follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing)

Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing) Everything related to the mechanical maintenance of the FR-S and BRZ

User Tag List

Old 03-28-2016, 10:49 AM   #1
Haseebali31

Drives: 2013 Scion FRS
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Anyone feel like they have a clunky gear change?

I'm new to driving manual but I feel like I've gotten it down pretty well.

My only problem is that I feel my gear change is clunky. Even when fully stopped and my clutch is all the way in, changing gears isn't completely smooth. (no gas just clutch in and moving the shifter) I don't know if I just need a transmission fluid change or a new clutch. Does anyone else have this issue?
Haseebali31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 10:51 AM   #2
Summerwolf
Panda Trueno

Drives: No twin now.
Thanked 2,407 Times in 1,332 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
This is a known issue with multiple threads on it.

Generally people suggest swapping to motul 300 non LS. Otherwise do some research on google using "FRS gear clunk" or "Transmission shifting clunky, FRS" just some keywords like that and google search does wonders.
Summerwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 10:59 AM   #3
MisterSheep
Killed Scion

Drives: 2013 FR-S Whiteout
Thanked 7,307 Times in 4,485 Posts
Mentioned: 334 Post(s)
Tagged: 185 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haseebali31 View Post