follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List
MisterSheep

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2012, 04:03 PM   #1
finch1750
Undisputed El Presidente
 
finch1750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Zenki 37J ZN6
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 11,494
Thanks: 9,277
Thanked 9,335 Times in 5,224 Posts
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 33 Thread(s)
Bluetooth built into head unit?

Does anyone know if there is a seperate bluetooth adapter or is it built into the headunit itself? I am looking at some pioneer dual dins and need to know if I can get the one without bluetooth that just needs the adapter or if I need to get the next level up for built in. TIA.
finch1750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:30 AM   #2
xcelir8brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 45
Thanked 235 Times in 157 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Built into head unit. (BRZ)
xcelir8brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:52 AM   #3
Dadhawk
1st86 Driver!
 
Dadhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: '13 FR-S (#3 of 1st 86)
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 18,176
Thanks: 35,208
Thanked 22,116 Times in 10,170 Posts
Mentioned: 170 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by finch1750 View Post
Does anyone know if there is a seperate bluetooth adapter or is it built into the headunit itself? I am looking at some pioneer dual dins and need to know if I can get the one without bluetooth that just needs the adapter or if I need to get the next level up for built in. TIA.
From what I've seen of tear-down photos on here, it's built into the FR-S stock unit.
Dadhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
tdoggy57
Senior Member
 
tdoggy57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: Asphalt Scion FR-S
Location: Delaware
Posts: 447
Thanks: 134
Thanked 127 Times in 80 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yes, it's built in to the FR-S stock unit. Easy to initialize, and now my music just starts playing from my Iphone every time I start the car up. Pretty cool.
tdoggy57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:38 PM   #5
finch1750
Undisputed El Presidente
 
finch1750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Zenki 37J ZN6
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 11,494
Thanks: 9,277
Thanked 9,335 Times in 5,224 Posts
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 33 Thread(s)
OK. Thanks everyone for the info
finch1750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 12:56 PM   #6
b.e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 FR-S Hot Lava, 2007 Tundra
Location: Utah
Posts: 174
Thanks: 283
Thanked 117 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
One problem I have with the Bluetooth audio of the FRS stock unit: I can't turn the volume up very loud. The volume is controlled by my smartphone (the volume control on the car is bypassed) and even maxed out the volume is still very low. Maybe there is a setting I'll discover to fix this.
__________________
b.e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 01:10 PM   #7
civicdrivr
Senior Member
 
civicdrivr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: 2018 Golf R
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,807
Thanks: 5,386
Thanked 1,095 Times in 647 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 7 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.e View Post
One problem I have with the Bluetooth audio of the FRS stock unit: I can't turn the volume up very loud. The volume is controlled by my smartphone (the volume control on the car is bypassed) and even maxed out the volume is still very low. Maybe there is a setting I'll discover to fix this.
Im able to modulate the volume using the headunit.
__________________
Parting out HERE
civicdrivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 02:56 PM   #8
Dadhawk
1st86 Driver!
 
Dadhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: '13 FR-S (#3 of 1st 86)
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 18,176
Thanks: 35,208
Thanked 22,116 Times in 10,170 Posts
Mentioned: 170 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.e View Post
One problem I have with the Bluetooth audio of the FRS stock unit: I can't turn the volume up very loud. The volume is controlled by my smartphone (the volume control on the car is bypassed) and even maxed out the volume is still very low. Maybe there is a setting I'll discover to fix this.
I noticed this too, but haven't played with it much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by civicdrivr View Post
Im able to modulate the volume using the headunit.
It works fine for hands-free over BT, but doesn't do it for audio (streaming music). Maybe a setting somewhere?
Dadhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 02:59 PM   #9
civicdrivr
Senior Member
 
civicdrivr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: 2018 Golf R
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,807
Thanks: 5,386
Thanked 1,095 Times in 647 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 7 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadhawk View Post
It works fine for hands-free over BT, but doesn't do it for audio (streaming music). Maybe a setting somewhere?
Oops, didnt notice that part. I very rarely use BT audio. Ill check it out later and report back.
__________________
Parting out HERE
civicdrivr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to civicdrivr For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (06-16-2012)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FRS aftermarket head unit installation - wiring MindtheGap Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 35 01-14-2013 09:00 PM
Android head unit drei Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 21 07-16-2012 02:42 AM
Scion.ca built & price is up on the site :) QC-FRS CANADA 23 05-10-2012 09:44 PM
Will the GT-86, FR-S, & BRZ all be built at the same plant? HitTheGas Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] 16 02-25-2012 03:03 AM
Where is each AS1 car built? Fox Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 18 01-08-2012 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.