follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2022, 11:35 AM   #1443
RedReplicant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: None
Location: Arizona
Posts: 919
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 1,234 Times in 524 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What is the number on the top of the relay?

I received my Bosch TB yesterday and I realized the housing is thinner than the BRZ TB so I guess it'll need shorter bolts unless the Bosch TB to manifold adapter is thicker.

Also, series rule change came out yesterday which puts my car right on the limit for next year as it sits so no cams for me.
__________________
RedReplicant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2022, 11:49 AM   #1444
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedReplicant View Post
What is the number on the top of the relay?

I received my Bosch TB yesterday and I realized the housing is thinner than the BRZ TB so I guess it'll need shorter bolts unless the Bosch TB to manifold adapter is thicker.

Also, series rule change came out yesterday which puts my car right on the limit for next year as it sits so no cams for me.

Somehow I failed to snap a pic of that. Here's one from their site that Irace posted.


captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
RedReplicant (11-18-2022)
Old 11-18-2022, 12:09 PM   #1445
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,884
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,805 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
Pics of the fuel pump relay as requested:


CLICK ME
Is it the same connector as the original connector in the kit? Would I be able to just rewire that connector?
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2022, 12:33 PM   #1446
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
Is it the same connector as the original connector in the kit? Would I be able to just rewire that connector?

Haven't got a chance to install yet. I think this just plugs into what we already have re-pinned. Will get it done this weekend at some point so I'll follow up when I do.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (11-18-2022)
Old 11-18-2022, 12:34 PM   #1447
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedReplicant View Post
What is the number on the top of the relay?

I received my Bosch TB yesterday and I realized the housing is thinner than the BRZ TB so I guess it'll need shorter bolts unless the Bosch TB to manifold adapter is thicker.

Also, series rule change came out yesterday which puts my car right on the limit for next year as it sits so no cams for me.

Did you already buy the cams?
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2022, 12:47 PM   #1448
RedReplicant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: None
Location: Arizona
Posts: 919
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 1,234 Times in 524 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
Did you already buy the cams?
I didn't, no. I was going to get Toda A3s and Toda valve springs from RHDJapan. I think the total was like $1100 delivered.
__________________
RedReplicant is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RedReplicant For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (11-18-2022), funkjaw (11-18-2022)
Old 11-19-2022, 01:16 PM   #1449
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So far no go on the fuel pump relay. I've double checked my pin locations with what they provided and it just doesn't work. I can plug the original connector from the kit and get immediate power to the pump that stays on like before, but the relay doesn't get switched like it should with the newly provided setup. I tested the relay and it clicks over as it should but something isn't right. I'm at a loss so far as to what it could be if it's just supposed to be plug and play.

There are only two wires left that can be pinned. A light blue wire which I believe is what they want pinned and a white/black wire. Neither work.

Currently the relay is:

30 - Battery Pos
86 - Joined with Bat Pos using small red jumper wire
85 - Light blue wire from Fuel Pump Module
87 - Fuel pump Green

Black ground wire doesn't connect to the relay. It just connects Gray to Black like before. Kpower is closed so can't really troubleshoot much more until they can confirm there isn't some step they forgot to add into the instructions.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
endless_pain (11-21-2022), Irace86.2.0 (11-19-2022), RedReplicant (11-19-2022)
Old 11-19-2022, 01:52 PM   #1450
RedReplicant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: None
Location: Arizona
Posts: 919
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 1,234 Times in 524 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Welp, mine will be delivered today. I'll let you know if I have the same experience.
__________________
RedReplicant is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RedReplicant For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (11-19-2022), Irace86.2.0 (11-19-2022)
Old 11-19-2022, 01:58 PM   #1451
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,884
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,805 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I’m assuming you guys emailed them, yes?
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2022, 02:12 PM   #1452
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 559
Thanks: 380
Thanked 449 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
I’m assuming you guys emailed them, yes?

I haven't yet. I planned to call but they are closed on weekends. I figured before I messaged I should double check all fuses and relays associated with the circuits before wasting anyone's time. Since my car was originally an automatic, I've swapped the dash and engine bay harness over to a manual version. I'm worried that may contribute to the issue, but from looking over diagrams I don't think that's the case.


I'm also barely literate with wiring stuff, including relays so maybe there's something obvious I'm missing. Hopefully RedReplicant can confirm it should work and rule out it's a defectively wired part from Kpower.


Also to be clear I tested the relay outside of the car and harness to see if it would click adding power to the 30 pin and ground to 85. It clicks.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (11-19-2022)
Old 11-19-2022, 02:54 PM   #1453
RedReplicant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: None
Location: Arizona
Posts: 919
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 1,234 Times in 524 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
Hopefully RedReplicant can confirm it should work and rule out it's a defectively wired part from Kpower.
Confirmed, same issue as you.





I'll look through Haltech and see if there is some kind of setting that needs to be enabled.

edit: Not sure if it needs to change, fuel pump is set to digital switched with a fuel pump relay set to DPO 5 with a 5 second prime

edit2: Can't help but just laugh at this point
__________________

Last edited by RedReplicant; 11-19-2022 at 03:33 PM.
RedReplicant is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to RedReplicant For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (11-19-2022), endless_pain (11-21-2022), Irace86.2.0 (11-19-2022)
Old 11-19-2022, 05:29 PM   #1454
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,884
Thanks: 5,668
Thanked 5,805 Times in 3,299 Posts
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedReplicant View Post
Confirmed, same issue as you.



I'll look through Haltech and see if there is some kind of setting that needs to be enabled.

edit: Not sure if it needs to change, fuel pump is set to digital switched with a fuel pump relay set to DPO 5 with a 5 second prime

edit2: Can't help but just laugh at this point
Is the pinout identical? Do you have pictures of the original connector?

I mention it because the writeup highlights five wires, and I feel like the original was only four wires. Was the grey used previously?
__________________
My Build | K24 Turbo Swap | *K24T BRZ SOLD*

Last edited by Irace86.2.0; 11-19-2022 at 05:41 PM.
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2022, 05:44 PM   #1455
RedReplicant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: None
Location: Arizona
Posts: 919
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 1,234 Times in 524 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
Is the pinout identical? Do you have pictures of the original connector?

I mention it because the writeup highlights five wires, and I feel like the original was only four wires. Was the grey used previously?
I totally didn’t drop the new connector somewhere in my car and lose it but they are the same except the blue wire gets pinned in too instead of it and the white/black just hanging.
__________________
RedReplicant is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RedReplicant For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (11-19-2022)
Old 11-19-2022, 06:12 PM   #1456
RedReplicant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: None
Location: Arizona
Posts: 919
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 1,234 Times in 524 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The color coded plug they send/show is wrong.

The way the relay side is pinned has the blue wire next to the black wire, not the gray wire as indicated on the plug they provide. I moved the pin over on the pigtail side since I could easily do it outside of the car.

Still doesn't prime/run the pump.

Rotated to match perspective:



Pin moved:
__________________
RedReplicant is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RedReplicant For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (11-19-2022), Irace86.2.0 (11-19-2022)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid Industries SR-Series Pro Light Bar on my BRZ Stang70Fastback Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 3 12-29-2019 03:13 PM
Airlift from industries finest J_Nasty Member's Car Journals 0 02-04-2017 01:59 PM
Carbox Industries - Introduction CarBox CANADIAN Sales 5 04-22-2014 01:22 PM
86 industries Duthebarber Northern California 70 03-28-2014 04:10 PM
Another 86 Industries another bad experience sikest User/Vendor/Sponsor Reviews, Feedback, Comments 3 03-13-2014 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.