BB os...which is best? Raiden Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] 19 02-02-2011 11:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.