follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2020, 02:13 PM   #1
Kutanks
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2013 Firestorm 6MT,2005 Saabaru 5MT
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 57
Thanks: 4
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Searching For a replacement USB port for the factory port for aftermarket radio

Hi Guys (and Girls). I've tried searching but i can't find the answer. I have an Aftermarket CarPlay unit that i'm installing now.

It has the USB port on the back. I want to replace the factory usb port with one that directly plugs into the headunit.

I've seen the adaptor to retain the factory USB port but i never use that one because it charges my phone so slowly

My car is a 2013 and came with the base pioneer radio
Kutanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2020, 03:05 PM   #2
DarkPira7e
No, my car doesn't run
 
DarkPira7e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Drives: 2013 Turbo Firestorm FRS
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,102
Thanks: 1,374
Thanked 1,722 Times in 941 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What makes you think the USB port on the radio will charge it any faster? Have you tried it yet? Before you change much
DarkPira7e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2020, 03:50 PM   #3
LimitedSlip
Senior Member
 
LimitedSlip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: Then-1977 Celica GT Now-2017 860SE
Location: In A Galaxy Far Far Away
Posts: 188
Thanks: 55
Thanked 125 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
This might be close to what you're looking for but I'm not sure it will change how anything performs:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VAIEAUM/
LimitedSlip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to LimitedSlip For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (07-28-2020), DarkPira7e (07-28-2020)
Old 07-28-2020, 03:56 PM   #4
Yoshoobaroo
Chips & Torque Dip
 
Yoshoobaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,139
Thanks: 1,010
Thanked 1,776 Times in 928 Posts
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by LimitedSlip View Post
This might be close to what you're looking for but I'm not sure it will change how anything performs:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VAIEAUM/

I installed that port in the center console where the 12V plug used to be, itís perfect.
Yoshoobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Yoshoobaroo For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (07-28-2020)
Old 07-28-2020, 09:35 PM   #5
sharpsicle
Certs You Dont Care About
 
sharpsicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: 2013 Galaxy Blue BRZ
Location: Milwaukee, WI / Tampa, FL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 24
Thanked 77 Times in 51 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Why can't you use the USB adapter? The power for the USB port is supplied by the head unit, so it shouldn't matter if you run a new cable or use the factory stuff, the amperage would be the same.

People need to remember, these ports are made for data transfer, not for charging, and the amperage reflects that. Typically they put out 1/4 of the power of your wall charger in these situations. But again, that's all dictated by the head unit driving it. Some aftermarkets provide 1A or more, so your new unit might charge it faster. Again that's dependent on the head unit not the wiring. Running new wires won't change your charge speed.

The only reason to run a new USB cable is if you are relocating it or if your factory wiring broke. If neither of those are the case, then just use the adapter.
sharpsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sharpsicle For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (08-01-2020)
Old 07-28-2020, 11:22 PM   #6
Yoshoobaroo
Chips & Torque Dip
 
Yoshoobaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,139
Thanks: 1,010
Thanked 1,776 Times in 928 Posts
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpsicle View Post

The only reason to run a new USB cable is if you are relocating it or if your factory wiring broke. If neither of those are the case, then just use the adapter.

Might as well relocate it, the stock port is in a dumb spot for plugging a phone in. Youíre bound to have the wire crossing over the shift boot.
Yoshoobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 12:10 AM   #7
sharpsicle
Certs You Dont Care About
 
sharpsicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: 2013 Galaxy Blue BRZ
Location: Milwaukee, WI / Tampa, FL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 24
Thanked 77 Times in 51 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshoobaroo View Post
Might as well relocate it, the stock port is in a dumb spot for plugging a phone in. You’re bound to have the wire crossing over the shift boot.
I agree. However the OP said he wants to replace the factory port so his phone will charge faster. I'm illustrating that it doesn't work that way and the cable has nothing to do with charge speed.
sharpsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sharpsicle For This Useful Post:
Grady (07-30-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 02:37 AM   #8
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 189
Thanks: 1
Thanked 118 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kutanks View Post
Hi Guys (and Girls). I've tried searching but i can't find the answer. I have an Aftermarket CarPlay unit that i'm installing now.

It has the USB port on the back. I want to replace the factory usb port with one that directly plugs into the headunit.

I've seen the adaptor to retain the factory USB port but i never use that one because it charges my phone so slowly

My car is a 2013 and came with the base pioneer radio
This depends on your phone. iphone?, android? .. samsung? regular usb A port or does your phone have usb-c?

i might have something.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 10:01 AM   #9
LimitedSlip
Senior Member
 
LimitedSlip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: Then-1977 Celica GT Now-2017 860SE
Location: In A Galaxy Far Far Away
Posts: 188
Thanks: 55
Thanked 125 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Maybe figure out which charging standards the head unit and the phone (or other devices) support. Then see if there is a compatible standard between the two. The standard will dictate the kind of cable/connectors you will need.

Below is a chart from 2019 listing the charging standards in existence at that time. (Brings to mind the old adage "It's good to have a nice variety of standards to choose from". Right.)

https://www.digitalcitizen.life/fast-charging-standards
Attached Images
 
LimitedSlip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 06:06 PM   #10
sharpsicle
Certs You Dont Care About
 
sharpsicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: 2013 Galaxy Blue BRZ
Location: Milwaukee, WI / Tampa, FL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 24
Thanked 77 Times in 51 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LimitedSlip View Post
Maybe figure out which charging standards the head unit and the phone (or other devices) support. Then see if there is a compatible standard between the two. The standard will dictate the kind of cable/connectors you will need.

Below is a chart from 2019 listing the charging standards in existence at that time. (Brings to mind the old adage "It's good to have a nice variety of standards to choose from". Right.)

https://www.digitalcitizen.life/fast-charging-standards
I guarantee that the USB ports on the back of car radios don't go beyond USB 3.0. I'm confident a majority don't go beyond USB 2.0. So again, the cable really doesn't matter, the perceived 'slow charging' is due to the fact that it's less than 1A being supplied.
sharpsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 11:00 AM   #11
wolffbite
Just the tip
 
wolffbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: 2017 Brz Sport-Tech
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 416
Thanks: 463
Thanked 377 Times in 210 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
My Pixel 3XL fast charges from my stock USB port, which is connected to my DDX917WS with an adapter.

This of course will depend on what amperage your new headunit puts out with it's USB port as mentioned a couple of times above.

With the stock head unit it would only slow charge, or actually not charge at all if I was using phone navigation.
wolffbite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 10:26 PM   #12
soundman98
threadwrecker
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 brz limited
Location: chicagolandia
Posts: 4,647
Thanks: 11,084
Thanked 4,641 Times in 2,490 Posts
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
it's important to remember that any 'fast charge' method requires data negotiation between the thing supplying power and the device looking to charge. when that communication doesn't happen, most usb ports charge at the low 'safe' rate.
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soundman98 For This Useful Post:
LimitedSlip (07-31-2020)
Old 07-31-2020, 06:09 PM   #13
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 189
Thanks: 1
Thanked 118 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Im actually working on a device that pops into the stock usb port and connects 12v power and negotiation of higher power. If using standard usb, It has to use the datalines to tell the phone it can charge at a higher rate. Usually this doesn't allow your data to flow through it if you have a head unit that needs it for some reason. The other connection is USB-C that allows the signal to the phone to tell it how fast it can charge but doesn't use the datalines for telling it power. So i guess just depends on if you need data to still flow though it. And what type of port it is.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio and USB Port No Power GriffinW Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 11-02-2019 02:56 PM
retain factory aux port rsingh Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 2 10-23-2015 07:09 PM
Using Factory USB port with Aftermarket HU ruskymx Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 93 06-10-2015 06:53 PM
Retaining Factory BT Mic w/ Aftermarket Radio ecko04 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 4 04-08-2014 06:22 PM
BRZ & USB Port brz007 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 14 04-14-2013 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.