follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting

Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting What these cars were built for!


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2019, 08:50 AM   #1
M0nk3y
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS / Chevy Colorado
Location: Ohio
Posts: 565
Thanks: 40
Thanked 478 Times in 269 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
IAT OEM PID/CAN Data - RC MK2

Has anyone had success with trying to figure out IAT OEM PIDs or where it resides within the CAN database?

I'd like to start tracking IATs if possible. I have a couple leads on Paramids but don't know how to translate this into something that RC can accept. IIRC this is all mode 22 stuff.

0xFFF8DB8C
0xFFF87C64
0cFFF890B8

Any help?
__________________
Kyle H. - #89 STX
M0nk3y is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 10:47 AM   #2
conedodging
Senior Member
 
conedodging's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Drives: '14 BRZ
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 43
Thanked 44 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Shouldn't intake temp be an industry standard obd2 PID? Wikipedia's chart says

Code:
PID
(hex)	PID
	(Dec)	Data bytes returned	Description		Min value	Max value	Units	Formula[a]

0F	15	1			Intake air temperature	-40		215		C	A-40
I'll check this evening, I have to get my track mk2 setup for this weekend anyway.

On the CANbus side, no idea. The Autosports Labs forum has a thread for gt86 CAN mapping, but it's been quiet for year or so.
conedodging is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 10:51 AM   #3
M0nk3y
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS / Chevy Colorado
Location: Ohio
Posts: 565
Thanks: 40
Thanked 478 Times in 269 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by conedodging View Post
Shouldn't intake temp be an industry standard obd2 PID? Wikipedia's chart says

Code:
PID
(hex)	PID
	(Dec)	Data bytes returned	Description		Min value	Max value	Units	Formula[a]

0F	15	1			Intake air temperature	-40		215		C	A-40
I'll check this evening, I have to get my track mk2 setup for this weekend anyway.

On the CANbus side, no idea. The Autosports Labs forum has a thread for gt86 CAN mapping, but it's been quiet for year or so.
That was my thought as well. However I threw that in and tried to log it - Driving around at night 62 degree ambient, the longer I drove the colder the IAT got...all the way down to 49 degrees.

MAF seems to work. Fuel level was reading wrong values as well.
__________________
Kyle H. - #89 STX
M0nk3y is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 11:09 AM   #4
conedodging
Senior Member
 
conedodging's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Drives: '14 BRZ
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 43
Thanked 44 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0nk3y View Post
That was my thought as well. However I threw that in and tried to log it - Driving around at night 62 degree ambient, the longer I drove the colder the IAT got...all the way down to 49 degrees.

MAF seems to work. Fuel level was reading wrong values as well.
Well damn. Can the RCTrack mk2 pull raw CAN data to read? You've got my engineer brain spinning, now.
conedodging is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 11:12 AM   #5
M0nk3y
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS / Chevy Colorado
Location: Ohio
Posts: 565
Thanks: 40
Thanked 478 Times in 269 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by conedodging View Post
Well damn. Can the RCTrack mk2 pull raw CAN data to read? You've got my engineer brain spinning, now.


Yessir.

They now have a preset map for the FRS/BRZ/86 available that has a lot of preconfigured CAN data. The only thing Im pulling from OBD PID is RPM.



I was going to start trying to script and figure out if I can find the IAT over CAN, but figured Id ask here before I dove into the deep end


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Kyle H. - #89 STX
M0nk3y is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to M0nk3y For This Useful Post:
CSG Mike (05-08-2019)
Old 05-08-2019, 11:27 AM   #6
conedodging
Senior Member
 
conedodging's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Drives: '14 BRZ
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 43
Thanked 44 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
I know about the presets. I was wondering if it can output or log the raw CAN data that the car is broadcasting to try and find values.

Bit off topic, but I feel like I've seen pictures of your RCTmk2 physically setup (somewhere *cough*), but I can't find them now. Where do you put the gps reciever? I have a bunch of velcro tape and wire clips to lock everything down, just not sure where to put the gps.
conedodging is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 11:38 AM   #7
M0nk3y
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS / Chevy Colorado
Location: Ohio
Posts: 565
Thanks: 40
Thanked 478 Times in 269 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by conedodging View Post
I know about the presets. I was wondering if it can output or log the raw CAN data that the car is broadcasting to try and find values.

Bit off topic, but I feel like I've seen pictures of your RCTmk2 physically setup (somewhere *cough*), but I can't find them now. Where do you put the gps reciever? I have a bunch of velcro tape and wire clips to lock everything down, just not sure where to put the gps.
Yes you can: https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_logger

From a friend trying to help me

Quote:
so using that script, I modified the line that says "if id ~= nil then" to say "if id >= XXXX or id <= YYYY" and replace the XXX and YYY with three digit characters. I did ranges of 100 at first, then figured out where the "end" points were, what was the first and last CAN ID in use. Then narrow it down to smaller ranges and watch for data changing when you do things like turn the wheel or push the brakes (can all be done sitting still) and figure out how to use that data. Scaling and big endian vs little endian is all up to your interpretation.
My MK2 is setup to sit in the center console area where the cup holders are at. I have wire organizers running the transmission tunnel to hold the wire where the OBD 2 plugs in. For the GPS, I route the wire around the passenger seat, throw wire organizers up the B Pillar and the GPS routes outside the passenger window up on the roof. The GPS itself is magnetic - so it'll just hang out there. I throw a piece of tap on the wire on the roof so it doesn't flap around
__________________
Kyle H. - #89 STX
M0nk3y is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to M0nk3y For This Useful Post:
strat61caster (05-08-2019)
Old 07-20-2020, 01:47 AM   #8
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: 2022 GR86
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 1,676
Thanks: 2,111
Thanked 1,256 Times in 697 Posts
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0nk3y View Post
Yessir.

They now have a preset map for the FRS/BRZ/86 available that has a lot of preconfigured CAN data. The only thing Im pulling from OBD PID is RPM.
Nice! Can you share more screenshots with those IDs, offsets and lengths?

Based on my research, you should be able to read RPM from ID=320, offset 2, length 2.
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oft won't let me erase all data... Lumbajackmeh Software Tuning 2 09-05-2016 07:13 PM
OFT Data log.. Are these okay HSayaovong Software Tuning 2 03-25-2014 06:56 PM
K&C data Gunman Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing 0 12-03-2013 01:11 PM
Aim Solo Data.....What Now??? Deep Six Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting 0 10-02-2013 10:49 PM
ECU Data Logger Motordyne Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 5 07-18-2012 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2023 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.