follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2021, 09:57 PM   #1
OfficeLinebacker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: ????
Location: MD
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question Options for displaying Transmission temps in the car?

Hey guys I have an AT and the transmission overheats when I take it to the track (yes I track my AT car, it's a DD and I have a bad right shoulder).

Secondly I have a 2019 Toyota 86 and it doesn't have that cool digital dash that the Subarus have where one of the screens has engine oil and coolant temp and stuff.

I understand our cars have at least one (and possibly two?) transmission fluid temperature sensors.

I would prefer not to use my phone, because I'm usually running a lap timer on it. I suppose I could use one of my old phones that doesn't have a SIM any more if that's possible.

Basically I understand there are a few options:
  • Bluetooth OBDII plug and app on phone (or tablet?) (What are the best options here?)
  • Specialized gauge just for transmission fluid display (would this occupy the entire OBDII port? I'd rather have a multi-display including engine oil temp and water temp along with trans temp.
  • Configurable digital gauge such as an UltraGauge or a Scangauge. May require some programming.
I currently have an extremely old (2011) Ultragauge that I sent back to be re-flashed to be an MX 1.4 with the Tacoma flash. I don't know if that will give me turnkey readings for the trans temp sensors but it was worth a shot for only $18.

But my question is what are the other options? I'd like it for normal driving, not just the track, and I use my phone for other stuff like Waze, calling, etc and don't want to use the display for the engine operating parameters. I'd like a separate device in my cockpit.

I hope I phrased this question right, I didn't see any obvious answers when I searched.

Thanks!
OfficeLinebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 10:03 PM   #2
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 7,091
Thanks: 452
Thanked 4,403 Times in 2,857 Posts
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
I don't think I have anything to add to displaying temps but it seems you need to find a way to actually reduce the temps

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 10:24 PM   #3
scion fr-s
Senior Member
 
scion fr-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: 2015 BRZ Series Blue
Location: California
Posts: 182
Thanks: 49
Thanked 52 Times in 42 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Is there a gallery plug on the tranny? I am wondering as well how to monitor tranny temps.
scion fr-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 10:33 PM   #4
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 7,091
Thanks: 452
Thanked 4,403 Times in 2,857 Posts
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scion fr-s View Post
Is there a gallery plug on the tranny? I am wondering as well how to monitor tranny temps.
You could use a splitter off one of the stock ones perhaps?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 11:31 PM   #5
OfficeLinebacker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: ????
Location: MD
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikabi View Post
I don't think I have anything to add to displaying temps but it seems you need to find a way to actually reduce the temps

I am installing a trans cooler this weekend.


However I need to be able to monitor my temps regardless.
OfficeLinebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 11:32 PM   #6
OfficeLinebacker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: ????
Location: MD
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scion fr-s View Post
Is there a gallery plug on the tranny? I am wondering as well how to monitor tranny temps.

Our cars have sensors.


If you know the DIY trans flush procedure, you know you can jump two leads on the OBDII port and it will use the shift lights to tell you if the trans temp is within range.
OfficeLinebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 12:16 AM   #7
scion fr-s
Senior Member
 
scion fr-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: 2015 BRZ Series Blue
Location: California
Posts: 182
Thanks: 49
Thanked 52 Times in 42 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikabi View Post
You could use a splitter off one of the stock ones perhaps?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
Yea, that is what I was thinking. Glad we are on the same page.
scion fr-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 08:49 AM   #8
blsfrs
Member
 
blsfrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2013 frs base
Location: central Virginia
Posts: 51
Thanks: 17
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You might splice in a temp sensor in your trans cooler line with an in car gauge.
blsfrs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to blsfrs For This Useful Post:
jcw99 (05-22-2021)
Old 05-06-2021, 09:24 AM   #9
OfficeLinebacker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: ????
Location: MD
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blsfrs View Post
You might splice in a temp sensor in your trans cooler line with an in car gauge.

Why, if the OBDII provides at least one, if not two trans temp sensor reading?
OfficeLinebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 09:33 AM   #10
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 7,091
Thanks: 452
Thanked 4,403 Times in 2,857 Posts
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blsfrs View Post
You might splice in a temp sensor in your trans cooler line with an in car gauge.
Do the autos come with a cooler?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 05:35 PM   #11
OfficeLinebacker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: ????
Location: MD
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikabi View Post
Do the autos come with a cooler?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk

They have a shitty sandwich style exchanger bolted to the side of the trans tunnel, which provides inadequate cooling.
OfficeLinebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 10:07 AM   #12
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 223
Thanked 1,001 Times in 669 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Scan gauge displays auto trans temps. Search for it. I posted all the PIDs already.
You can display 4 parameters at once like oil, coolant, trans, afr. All at once.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 86TOYO2k17 For This Useful Post:
jcw99 (05-22-2021)
Old 05-14-2021, 08:55 PM   #13
OfficeLinebacker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: ????
Location: MD
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86TOYO2k17 View Post
Scan gauge displays auto trans temps. Search for it. I posted all the PIDs already.
You can display 4 parameters at once like oil, coolant, trans, afr. All at once.



Thank you. I already own an Ultragauge MX so now I'd like to try programming that. I see the codes for the Scangauge, and I need to somehow translate them into the codes for the Ultragauge.
OfficeLinebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2021, 02:22 PM   #14
Trueweltall
Senior Member
 
Trueweltall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Drives: 2016 Subaru BRZ
Location: Florida
Posts: 377
Thanks: 87
Thanked 182 Times in 109 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I suspect that other things in your car will bite the bullet before you have to worry about transmission temperatures.
Trueweltall is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transmission upgrade options for stock power and track only use? GrandSport Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting 46 02-24-2021 05:57 PM
transmission options Reaper Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 41 12-31-2015 11:29 PM
Aftermarket differential (LSD) options for automatic transmission (AT)? dp1 Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting 44 07-21-2014 04:30 AM
Displaying the Adv Multiplier sw20kosh Software Tuning 12 12-09-2013 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.