follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2023, 06:30 PM   #99
AussieBRZ
Senior Member
 
AussieBRZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Drives: WRB BRZ
Location: Australia
Posts: 112
Thanks: 14
Thanked 51 Times in 36 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur-A View Post
I have a 2020 USDM BRZ, currently stock, planning to do a catless UEL and an Ecutek tune on pump gas. Not planning to go E85 or FI. Should I also switch to a EU map with a tactrix prior to having the car tuned with Ecutek?

Could you please elaborate more on issues with the US maps?

Yes if you ant to use ecutek for catless header then you will need to convert to euro rom beforehand or you won't be able to disable emmissions codes like P0420.


Also if you not planning on flex or FI, why not just tune with tactrix ?
AussieBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AussieBRZ For This Useful Post:
Arthur-A (10-21-2023)
Old 10-21-2023, 07:30 PM   #100
Arthur-A
Senior Member
 
Arthur-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Drives: 2020 BRZ/86, 2020 BMW 330i
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 292
Thanks: 196
Thanked 172 Times in 104 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AussieBRZ View Post
Also if you not planning on flex or FI, why not just tune with tactrix ?
Our local tuner shop (Drift Office) only uses Ecutek, as far as I know. And I want to use them, since they do it on their dyno.
Arthur-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2023, 11:39 PM   #101
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,192
Thanks: 500
Thanked 1,064 Times in 773 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur-A View Post
Our local tuner shop (Drift Office) only uses Ecutek, as far as I know. And I want to use them, since they do it on their dyno.
if you are lucky they still have a workstation/laptop with a non updated version of proecu and they still can tune you

otherwise buy a tactrix cable and convert before going

at that point you could even do a remote tuning with tactrix, some guys like steve (AussieBrz) and I are willing to tune with it
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
Arthur-A (10-25-2023)
Old 11-14-2023, 11:35 PM   #102
MadTyteYo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
at that point you could even do a remote tuning with tactrix, some guys like steve (AussieBrz) and I are willing to tune with it

Tuning for just NA or turbos as well?

I'm starting to wonder if I made a mistake getting a turbo kit because no companies mentioned online that the capabilities are being stripped from ECUtek. It's going to put me in a weird position if they can't anymore.
MadTyteYo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2023, 12:30 PM   #103
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadTyteYo View Post
Tuning for just NA or turbos as well?

I'm starting to wonder if I made a mistake getting a turbo kit because no companies mentioned online that the capabilities are being stripped from ECUtek. It's going to put me in a weird position if they can't anymore.

You should still be able to get a turbo tune from any of the tuners using ProECU, it's just that at the moment, the updated software suite will not let you to connect a flex fuel sensor analyzer output wire to the traditional ECU inputs that we have been using for years. I believe ECUTek is still working on their canbus interface for these cars, which should give us a new way to connect flex fuel sensors.

You don't actually need to connect the flex fuel sensor input to the ECU as long as you know what your ethanol percentage is and have a fuel map that is calibrated to that ethanol percentage. I makes it more difficult, but it's not impossible.

If you're wanting to add flexfuel to your build, and if I were you, I would install the turbo setup, get the tune, then just wait to add the flex sensor setup until ECUTek releases the canbus interface. Or you can install the flexfuel sensor, analyzer, gauge, wiring, etc. and just not connect the output wire to anything until it's time to do so. You can use the gauge as an ethanol content monitor for the time being.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2023, 04:53 PM   #104
AussieBRZ
Senior Member
 
AussieBRZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Drives: WRB BRZ
Location: Australia
Posts: 112
Thanks: 14
Thanked 51 Times in 36 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadTyteYo View Post
Tuning for just NA or turbos as well?

I'm starting to wonder if I made a mistake getting a turbo kit because no companies mentioned online that the capabilities are being stripped from ECUtek. It's going to put me in a weird position if they can't anymore.

It's possible to tune turbos with opensource like tactrix or oft but it's a lot easier with ecutek.


It is possible to transition to a non USA rom in USA car but you would need a tactrix cable to make the switch ecutek no longer allows rom switch
AussieBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AussieBRZ For This Useful Post:
norcalpb (01-16-2024)
Old 01-16-2024, 04:01 PM   #105
magbrz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Drives: 2020 BRZ w/ PP
Location: MN
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Has there been any update on tuners supporting CAN bus for the first gen cars? (For flex fuel specifically.)



Thanks,


~Mark
magbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 09:16 PM   #106
PulsarBeeerz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: JRSC BRZ SOLD
Location: Ohio
Posts: 934
Thanks: 676
Thanked 738 Times in 396 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbrz View Post
Has there been any update on tuners supporting CAN bus for the first gen cars? (For flex fuel specifically.)



Thanks,


~Mark
I asked Bill of Delicious Tuning about this. He said that EcuTek was still in the testing phase. I think that may have been nearly a year ago. But even the 2nd Gen is technically in the beta phase. I don't think they even have speed density tuning yet for it.
PulsarBeeerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2024, 07:49 AM   #107
Wally86
Be Kind
 
Wally86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Drives: 2020 86
Location: MD
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 5,144
Thanked 1,251 Times in 603 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbrz View Post
Has there been any update on tuners supporting CAN bus for the first gen cars? (For flex fuel specifically.)



Thanks,


~Mark
https://www.geraldjustprojects.com/p...-frs-brz-gt86/

In the product notes
__________________
[Insert clever signature here]
IG | WhiskyBlog | Photography
Wally86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2024, 11:07 AM   #108
magbrz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Drives: 2020 BRZ w/ PP
Location: MN
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for the updates fellas!


~Mark
magbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to magbrz For This Useful Post:
Wally86 (01-22-2024)
Old 01-22-2024, 10:39 PM   #109
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 303
Thanks: 5
Thanked 253 Times in 116 Posts
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yeah we got ours can based kits for gen1 ready to go. Fow now, we are just waiting for ecutek to add support. Ecutek has been adding the canbus stuff for most of their cars. So we been as they busy adding support for them too.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to geraldjust For This Useful Post:
RToyo86 (01-23-2024), Wally86 (01-24-2024)
Old 01-23-2024, 12:18 PM   #110
RToyo86
Senior Member
 
RToyo86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: 17 Asphalt 86
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,161
Thanks: 1,703
Thanked 2,184 Times in 1,120 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I had tuned with CSG roughly August 2022 and they were able to sort me out with no issues on a USDM ROM.

I assume they gave a workstation with older proecu. Always worth messaging tuner first to see what the recommend
RToyo86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2024, 12:28 AM   #111
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017 hksv2
Location: italy
Posts: 2,192
Thanks: 500
Thanked 1,064 Times in 773 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
probably yes
either they have a "slave" Master tuner software in a backup-workstation which they use offline to mod usdm tunes

or they saved a lot of pre-modified tunes while they still could (you can t really not update a main master software as you need it to connect with the license servers and stuff

For example in your case Ryan they d only disable the P0420 for the CEL of the cat and everything else is enabled
NA tunes made from Zach for restyling cars are like 80% stock in many ways
Not complaining of that, they re smooth and OEM feeling which is nice

It should have, like stock tunes from 2018> , a change of "personality" when the ECU seea the value "exhaust catalyst temperature " of over 870 Celsius
which can randomly reach depending on which aftermarket header you install (some have the bungs closer to the exhaust valves) but shouldn t happen a lot with your config
when you go over 870C target afr changes a lot and some of the closed loop that he kept active untill 6400 rpm in your "base" tune will turn of and from what i remember from your logs, it will become a bit too rich when the threshold is reached
which then will cut down the exhaust temp and go back to full performance
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
Trap63 (02-16-2024)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Flash Tablet Manager Software (problem after internet update) SloS14 Software Tuning 6 10-31-2013 03:33 PM
86 Software Update v3rgil AFRICA 121 10-04-2013 01:45 AM
Gopro 3 Software Update Released Yruyur Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 1 05-13-2013 06:17 PM
So what ECUtek software do you need to make changes to the ECU yourself? seven Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 30 01-04-2013 11:58 AM
EcuTek preparing to release PRO ECU software for BRZ Visconti Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 335 08-13-2012 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.