follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2021, 06:29 PM   #449
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Me too on the flywheel.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 06:37 PM   #450
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
For my turbo setup, I will need to run the wideband 8-20”, or something like that, away from the start of the downpipe. I’ll have to see if the harness will reach. If not then I think I’ll be using the sound tube hole in the firewall to feed the sensor harness through. I can depin and repin it if necessary to get it to fit.

@captain awesome Wiring hopefully won’t be too hard, but it is always the least enjoyable part of all this in terms of figuring it all out. I do like assembling.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 12:52 AM   #451
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What are you folks doing with the PVC nipple located on the water pump housing? Vent to intake manifold? There are two ports on the intake not used, I originally planned to just plug them but now thinking one was intended for that. Instructions don't mention any of this.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 07:26 AM   #452
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
What are you folks doing with the PVC nipple located on the water pump housing? Vent to intake manifold? There are two ports on the intake not used, I originally planned to just plug them but now thinking one was intended for that. Instructions don't mention any of this.
You can do a catch can or not. I’m doing catch cans vented to atmosphere. You would want to circulate it to the intake manifold if not to atmosphere. You will want to vent the valve cover to atmosphere or to the intake pipe.

I welded a -10AN bung. K-motors makes an adapter that is a M14x1.5 to -10AN for the PCV valve delete for people running the system to atmosphere. They also make a press-in adapter to -10AN for the back of the valve cover, but I don’t think there is much room there, which is why Kpower is selling valve covers with the banjo setup.

https://kmotorperformance.com/shop/k...d-k-swap-cars/


https://kmotorperformance.com/shop/k...ngine-k20-k24/


K-Tuned also sells a valve cover with -10 ORB holes.
https://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Ven...ver_p_822.html

Radium makes this for the KA24. I contacted them to ask what the OD is on the fitting to know if it would press into the K24 valve cover, even though I have my setup. I’ll let you guys know what they say.
http://www.radiumauto.com/Swivel-Pre...ers-P1943.aspx
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*

Last edited by Irace86.2.0; 11-25-2021 at 07:41 AM.
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Irace86.2.0 For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (11-25-2021), ML (11-25-2021)
Old 11-25-2021, 09:25 AM   #453
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Manifold and pipe it shall be. I’ve got a catch can I can use later on if needed.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 02:04 PM   #454
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
Manifold and pipe it shall be. Iíve got a catch can I can use later on if needed.
I need to look at my manifold closer. I know from the instructions that there is a block off plate, and I know there is a spot on the back of the manifold to connect to the brake booster, but I was expecting to find some NPT vacuum ports for a boost signal or whatever. I'll have to look today when I tinker around.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 03:20 PM   #455
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
I need to look at my manifold closer. I know from the instructions that there is a block off plate, and I know there is a spot on the back of the manifold to connect to the brake booster, but I was expecting to find some NPT vacuum ports for a boost signal or whatever. I'll have to look today when I tinker around.
I totally forgot about the booster. Thereís only two ports pre threaded, but 3 dimpled spots for those wanting to tap for extra near the block off plate.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 03:53 PM   #456
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
I totally forgot about the booster. Thereís only two ports pre threaded, but 3 dimpled spots for those wanting to tap for extra near the block off plate.
Yeah, I saw those. Maybe I will get a tap and die for NPT threads.

Normally the EBC I have will require a boost source off the turbo that T's to the wastegate and EBC, but I have two ports on my turbo, so no T needed, and I don't want to use the manifold like some do, but like I said, I do have a Defi boost/vacuum gauge that I need a port for. I could also run a T off the brake booster, which is probably going to be much easier with less chance of failure or damaging the manifold. I just need a large to small brass fitting like these ones. Sorry, just thinking out loud.


__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 04:03 PM   #457
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I created this in the tuning subforum. There is surprisingly little information on Haltech here. I don't know if the Kpower base tune is locked or unlocked (I'm assuming unlocked because it is a base tune), or if someone wants to add larger injectors, Haltech is sophisticated enough to allow someone to select from popular, pre-scaled injectors from a drop down menu, and they are set. Hopefully someone will be able to answer my and anyone else's tuning questions.

https://www.ft86club.com/forums/show...97#post3484397
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Irace86.2.0 For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (11-25-2021)
Old 11-25-2021, 04:53 PM   #458
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
I created this in the tuning subforum. There is surprisingly little information on Haltech here. I don't know if the Kpower base tune is locked or unlocked (I'm assuming unlocked because it is a base tune), or if someone wants to add larger injectors, Haltech is sophisticated enough to allow someone to select from popular, pre-scaled injectors from a drop down menu, and they are set. Hopefully someone will be able to answer my and anyone else's tuning questions.

https://www.ft86club.com/forums/show...97#post3484397
I’ll follow along there as well. Hoping the base tune is unlocked so I can scale for e85. Sure would be easier to get some dyno time on 91 first and then e85.

Last edited by captain awesome; 11-25-2021 at 05:22 PM.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (11-25-2021)
Old 11-25-2021, 05:31 PM   #459
ML
Senior Member
 
ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 13 White MT FR-S
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 975
Thanked 1,127 Times in 521 Posts
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I’m doing the same with some dw 1000cc injectors. Dw supplies the data you need like dead time and you need to go in the ESP haltech software find the fueling table and update the table with the correct data from the injector manufacturer. You need to scale the map too if you have a larger one

Also it’s not like ecutek. You buy the hardware and then everything else is wide open
__________________


Build Thread https://www.instagram.com/mount_tele_lion/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbiont View Post
I swear I will punch your car if you put these on. Right in the face.
ML is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ML For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (11-25-2021)
Old 11-25-2021, 05:43 PM   #460
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML View Post
Iím doing the same with some dw 1000cc injectors. Dw supplies the data you need like dead time and you need to go in the ESP haltech software find the fueling table and update the table with the correct data from the injector manufacturer. You need to scale the map too if you have a larger one

Also itís not like ecutek. You buy the hardware and then everything else is wide open
Oh yes, 4bar map sensor too. Lol
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 04:40 PM   #461
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,804 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
If someone can verify the diameter of the rear valve cover vent then Radium will tell me if their other press-in fittings will work. Mine was tossed when I welded the hole shut.
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 10:03 PM   #462
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
If someone can verify the diameter of the rear valve cover vent then Radium will tell me if their other press-in fittings will work. Mine was tossed when I welded the hole shut.
A hair over 15mm on mine.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (11-26-2021)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid Industries SR-Series Pro Light Bar on my BRZ Stang70Fastback Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 3 12-29-2019 03:13 PM
Airlift from industries finest J_Nasty Member's Car Journals 0 02-04-2017 01:59 PM
Carbox Industries - Introduction CarBox CANADIAN Sales 5 04-22-2014 01:22 PM
86 industries Duthebarber Northern California 70 03-28-2014 04:10 PM
Another 86 Industries another bad experience sikest User/Vendor/Sponsor Reviews, Feedback, Comments 3 03-13-2014 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.