follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Regional Forums > Arizona

User Tag List

Old 09-14-2018, 11:45 AM   #1
Jviveros2

Drives: Pearl BRZ
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Throw Out Bearing Replacement?

So my car just got that infamous 'whine' sound when the car is in idle.
I press on the clutch and the sound goes away. After reading numerous threads I'm afraid it might be the throw out bearing or something along those lines.

Anyone in the Phoenix metro area familiar with checking such parts? I'm new to the auto world so I wouldn't even know where to start and I really don't want to have to take it to the dealership.
Jviveros2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 04:15 AM   #2
FunnyGopher

Drives: 2015 BRZ Limited
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jviveros2 View Post
So my car just got that infamous 'whine' sound when the car is in idle.
I press on the clutch and the sound goes away. After reading numerous threads I'm afraid it might be the throw out bearing or something along those lines.

Anyone in the Phoenix metro area familiar with checking such parts? I'm new to the auto world so I wouldn't even know where to start and I really don't want to have to take it to the dealership.
I'm actually going to tackle swapping out my TOB tomorrow morning! I've never done it before, so yeah, that'll be interesting.

If DIY doesn't sound fun to you, I'd hit up our local club tuner/mechanic Dallen. https://www.facebook.com/dbtuned/. He actually just did a TOB change about a week ago. His contact information is on his page. He's replaced engines, installed turbo kits, plus all the normal maintenance stuff on these cars. I'd trust him with anything. I'll let him know someone might be hitting him up about a TOB change.