follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > 2nd Gens: GR86 and BRZ > BRZ Second-Gen (2022+) -- General Topics

BRZ Second-Gen (2022+) -- General Topics General topics for the second-gen BRZ


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2021, 12:32 AM   #1
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: 2022 GR86 Neptune, 2017 BRZ with PP
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 1,523
Thanks: 1,916
Thanked 1,092 Times in 630 Posts
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Anyone figured out where to get the CAN bus data for AIM/etc. data loggers?

Rumor is that the AIM data logger can't see any CAN bus data on the OBD-II port.
Given what Subaru has done on other models, my intuition is that now we would need
to find another place to get to the CAN bus, and possibly even splice some cables.
This has already been the norm on many other cars, e.g. Porsches.

Have anyone explored data logging on 2022's yet?
One wild idea I have is that perhaps the connector that goes into the ASC ECU probably has the CAN H/L pins in it.

Also my intuition is that the CAN IDs and encoding for most of the high-level data
should be mostly the same between 2022+ and 20132020.
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to timurrrr For This Useful Post:
Aroundomaha (01-04-2022), whataboutbob (12-09-2021)
Old 12-09-2021, 02:04 AM   #2
EndlessAzure
Senior Member
 
EndlessAzure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: '14 FR-S [37J] | Daily/Track
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 682
Thanks: 79
Thanked 371 Times in 250 Posts
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
@timurrrr Have you tried the option connector behind the stereo?


I've heard anecdotally that two of the pins are for CAN, but don't what's actually accessible or useful via there
  • Edit: wrong generation

Last edited by EndlessAzure; 12-09-2021 at 12:23 PM.
EndlessAzure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 11:05 AM   #3
MacSpeed
Senior Member
 
MacSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Drives: 2022 BRZ
Location: FL
Posts: 103
Thanks: 60
Thanked 84 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I hooked my RaceCapture up last night and loaded the gen1 car preset and got nothing.

MacSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 11:32 AM   #4
ayau
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: Some rust bucket
Location: Polar ice cap
Posts: 3,054
Thanks: 312
Thanked 1,044 Times in 555 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
On the automatics, you can tap into the Eyesight camera. Not sure what type of data you'll get out of that though. Assuming they build the manuals similar to the automatic, there might be a hidden Eyesight wire by the rear mirror.
ayau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 11:59 AM   #5
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: 2022 GR86 Neptune, 2017 BRZ with PP
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 1,523
Thanks: 1,916
Thanked 1,092 Times in 630 Posts
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessAzure View Post
@timurrrr Have you tried the option connector behind the stereo?

I've heard anecdotally that two of the pins are for CAN, but don't what's actually accessible or useful via there
I've been using it on my '17 for a while.
Are you talking about '13'20's or '22's specifically?

Reminds me of this video I saw before:

Quote:
Originally Posted by timurrrr View Post
Has anyone confirmed that the hidden extra connector is there on 2022's, and it's not just for speakers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacSpeed View Post
I hooked my RaceCapture up last night and loaded the gen1 car preset and got nothing.
Hooked up to what connector?
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 12:00 PM   #6
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: 2022 GR86 Neptune, 2017 BRZ with PP
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 1,523
Thanks: 1,916
Thanked 1,092 Times in 630 Posts
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
btw, if anyone is in the SF Bay Area and is willing to let me fiddle with their car to figure out the CAN bus protocol, let me know!
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to timurrrr For This Useful Post:
whataboutbob (12-21-2021)
Old 12-09-2021, 12:02 PM   #7
MacSpeed
Senior Member
 
MacSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Drives: 2022 BRZ
Location: FL
Posts: 103
Thanks: 60
Thanked 84 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by timurrrr View Post
Hooked up to what connector?
OBD under the dash
MacSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 12:24 PM   #8
EndlessAzure
Senior Member
 
EndlessAzure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: '14 FR-S [37J] | Daily/Track
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 682
Thanks: 79
Thanked 371 Times in 250 Posts
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by timurrrr View Post
I've been using it on my '17 for a while.
Are you talking about '13'20's or '22's specifically?

Reminds me of this video I saw before:



Has anyone confirmed that the hidden extra connector is there on 2022's, and it's not just for speakers?



Hooked up to what connector?
Got it. Referenced the wrong gen
EndlessAzure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 12:43 PM   #9
DocWalt
Senior Member
 
DocWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: '22 BRZ
Location: PA
Posts: 1,430
Thanks: 1,598
Thanked 892 Times in 522 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
I'll be playing with this on my car as soon as it gets here. I helped sniff the CAN data for the ND, so we'll hopefully get this sorted out too. It would be pretty annoying to not have the CAN data on the OBD2 port, but oh well. Should be available on the ASC connector.
DocWalt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DocWalt For This Useful Post:
MacSpeed (12-09-2021), whataboutbob (12-21-2021)
Old 12-09-2021, 12:52 PM   #10
MacSpeed
Senior Member
 
MacSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Drives: 2022 BRZ
Location: FL
Posts: 103
Thanks: 60
Thanked 84 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocWalt View Post
I'll be playing with this on my car as soon as it gets here. I helped sniff the CAN data for the ND, so we'll hopefully get this sorted out too. It would be pretty annoying to not have the CAN data on the OBD2 port, but oh well. Should be available on the ASC connector.
I'm really hoping something just changed in the formulas and we just don't know it yet. Would be really weird I feel to not be able to get them from the OBD and would have no idea how to get that info into my RC and SoloStorm then LOL
MacSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 03:09 PM   #11
DocWalt
Senior Member
 
DocWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: '22 BRZ
Location: PA
Posts: 1,430
Thanks: 1,598
Thanked 892 Times in 522 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacSpeed View Post
I'm really hoping something just changed in the formulas and we just don't know it yet. Would be really weird I feel to not be able to get them from the OBD and would have no idea how to get that info into my RC and SoloStorm then LOL
Lots of manufacturers don't expose CAN on the OBD2 port, like Honda & BMW. Seems pointless but lots of folks worry way too much about security of the OBD2 port (omg my car is going to be hacked!) and lots of other folks do dumb things and cause issues with cheapo OBD2 dongles so it makes sense for manufacturers to not expose the CAN wiring.


Assuming it's actually on the OBD2 port it'll be figured out fairly quickly for the basics (steering angle, brake pressure, accelerator pedal position, etc. The more complicated stuff like wheel speeds will need more logging than I have time to do.

If it's not on the OBD2 port we'll just need to come up with somewhere to tap into the CAN wiring. ASC just seems like an easy place to do it with a likely readily available connector to plug in instead of ASC.
DocWalt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DocWalt For This Useful Post:
Aroundomaha (01-04-2022), MacSpeed (12-09-2021), timurrrr (12-10-2021)
Old 12-09-2021, 04:48 PM   #12
dragoontwo
Senior Member
 
dragoontwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 22 BRZ limited
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 787
Thanks: 155
Thanked 602 Times in 307 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The following pins on the OBD-II connector are populated: 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 14, 15, 16.
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dragoontwo For This Useful Post:
DocWalt (12-09-2021), whataboutbob (12-21-2021)
Old 12-10-2021, 12:17 AM   #13
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: 2022 GR86 Neptune, 2017 BRZ with PP
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 1,523
Thanks: 1,916
Thanked 1,092 Times in 630 Posts
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoontwo View Post
The following pins on the OBD-II connector are populated: 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 14, 15, 16.
I'm pretty sure the OBD-II connector has a CAN bus available, since this is the required protocol in the latest revisions of the OBD-II protocol for emissions-related stuff.

However, manufacturers are free to provide a separate CAN bus for the OBD-II port connected to a dedicated ECU with very limited functionality, e.g. only answering emissions-related OBD-II requests. The "main" CAN bus that most other ECUs (engine, ABS, ESC, etc.) are talking over may be "isolated" from the OBD-II port, with that dedicated ECU acting like a gateway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DocWalt View Post
I'll be playing with this on my car as soon as it gets here. [...] Should be available on the ASC connector.
Sweet! Please keep us posted.
I can add whatever you find to https://github.com/timurrrr/RaceChronoDiyBleDevice then.
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to timurrrr For This Useful Post:
DocWalt (12-10-2021), whataboutbob (12-21-2021)
Old 12-20-2021, 03:33 PM   #14
DocWalt
Senior Member
 
DocWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: '22 BRZ
Location: PA
Posts: 1,430
Thanks: 1,598
Thanked 892 Times in 522 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Got my car Friday, finally had time to hook up the RaceCapture and poke around. Looks like the new twin is using SSM and we'll need to invest a lot of time to grab the extra data over CAN because you need to send a request to the ECU for the data. I don't have the time at the moment, but maybe over winter. RaceCapture's interfaces for this are... annoying.
DocWalt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to DocWalt For This Useful Post:
Aroundomaha (01-04-2022), MacSpeed (12-21-2021), Spuds (12-22-2021), whataboutbob (12-21-2021)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data Log czellers Software Tuning 0 09-02-2021 01:11 PM
Here's My Data Log(s) czellers Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 5 04-02-2021 09:17 PM
IAT OEM PID/CAN Data - RC MK2 M0nk3y Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting 7 07-20-2020 01:47 AM
Data log snk828 Software Tuning 1 07-10-2020 03:36 PM
OFT Data log.. Are these okay HSayaovong Software Tuning 2 03-25-2014 06:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.