follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2019, 03:45 AM   #1
pher.da.rico
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Drives: 2018 Premium Black silica BRZ
Location: California
Posts: 34
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
STUCK ON OFT STAGE 2 !!

I donít know if this specific topic has been covered but I really need help. So Iíve been running my stage 2 e85 tune for a while now no problems but recently I broke my V2 0FT iím trying to source a screen and try to repair it but if worse come to worse. Would I be ok switching to ECUTEK and writing over that tune it with the help of a pro tuner or do I HAVE to tune it with my OFT before switching over. Iím not worried about warranty I just wanna be able to optimize my tune with peace of mind. Thank you for your time !!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pher.da.rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 04:05 AM   #2
kev0
AUTOMATIC TRANNY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2014 FRS AT
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 394
Thanks: 183
Thanked 71 Times in 54 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
https://www.digikey.com/product-deta...E6NuDYE9hVpMz4

^ that is the screen you will need to replace your OFT V2 screen. It's a very simple process.

Nope, you can't flash an EcuTek tune over your OFT tune. EcuTek will give you a ECU mismatch error code. It happened to me when I forgot to unmarry my OFT.

Worst comes to worst, you can go to dealership and have them flash your car back to stock tune, but that will render your OFT useless. I do not recommend doing this. Only do it if it is your only option. Make sure you have 91 or 93 in the tank before going to dealership.
kev0 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kev0 For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (12-06-2019)
Old 12-06-2019, 04:08 AM   #3
pher.da.rico
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Drives: 2018 Premium Black silica BRZ
Location: California
Posts: 34
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks man imma order that screen an update you from there !! Thank you !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pher.da.rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 02:32 PM   #4
mrjj
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: GT86 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 39
Thanks: 16
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You can read or re-flash with a Tactrix OpenPort. It's probably cheaper than the Ecutek option.
mrjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 06:14 PM   #5
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,659
Thanks: 985
Thanked 4,753 Times in 2,846 Posts
Mentioned: 529 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
As above cheapest way out of your problem will bw buy tactrix $170 usa and flash with that
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 10:28 PM   #6
pher.da.rico
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Drives: 2018 Premium Black silica BRZ
Location: California
Posts: 34
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjj View Post
You can read or re-flash with a Tactrix OpenPort. It's probably cheaper than the Ecutek option.


Where would I go from there if need be ? Would I stick with the tactrix or then switch to ecutek? Excuse my ignorance


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pher.da.rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 12:35 AM   #7
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,659
Thanks: 985
Thanked 4,753 Times in 2,846 Posts
Mentioned: 529 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pher.da.rico View Post
Where would I go from there if need be ? Would I stick with the tactrix or then switch to ecutek? Excuse my ignorance


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Neither oft or tactrix lock ecu like ecutek or BRZEdit.


So is no problem to flash with tactrix then reflash with oft or the other way round
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 05:46 AM   #8
pher.da.rico
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Drives: 2018 Premium Black silica BRZ
Location: California
Posts: 34
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Do you guys know of anyone that tunes on the OFT platform?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pher.da.rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 06:15 AM   #9
kev0
AUTOMATIC TRANNY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2014 FRS AT
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 394
Thanks: 183
Thanked 71 Times in 54 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pher.da.rico View Post
Do you guys know of anyone that tunes on the OFT platform?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
@steve99 and http://site.wayneroms.com:8000/ are two that I know.
kev0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 06:18 AM   #10
pher.da.rico
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Drives: 2018 Premium Black silica BRZ
Location: California
Posts: 34
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
STUCK ON OFT STAGE 2 !!

@steve99 if I could get some insight and a custom tune Iíd appreciate it ! Iím from SoCal
What about you guys @kev0


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pher.da.rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 07:06 AM   #11
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,659
Thanks: 985
Thanked 4,753 Times in 2,846 Posts
Mentioned: 529 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pher.da.rico View Post
Do you guys know of anyone that tunes on the OFT platform?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just message me i can custom tune on oft , tactrix or ecutek for you
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full Blown's New Build for the 2015 Season Stage 3 (2.19L motor) + Stage 3 Turbo kit FullBlown Forced Induction 47 06-20-2018 02:38 AM
FRS single stage vs dual stage driver's airbag mhiscott Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 2 09-23-2017 03:43 PM
Exedy Stage 1 Failure: Advice + Stage 2 Questions Pneub Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 4 07-18-2016 09:24 PM
FBM Stage 1 Cams w/ Stage 2 Head Results 743HP! FullBlown Forced Induction 119 03-24-2015 10:16 PM
Questions about upgrading the avo stage 1 turbo kit to stage 1.5 and 2 Astroboy Forced Induction 4 03-01-2014 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.