follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2012, 01:33 AM   #1
DarrenDriven
NW Region Moderator
 
DarrenDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Drives: FR-S No More
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,156
Thanks: 1,134
Thanked 3,186 Times in 1,091 Posts
Mentioned: 300 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Garage
Using AUX input on BeSpoke?

Hey guys, a buddy hopped in my car yesterday and plugged his non-iPhone smartphone into my AUX input and then... umm.... I dinked around in the menus for a minute... then scratched my head.

How do you turn on the AUX input? We were using a normal 3.5mm male-to-male cable from the phone to the input under the heater controls.
DarrenDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:18 PM   #2
JayeM86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: Whiteout, Stock DD
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I'm not sure there is an AUX input. It seems the BeSpoke system is almost purely designed for the Iphone/ipod. I used the iPod lug that came with the car with my iPod worked fine. Plugged in my Motorola phone and nothing, no AUX option. Bluetooth audio does work though.
JayeM86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:21 PM   #3
DarrenDriven
NW Region Moderator
 
DarrenDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Drives: FR-S No More
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,156
Thanks: 1,134
Thanked 3,186 Times in 1,091 Posts
Mentioned: 300 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Garage
Yeah, I use my iPhone with no issues... but WTF!?!?!? NO AUX INPUT!?!?! That is just ridiculous! There is a plug and everything, how could they NOT include a way to use it with something other than an iPhone or Bluetooth. That is just stupid.
DarrenDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:41 PM   #4
zaptorque
Senior Member
 
zaptorque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 425
Thanks: 645
Thanked 264 Times in 90 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I would be hard pressed to believe there isn't away to get audio to work via aux input.

I get mine on Saturday with BeSpoke, luckily I have an iPhone with most of my music on it
zaptorque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:18 PM   #5
DarrenDriven
NW Region Moderator
 
DarrenDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Drives: FR-S No More
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,156
Thanks: 1,134
Thanked 3,186 Times in 1,091 Posts
Mentioned: 300 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Garage
(banging my head)

So when you upgrade to the BeSpoke option the 3.5mm input is converted to a video signal -- so no, you can NOT use anything except an iPhone or bluetooth. That is just dumb. Why, oh why did I upgrade to BeSpoke?
DarrenDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:43 PM   #6
zaptorque
Senior Member
 
zaptorque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 425
Thanks: 645
Thanked 264 Times in 90 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenDriven View Post
(banging my head)

So when you upgrade to the BeSpoke option the 3.5mm input is converted to a video signal -- so no, you can NOT use anything except an iPhone or bluetooth. That is just dumb. Why, oh why did I upgrade to BeSpoke?
This makes absolutely no sense at all. Epic fail
zaptorque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:18 AM   #7
JayeM86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: Whiteout, Stock DD
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenDriven View Post
(banging my head)

So when you upgrade to the BeSpoke option the 3.5mm input is converted to a video signal -- so no, you can NOT use anything except an iPhone or bluetooth. That is just dumb. Why, oh why did I upgrade to BeSpoke?
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaptorque View Post
This makes absolutely no sense at all. Epic fail

Darren, where did u find this out? I was wondering why there was no aux option on the stereo to begin with. I was hoping it would pop up when u plugged something into it. I guess not.
JayeM86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:24 AM   #8
DarrenDriven
NW Region Moderator
 
DarrenDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Drives: FR-S No More
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,156
Thanks: 1,134
Thanked 3,186 Times in 1,091 Posts
Mentioned: 300 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Garage
This info came directly from Scion corporate.
DarrenDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:28 AM   #9
akuhei
Senior Member
 
akuhei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: Raven M/T FR-S
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 662
Thanks: 711
Thanked 257 Times in 154 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
That same info is also listed in the manual. Has a little note in italics that says something about the AUX not being operational on cars in North America.
__________________

Akuhei's Blog
"Inconceivable"
akuhei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:27 PM   #10
DarrenDriven
NW Region Moderator
 
DarrenDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Drives: FR-S No More
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,156
Thanks: 1,134
Thanked 3,186 Times in 1,091 Posts
Mentioned: 300 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Garage
Ahh, I missed that. It seems that they could have configured the plug to carry both audio AND video... oh well. Nothing that can be done about it now, I suppose.
DarrenDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:00 PM   #11
n2oinferno
Praise Helix!
 
n2oinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Drives: Accord 2.0T, Silverado
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 2,859
Thanks: 428
Thanked 2,208 Times in 1,072 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Wow, that blows. But thanks for the info. Now I know that BeSpoke would definitely NOT be an option for me.
n2oinferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:27 PM   #12
akuhei
Senior Member
 
akuhei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: Raven M/T FR-S
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 662
Thanks: 711
Thanked 257 Times in 154 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I wish i would have known beforehand, but it wouldnt have mattered. I found my FR-S in a dealership at the beginning of July and jumped into it as quick as possible. It all ready had bespoke. x.x
__________________

Akuhei's Blog
"Inconceivable"
akuhei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:31 PM   #13
SalM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 Whiteout FR-S
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 410
Thanks: 69
Thanked 61 Times in 47 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
It sucks but absoluetly doesnt matter to me because I keep all my music on a flash drive and just plug the stick into the usb port and have all my music right there.. And come on guys! Lets face it! The Be-Spoke LOOKS BEAUTIFUL compared to the ugly 90's looking radio they come with.
SalM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:35 PM   #14
akuhei
Senior Member
 
akuhei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: Raven M/T FR-S
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 662
Thanks: 711
Thanked 257 Times in 154 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BeSpoke is better than the standard stock...except that I can get an Aftermarket unit for $500-600 that would do the same thing and add a full nav function, all while still allowing the use of the USB and the AUX ports that the car is set up with. And has anyone else noticed that the shuffle starts over on the same set of songs every time the car turns off? Just wondering, because mine does and it drives me crazy.
__________________

Akuhei's Blog
"Inconceivable"
akuhei is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GT86 TAS300 rear camera input SVXdc Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 7 02-04-2014 10:54 AM
Bespoke isn't for me FR-ser Audio/Visual, Electronics, Infotainment, NAV 9 06-16-2013 11:51 PM
Delete driver01 Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing 17 11-15-2012 01:00 AM
Is every Fr-s with Bespoke like this? enjoi23 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 6 10-05-2012 04:53 PM
FR-S BeSpoke Nav Coultergeist Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 6 09-25-2012 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.