follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2021, 05:52 PM   #1
alphasaur
friendly
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Drives: 17' 86
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Posts: 585
Thanks: 1,183
Thanked 378 Times in 229 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
bypass front tweeters/dash speakers

Hello!

Currently running a kw750bt, I have polk audio DB651s in the doors, a 10" rockford fosgate sub in the trunk. Amp is a pioneer 4 channel with 2 channels bridged for the sub. Wired using the stock wiring harness.

I'd like to get better highs and mids now, would I be best off running rca from the deck front rca output jacks to the amp vs running it from the stock harness and then just unplug the dash speakers?

Then I could just run the door speakers in 2 way?

I'm pretty new to car audio so I need some patience. thank you!
__________________
Seek comfort in discomfort.
alphasaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2021, 06:29 PM   #2
soundman98
idealized boredom
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 Ranger, '18 Tacoma 4Dr LB
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 9,199
Thanks: 27,574
Thanked 10,881 Times in 5,455 Posts
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphasaur View Post
Hello!

Amp is a pioneer 4 channel with 2 channels bridged for the sub. Wired using the stock wiring harness.
need more details as to what this means.
__________________
"The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time"
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2021, 09:09 PM   #3
alphasaur
friendly
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Drives: 17' 86
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Posts: 585
Thanks: 1,183
Thanked 378 Times in 229 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundman98 View Post
need more details as to what this means.
Gotcha,

https://www.crutchfield.com/S-uguFbA...gaAmrJEALw_wcB

this amp with 2 channels wired to the door speakers

and 2 channels bridged for the 10" rockford sub.

I'm using the stock amp wiring harness as per this thread:
https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=42239
White and grey wires are going to RCAs for input.
__________________
Seek comfort in discomfort.
alphasaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 09:19 AM   #4
cjd
Senior Member
 
cjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Drives: 2017 BRZ
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,048
Thanks: 1,119
Thanked 2,599 Times in 1,553 Posts
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Door speakers aren't guaranteed to be an improvement... Not that the stock setup is great, but the placement is pretty good.
That said, the system may be unbalanced now if the output levels weren't matched.
Lots of ways to build a system. It takes more than random parts and some wiring.
__________________
Second chance build... or whatever it is.
cjd is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cjd For This Useful Post:
alphasaur (11-08-2021)
Old 11-08-2021, 10:34 PM   #5
soundman98
idealized boredom
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 Ranger, '18 Tacoma 4Dr LB
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 9,199
Thanks: 27,574
Thanked 10,881 Times in 5,455 Posts
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphasaur View Post
Gotcha,

https://www.crutchfield.com/S-uguFbA...gaAmrJEALw_wcB

this amp with 2 channels wired to the door speakers

and 2 channels bridged for the 10" rockford sub.

I'm using the stock amp wiring harness as per this thread:
https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=42239
White and grey wires are going to RCAs for input.
beware, that amplifier is drastically different from other amplifiers. while that specific amp will accept speaker-level and low-level inputs on the same rca connector, most won't and you risk damaging any other amp doing the same thing if you were to get a different amp for any reason.

your power wire is incorrect.

you need to install a 4 gauge amplifier power kit, wired to the battery, and with a new ground first.

you're 'strangling' the amp by giving it such a small power lead. get that changed first, and then reevaluate the setup. it will likely sound much better.
__________________
"The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time"
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soundman98 For This Useful Post:
alphasaur (11-08-2021)
Old 11-08-2021, 11:44 PM   #6
alphasaur
friendly
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Drives: 17' 86
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Posts: 585
Thanks: 1,183
Thanked 378 Times in 229 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundman98 View Post
beware, that amplifier is drastically different from other amplifiers. while that specific amp will accept speaker-level and low-level inputs on the same rca connector, most won't and you risk damaging any other amp doing the same thing if you were to get a different amp for any reason.

your power wire is incorrect.

you need to install a 4 gauge amplifier power kit, wired to the battery, and with a new ground first.

you're 'strangling' the amp by giving it such a small power lead. get that changed first, and then reevaluate the setup. it will likely sound much better.
Oh, I should have mentioned I am not running power from the stock amp harness. I am running an 8 gauge kit at the recommendation of crutchfield.

The speaker wires from the harness are low level, yes? That was my impression.
__________________
Seek comfort in discomfort.
alphasaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 11:49 PM   #7
soundman98
idealized boredom
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 Ranger, '18 Tacoma 4Dr LB
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 9,199
Thanks: 27,574
Thanked 10,881 Times in 5,455 Posts
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
that's better.

to change the tweeters, you'll need at least this harness. otherwise, disconnecting the oem tweeters will kill the amp input.

https://smile.amazon.com/RED-WOLF-20...6433281&sr=8-3

you can try adding on a set of aftermarket tweeters to that wiring harness, but you might need to run wire off the amp's speaker outputs to get a more even sound.
__________________
"The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time"
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soundman98 For This Useful Post:
alphasaur (11-09-2021)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing the front dash speakers / door speakers jeffs42885 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 8 06-21-2020 06:35 PM
dash speakers (tweeters) steveng3191 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 11 08-21-2017 05:04 PM
Help I need to bypass the factory amp. the powers the door speakers for my BRZ. zoth Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 1 04-26-2014 07:14 AM
Would coaxial door speakers plus stock tweeters be too much high frequency sound? Prog Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 4 12-27-2013 07:15 PM
Dash Top Speakers / Rear seat speakers Laurie Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 9 03-01-2013 06:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.