follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2021, 02:38 PM   #505
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BTW I'm so friggin close to running. Last night I trimmed the wrong dang coolant hose when doing the driver side. When I started working on the passenger side I realized this and called it a night. Going to button up some little details tonight while I wait on the hose and maybe fire it up just to make myself feel better.


captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-02-2021), Jdmjunkie (12-02-2021), ML (12-02-2021)
Old 12-02-2021, 03:52 PM   #506
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Excuse my education gap: if the AC compressor has oil then do we just need to hook up an AC refill canister from Autozone to the system, or is the process more complicated and requires a technician? I figured hook up the refill while running the AC or whatever the instructions say. I've used these to refill a system before.

[IMG]https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/acdb96a6-7e16-4c2a-9d2a-7c3d11060***_1.ad205d7a4f50e7242d1c345b831a55e7.pn g?odnHeight=612&odnWidth=612&odnBg=FFFFFF[/IMG]
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 04:41 PM   #507
dragoontwo
Senior Member
 
dragoontwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 22 BRZ limited
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 1,183
Thanks: 217
Thanked 990 Times in 521 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
Excuse my education gap: if the AC compressor has oil then do we just need to hook up an AC refill canister from Autozone to the system, or is the process more complicated and requires a technician? I figured hook up the refill while running the AC or whatever the instructions say. I've used these to refill a system before.

[IMG]https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/acdb96a6-7e16-4c2a-9d2a-7c3d11060***_1.ad205d7a4f50e7242d1c345b831a55e7.pn g?odnHeight=612&odnWidth=612&odnBg=FFFFFF[/IMG]
You really should get a vacuum drawn on it before filling to evacuate any trace amounts of moisture in the system before you fill it.
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dragoontwo For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-02-2021), Jdmjunkie (12-02-2021)
Old 12-02-2021, 11:05 PM   #508
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What are the two stubby bolts in the adapter plate bolt set. There are four Allen 10 sized bolts that hold the adapter on. There is a big bolt on the exhaust side going from the block into the adapter. There is the stock weird long Honda bolt for the starter and their replacement bolt for the lower part. I haven’t mounted the transmission, but it seems like there are many bolts all of the same size. Then there are two stubby flange bolts. What are they for? I know Captain mentioned it, but anyone figure it out? Anyone email Kpower? Are they for something else like for a ground or something? Maybe on the trans mount?

Also, in the engine bay there are two chassis grounds on the frame rail. Do these get removed or used?

Also, ARP 19mm flywheel bolts don’t fit unless you grind down the center, so just get 17mm sized OEM K20 flywheel bolts.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 11:44 PM   #509
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
Can anyone do some tower brace measuring for me? I set a level and a bar on top of the oil cap to see how high the valve cover is from the strut top surface. I have 3 1/4" to be flush with the oil cap so would need another 1/4" or more depending on how much the engine mounts move.

Also it seems weird this sensor does not have a connector with the Kpower harness and not mentioned in the guide.


Unless something unexpected happens, the engine is going in tomorrow, so Iíll be able to put my strut tower brace in position.

Also, my engine doesnít have that connector. Just a bolt in that position.
Attached Images
 
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Irace86.2.0 For This Useful Post:
ML (12-03-2021)
Old 12-03-2021, 08:24 AM   #510
visbits
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Drives: Garbage.
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I'm really curious if any of you guys have success with the thermostat. I tried multiple different temps and it just continuously overheated so I'm running without one for now until I come up with a solution. My car even has extra hot water return from the turbo so i'm curious about your cars.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
Also, ARP 19mm flywheel bolts don’t fit unless you grind down the center, so just get 17mm sized OEM K20 flywheel bolts.

I'm so guilty of this, i put my flywheel in the mill and used an offset boring bar to shave it down enough to clear the bolts and still support the bearing.
visbits is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to visbits For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-03-2021)
Old 12-03-2021, 09:35 AM   #511
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
What are the two stubby bolts in the adapter plate bolt set. There are four Allen 10 sized bolts that hold the adapter on. There is a big bolt on the exhaust side going from the block into the adapter. There is the stock weird long Honda bolt for the starter and their replacement bolt for the lower part. I havenít mounted the transmission, but it seems like there are many bolts all of the same size. Then there are two stubby flange bolts. What are they for? I know Captain mentioned it, but anyone figure it out? Anyone email Kpower? Are they for something else like for a ground or something? Maybe on the trans mount?

Also, in the engine bay there are two chassis grounds on the frame rail. Do these get removed or used?

I never emailed them about the extra hardware. Was thinking ground as well but they would be massive bolts for just a ground wire.



Also I haven't connected the chassis rail grounds to anything yet, but still curious if they were just redundant or if they just need extended.





Quote:
Originally Posted by visbits View Post
I'm really curious if any of you guys have success with the thermostat. I tried multiple different temps and it just continuously overheated so I'm running without one for now until I come up with a solution. My car even has extra hot water return from the turbo so i'm curious about your cars.

I finally fired my car up for the first few times last night but until I get my rad hose connected on the passenger side it's an unknown. I should know by Saturday though.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-03-2021)
Old 12-03-2021, 09:50 AM   #512
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
It runs. I have proof.





captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
DustinS (12-03-2021), endless_pain (12-07-2021), Irace86.2.0 (12-03-2021), ML (12-03-2021)
Old 12-03-2021, 09:55 AM   #513
visbits
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Drives: Garbage.
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
It runs. I have proof.






Cool dude! I see you have a vacuum line connected to your intake IACV port. That doesn't do anything if you're using DBW, just making sure you're aware.
visbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 09:57 AM   #514
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by visbits View Post
Cool dude! I see you have a vacuum line connected to your intake IACV port. That doesn't do anything if you're using DBW, just making sure you're aware.

I was informed it's a crankcase vent, so I'm sending it back into the intake instead of atmosphere. I'm all about changing things up if it's wrong though.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 09:59 AM   #515
visbits
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Drives: Garbage.
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
I was informed it's a crankcase vent, so I'm sending it back into the intake instead of atmosphere. I'm all about changing things up if it's wrong though.

It exists for using the IACV, its the pre-throttle source. You can plug it or leave it empty.
visbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 10:03 AM   #516
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by visbits View Post
It exists for using the IACV, its the pre-throttle source. You can plug it or leave it empty.

The PVC valve nipple on the water pump housing, cause that's what it's hooked up to? I understand the port on the Kpower intake I'm using is for an IACV setup but that's not all it can be used for. Also if the IACV is supposed to be pre-throttle why are they making a provision for it on the bottom of the intake manifold post throttle?


To be clear I'm not trying to argue but further dive into what I have setup and why it's possibly wrong or right.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 12:06 PM   #517
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You guys are talking about two different things. Captain’s setup is good.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 02:39 PM   #518
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Kpower recommends 6.5 quarts oil. With a filter the normal amount is 4.4 quarts. Are we really adding 2 quarts of extra oil pan capacity? I have a JR radiator oil cooler, which calls for 0.5 quarts extra, so that is 7 quarts. Seems like a lot for a 2.4L, but just checking if that is the case.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid Industries SR-Series Pro Light Bar on my BRZ Stang70Fastback Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 3 12-29-2019 03:13 PM
Airlift from industries finest J_Nasty Member's Car Journals 0 02-04-2017 01:59 PM
Carbox Industries - Introduction CarBox CANADIAN Sales 5 04-22-2014 01:22 PM
86 industries Duthebarber Northern California 70 03-28-2014 04:10 PM
Another 86 Industries another bad experience sikest User/Vendor/Sponsor Reviews, Feedback, Comments 3 03-13-2014 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.