follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting)

Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) Discussions about cosmetic mods.

User Tag List

Old 10-19-2014, 11:14 PM   #1
4honor

Drives: 2014 SWP BRZ Limited
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BRZ Review/Install Guide for XML2 LED fog lights from Diode Dynamics

I really didn't like how orange and dim the stock fog lights are from Subaru, so thought I'd upgrade them to LEDs. After some research, seems like Diode Dynamics had the best reputation around here, and they answered my question really fast, I bought in on a pair of their new XML2 6000K LEDs. Review below~

I am a newbie when it comes to modding cars, so when I say this is easy to do, this is SUPER easy for ANYONE to do! Thought I'd include some photos of my journey in case it helps others.

First some product shots, I thought it was pretty neatly packaged, and safe:

To install, just turn the wheels in so you have room to work with:

You want to expose these tab, just lightly turn counter-clock wise and it should pop out. Then just pull them out with your fingers. (Washing your car first will make the installation a bit cleaner, ha ha):

Use some force to pry open the cover, find this white cable to the fog bulb, disconnect it, then press the top and bottom of the bulb harness to take it out:

Put the XML2 LEDs back in, connect the wires (look for the notches in the harness for polarity), and since the wires were so long now, I just zip tied it to a tab with a hole in it.

Even with the ballast in the back, it wasn't touching anything, plenty of room to work with:

Then here are some before/after comparison, and other random shots of the LED swap: