follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2021, 10:41 AM   #673
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I'm definitely getting a tune, just not sure where yet. Tuned By Shawn and Humble Performance are on my short list with Humble being a 2 hour drive away. l'm mainly looking for someone that's known for both Haltech AND k24/20 tuning experience. Since most K tuning is Hondata I want someone familiar with the platform that can extract power and drivability. If anyone has other suggestions that would be awesome.


As for switching to NSP I haven't yet but am ready to do so. ML has switched and may be able to chime in with more info about making the leap.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-23-2021)
Old 12-23-2021, 11:24 AM   #674
ML
Senior Member
 
ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 13 White MT FR-S
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 975
Thanked 1,127 Times in 521 Posts
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I uploaded the tune to the ECU first with ESP and then upgraded the software/firmware. Then just plug it back it in and the NSP works great. Its a lot more intuitive and the dark mode is 100% worth it no matter what lol.
__________________


Build Thread https://www.instagram.com/mount_tele_lion/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbiont View Post
I swear I will punch your car if you put these on. Right in the face.
ML is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ML For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (12-23-2021), Ebush (12-23-2021), Irace86.2.0 (12-23-2021)
Old 12-23-2021, 01:33 PM   #675
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML View Post
I uploaded the tune to the ECU first with ESP and then upgraded the software/firmware. Then just plug it back it in and the NSP works great. Its a lot more intuitive and the dark mode is 100% worth it no matter what lol.
I don't have wifi in my garage. Can I update the firmware by taking the ECU into my house and updating the firmware, and then can I hook it back up and apply the settings?
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 01:52 PM   #676
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
I don't have wifi in my garage. Can I update the firmware by taking the ECU into my house and updating the firmware, and then can I hook it back up and apply the settings?
You download the software on the laptop and then plug the laptop into the ECU while the battery is connected. The ECU needs power from the car in order to be able to hook the laptop up to it.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 01:59 PM   #677
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
You download the software on the laptop and then plug the laptop into the ECU while the battery is connected. The ECU needs power from the car in order to be able to hook the laptop up to it.
That's what it looked like on Haltech's videos, but it also looked like they downloaded NSP, and then they connected the laptop to the ECU, and then they connected to the internet through NSP to update the firmware for the ECU. I don't think the firmware is downloaded with the NSP software and stored on the computer in such a way that it can update the firmware without the internet, but I could be wrong; that is just what it looked like from the video.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 03:42 PM   #678
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You download the latest nsp software to the laptop, and when you connect the ECU it updates the ECU to the latest software on the laptop.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 11:57 PM   #679
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
You download the latest nsp software to the laptop, and when you connect the ECU it updates the ECU to the latest software on the laptop.
Did you mean it updates the ECU to the latest firmware that is stored on the laptop without the need for the internet? Sorry, just clarifying.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 04:18 AM   #680
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
Did you mean it updates the ECU to the latest firmware that is stored on the laptop without the need for the internet? Sorry, just clarifying.
Yeah, with internet you download the nsp onto your laptop, then take laptop to the garage and plug in the ECU. Pretty sure it walks you though the process. When the nsp software first became available I messed with it but never actually switched after getting the car running on ESP.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-24-2021)
Old 12-24-2021, 04:26 AM   #681
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
While working on my idle tuning today I realized just how jacked up this base map actually is. Target AFR along with a a bunch of other items are utilizing CABLE throttle position sensor for the data. So essentially the whole damn AFR map and a few others were completely useless, car runs much better after switching over to DBW TPS in each menu. I truthfully hadn’t done any data logging prior to today. The car ran great and felt slightly faster than with the fa20. But when I noticed the AFR staying super rich at the top of 5th gear I decided to investigate. Previously I had just glanced over during a couple pulls and saw that AFR looked good but I wasn’t looking over at 8k.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
DustinS (12-24-2021), endless_pain (01-19-2022), Irace86.2.0 (12-24-2021), venenon (12-24-2021)
Old 12-24-2021, 10:23 AM   #682
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
While working on my idle tuning today I realized just how jacked up this base map actually is. Target AFR along with a a bunch of other items are utilizing CABLE throttle position sensor for the data. So essentially the whole damn AFR map and a few others were completely useless, car runs much better after switching over to DBW TPS in each menu. I truthfully hadnít done any data logging prior to today. The car ran great and felt slightly faster than with the fa20. But when I noticed the AFR staying super rich at the top of 5th gear I decided to investigate. Previously I had just glanced over during a couple pulls and saw that AFR looked good but I wasnít looking over at 8k.

I updated to NSP and it's way nicer. However I looked in both and don't see where you can change the CABLE to TPS?


Also fixed my jerkyness at low RPM with light throttle input. The provided map runs 1% threshold arming of TPS. I went the opposite direction bumping it to 3% making it worse originally due to misunderstanding the function. Someone suggested I adjust it lower so I made it .5% and now it's working great. At least from the test miles I just ran so far.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-24-2021)
Old 12-24-2021, 11:45 AM   #683
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
I updated to NSP and it's way nicer. However I looked in both and don't see where you can change the CABLE to TPS?


Also fixed my jerkyness at low RPM with light throttle input. The provided map runs 1% threshold arming of TPS. I went the opposite direction bumping it to 3% making it worse originally due to misunderstanding the function. Someone suggested I adjust it lower so I made it .5% and now it's working great. At least from the test miles I just ran so far.
When viewing a table, AFR map for instance, click the table axis setup next to the main setup tab. Once in there you can change the axis from cable to Dbw.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (12-24-2021)
Old 12-24-2021, 04:35 PM   #684
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
While working on my idle tuning today I realized just how jacked up this base map actually is. Target AFR along with a a bunch of other items are utilizing CABLE throttle position sensor for the data. So essentially the whole damn AFR map and a few others were completely useless, car runs much better after switching over to DBW TPS in each menu. I truthfully hadnít done any data logging prior to today. The car ran great and felt slightly faster than with the fa20. But when I noticed the AFR staying super rich at the top of 5th gear I decided to investigate. Previously I had just glanced over during a couple pulls and saw that AFR looked good but I wasnít looking over at 8k.
Shouldnít the TPS to AFR map be the same regardless? The difference with DBW is a person could modify the throttle position to be different than the accelerator position in a way where they are not 1:1. Like a cable system would be linked to the accelerator in a 1:1 ratio, but airflow through the throttle body wouldnít be 1:1 because of the nature of airflow being greater in the middle and less towards the end of throttle opening, but DBW can be set up to deliver a linear feeling to airflow through the throttle body, and that requires a more exponential input curve for throttle body opening relative to the linear accelerator input. Regardless, AFR at 80% throttle should always be the same, right?

Were you altering the map or just looking at an identical map with a different value? Sorry, I havenít dug into the software yet, or I would look myself. Still fabricating.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 05:10 PM   #685
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Has anyone used the traction control system? Does this have stability control or just traction control?
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 05:29 PM   #686
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
Has anyone used the traction control system? Does this have stability control or just traction control?
Before I plugged in the Trac Box it seemed to be as invasive as it was stock in all of the various settings. Didnít drive that many miles before the box though and I have it set to pedal dance mode at all times.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-24-2021)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid Industries SR-Series Pro Light Bar on my BRZ Stang70Fastback Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 3 12-29-2019 03:13 PM
Airlift from industries finest J_Nasty Member's Car Journals 0 02-04-2017 01:59 PM
Carbox Industries - Introduction CarBox CANADIAN Sales 5 04-22-2014 01:22 PM
86 industries Duthebarber Northern California 70 03-28-2014 04:10 PM
Another 86 Industries another bad experience sikest User/Vendor/Sponsor Reviews, Feedback, Comments 3 03-13-2014 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.