follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2019, 03:49 AM   #15
Joe85C
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSG Mike View Post
A/B test is always best.



If you go back to OFT and it still acts up, then you know it's your car, not the tune.
Also another reason why I'm still wondering if it is the cams is because all of the symptoms and issues I have under normal conditions are amplified when the car is not fully warmed up. After a few miles of driving the car returns to the symptoms and issues but not as bad as when the car isnt fully warmed up. I'm going to be ordering the V2 OFT in the next day or two and will post an update when I do the new flash. Thanks again!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Joe85C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 03:50 AM   #16
Joe85C
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsnake11 View Post
If there is build up on the cam phaser wheels you could take the cam sensors out and see it. You could also take a screw driver and clean the notches.
My sensor had stuff stuck to it, when I had to shim one of them.
I will definitely try that if the OFT flash doesnt help. Thanks for the advice!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Joe85C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 04:21 AM   #17
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 502
Thanked 1,070 Times in 778 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So you throw a ecutek license away when you can just flash an identical tune to that with ecutek?
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 04:39 AM   #18
steve99
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,998
Thanks: 1,035
Thanked 4,987 Times in 2,981 Posts
Mentioned: 598 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
If your car is NA then just get it on petrol and flash a STOCK tune to the car. A srock tune flashed with ecutek oft brzedit tactrix is the same. The ecutek licience does not effect tune So if your on ecutek jist flash a stock tune to car see if vvt problem solved if so it tune ( this is very unlikely) or if problem still evident then its hardware issue.
No need to waste an ecutek licience.


Car with headers and even in take will run ok on stock tune it may throw a P0420 code, but fhat irrelvant to testing the vvt problems


Log the vvt with ecutek see of cams are activating and you can see cam phase changes as rpm rises



If you have access to techstream check the vvt initial cam values this is often an indicator to vvt issues. Should be as below the intake cam aroud 60' degres and exhaust arroud 90' if not then you indicates problems like in second image

'








Bad indication below intake cam 1 initial position out of tolerance. This van be caused by bad sensor bad cam speoket or bad ecu input.




Last edited by steve99; 12-12-2019 at 04:53 AM.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 06:08 AM   #19
Joe85C
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
So you throw a ecutek license away when you can just flash an identical tune to that with ecutek?
Now that I've had time to think I'm not ready to do that. I did enjoy the OFT alot and loved having real time data at my disposal but your advice you gave made sense. Theres no need to throw away my license. I was jumping the gun and was starting to get impatient trying to solve this issue after 7 months lol. I may try what steve99 said. Put in 91, flash to stock factory tune and see if the cams can reset themselves. If not then it looks like I'm gonna be spending a pretty penny...

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Joe85C is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joe85C For This Useful Post:
CSG Mike (12-12-2019)
Old 12-12-2019, 06:12 AM   #20
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 502
Thanked 1,070 Times in 778 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You can also make an identical tune to the oft e85 you used (you can make by yourself even without racerom license actually, you will just have access to map1 and not to the other 3) and flash it with ecutek and you will have an almost identical tune in your ecu like had before
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 06:12 AM   #21
Joe85C
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
If your car is NA then just get it on petrol and flash a STOCK tune to the car. A srock tune flashed with ecutek oft brzedit tactrix is the same. The ecutek licience does not effect tune So if your on ecutek jist flash a stock tune to car see if vvt problem solved if so it tune ( this is very unlikely) or if problem still evident then its hardware issue.
No need to waste an ecutek licience.


Car with headers and even in take will run ok on stock tune it may throw a P0420 code, but fhat irrelvant to testing the vvt problems


Log the vvt with ecutek see of cams are activating and you can see cam phase changes as rpm rises



If you have access to techstream check the vvt initial cam values this is often an indicator to vvt issues. Should be as below the intake cam aroud 60' degres and exhaust arroud 90' if not then you indicates problems like in second image

'








Bad indication below intake cam 1 initial position out of tolerance. This van be caused by bad sensor bad cam speoket or bad ecu input.



I'm going to more then likely try this out. I jumping the gun on going back to OFT. Not ready to throw my ECUTEK license out the window. Thanks for this advice!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Joe85C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 06:18 AM   #22
Joe85C
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Tucson
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
You can also make an identical tune to the oft e85 you used (you can make by yourself even without racerom license actually, you will just have access to map1 and not to the other 3) and flash it with ecutek and you will have an almost identical tune in your ecu like had before
Very true. If the car was running perfect before on the OFT tune, it should run fine again. I'll more then likely try this first, if nothing happens, like steve99 said run 91 and flash stock tune, then go on from there.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Joe85C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 06:32 AM   #23
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 502
Thanked 1,070 Times in 778 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Unluckily not
If I was, I would tell him "go throw away your license so you then will buy another new one"
It s all steve99 fault, I learnt everything from him :P

I really don t care that much of what other people are doing with their money, I m just trying to help
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 09:42 AM   #24
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 502
Thanked 1,070 Times in 778 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
No, you can flash anything with ecutek and license always be there
Problem is when you flash stock tune with ecutek, and then overwrite with a different system
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 12:59 PM   #25
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSG Mike View Post
Once the cams are activated, they stay activated. Anytime you flash a tune, the cams dont reactivate until everything is happy again.

I bet if you went back to the OFT, it would stay in this state. It has nothing to do with your tuner.

This issue is much more prevalent in older vehicles. The fix is to replace your cam gears. It's also a sign that you're enjoying your car! Because of this issue, the cam gear design and signalling was completely redesigned for the 2017+ refresh.
Does the activation needs to happen again when the battery is disconnected even with no flash ?

Thanks !
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 01:33 PM   #26
CSG Mike
 
CSG Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: S2000 CR
Location: Orange County
Posts: 14,537
Thanks: 8,929
Thanked 14,184 Times in 6,838 Posts
Mentioned: 966 Post(s)
Tagged: 14 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0rt0r0 View Post
Does the activation needs to happen again when the battery is disconnected even with no flash ?

Thanks !
If you are not resetting learning, then no.
CSG Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 02:51 PM   #27
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSG Mike View Post
If you are not resetting learning, then no.
Thanks for your quick reply !

To my understanding, disconnecting the battery leads to a new learning phase (with dead pedal etc.) so I'm assuming the car will need to activate cams again.

When these cars will be old it'll be a serious problem if vvt goes off like this :/
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 03:33 PM   #28
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 502
Thanked 1,070 Times in 778 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yes if you disconnect battery for a while, ecu kind of reset and vvt will take longer to activate
The hotter engine oil is, the shorter it takes

Even if you just reset DTC will do the same
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
T0rt0r0 (12-12-2019)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from OFT to Ecutek stlgrym3 Software Tuning 17 08-20-2018 05:39 PM
ecutek racerom map switching trevorthepanda Software Tuning 7 06-25-2018 09:17 PM
EcuTeK RaceROM Map Switching - Restore Last Map on Startup Trick (VIDEO) DeliciousTuning Software Tuning 10 06-16-2014 06:23 AM
EcuTek map switching with OFT? andrew5826 Software Tuning 25 05-10-2014 03:23 PM
ecutek map switching defroster ft86me Software Tuning 8 08-04-2013 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.