follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Regional Forums > CANADA

CANADA Canada

User Tag List

Old 11-24-2022, 10:12 AM   #1
ClaytonG

Drives: Car Enthusiast trying to learn more
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Post Aftermarket headers in Ontario

I've finally figured out how I should plan my dream car in regard to performance parts but I am still fairly new to cars and don't know the ins and out

Upgraded suspension and a head package and cams for the FA20 particularly FBM Fa20 Stage 2 Head Package and Full Blown Stage 1 FA20 is my first priority

The next part I would want would be the headers since they seem to be a good next step in upgrading performance. Then I will start to look at exhaust after

However, the exhaust may be 1st because I have a question regarding the headers and

I read that catless headers or performance headers affect emissions tests but if I go with catless headers can I still put a cat-back exhaust without failing a test?

I want my car one day to have a bit of power behind it while still adhering to the laws as closely as I can without breaking them but I might make some exceptions if there is a way to not fail the emissions test. Rather not get a fine or car towed or something

Any insight will be much appreciated.
ClaytonG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 10:38 AM   #2
Muskoka800

Drives: 2016 Scion FRS Release Series 2#439
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
The two oxygen sensors are before and after the cat so going to a catless header will require you to re-tune the ECM and surely would fail an e-test if we still had them in Ontario.
A retune will also help maximize any power gains offered by the header.