follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
RR Racing
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Regional Forums > AFRICA


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2013, 10:24 AM   #85
Jugs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota 86, High (M)
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hi guys, I'm new here. Picking up my baby on Friday. Gateway Toyota is doing my PDI. Would my model have the Software upgrade already, or would I still need to ask them to do it ?
Thanks a stack for everyones knowlege on this blog....spent the last week catching up.
Jugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:33 AM   #86
Vic_RSA
The voice of reason...
 
Vic_RSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86 6MT Standard
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 740
Thanks: 335
Thanked 99 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Probably will have it.
Vic_RSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:16 PM   #87
Scarl3t
Senior Member
 
Scarl3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: Hachi-Roku
Location: Centurion
Posts: 116
Thanks: 27
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jugs View Post
Hi guys, I'm new here. Picking up my baby on Friday. Gateway Toyota is doing my PDI. Would my model have the Software upgrade already, or would I still need to ask them to do it ?
Thanks a stack for everyones knowlege on this blog....spent the last week catching up.
if your car was assembled a month ago, it might, but if its been in SA for a while, most probably not.
there are still a lot of dealer tech's that dont know about the update let alone the sales people
Scarl3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:40 PM   #88
Fish Eagle
Platinum Member
 
Fish Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: Toyota 86 Vortech SC
Location: Nelspruit, South Africa
Posts: 1,215
Thanks: 619
Thanked 1,021 Times in 541 Posts
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jugs View Post
Hi guys, I'm new here. Picking up my baby on Friday. Gateway Toyota is doing my PDI. Would my model have the Software upgrade already, or would I still need to ask them to do it ?
Thanks a stack for everyones knowlege on this blog....spent the last week catching up.
Check the build date of your car - sticker on the passenger side door frame. The cut-off build date for this issue was 21 January 2013. If your car was built Feb13 or later, it'll have the update. If built in Jan13, then check the VIN number on the same sticker versus the cutoff VIN number on the last (sideways) pic of post #65 in this thread (para 2 on that page "Breakpoint")
__________________
Fish Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:59 PM   #89
Jugs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota 86, High (M)
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thumbs up

Will do...
Jugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:09 AM   #90
Spoor
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: Toyota 86 silver standard
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hi all,

Sorry if my question is repetition:

Has anyone done the update at Barloworld Toyota on the corner of Garsfontein and gen lois Botha in Pretoria? And what was your experience.

Can you take your car in before the service interval and who should you contact/speak to, to arrange?

How long does it take/cost ect?

Thank you
Spoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:03 AM   #91
RiaX
Junior Member
 
RiaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Pearl White 86 high spec
Location: KZN
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
toyota westville has not heard of this upgrade. They havent received a technical bulletin from toyota SA. Anyone in KZN did this upgrade?
RiaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:42 PM   #92
Jugs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota 86, High (M)
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Toyota Gateway don't know anything of it either.....that's expected of our KZN dealerships
Jugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 04:38 PM   #93
Scarl3t
Senior Member
 
Scarl3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: Hachi-Roku
Location: Centurion
Posts: 116
Thanks: 27
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiaX View Post
toyota westville has not heard of this upgrade. They havent received a technical bulletin from toyota SA. Anyone in KZN did this upgrade?
Talk to Ryan, he had his done in Durban
Scarl3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 04:26 AM   #94
brian_c_m
Senior Member
 
brian_c_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Toyota 86 - Silver High Spec
Location: Johannesburg - South Africa
Posts: 125
Thanks: 43
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So I finally had my software updated on Wednesday at Toyota Edenvale. They hadn't heard of the update either until I told them about it and had to forward them the pics DrSutra posted before they even believed me. And even after that it took close on 3 weeks before they could have it done.

Anyway, as far as the update goes, I will say that there is a subtle difference in the mid range. but noticeable enough if you have a good feel for how the car responded before the update. That slight flat spot after shifting from high revs has practically disappeared. The most important thing though is that my injectors will hopefully have a much longer life now.

I'm still annoyed though at how many of us battled to find/convince dealers that this update even existed and without this forum, most would probably still be driving around without it.
brian_c_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 04:41 AM   #95
GeeTee86
86 Nut
 
GeeTee86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: 86 Satin 6MT High
Location: South Africa - Centurion
Posts: 666
Thanks: 98
Thanked 179 Times in 110 Posts
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Its because they don't pay attention to the service bulletins from Toyota.
GeeTee86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:00 AM   #96
riyal
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 2013 Toyota 86 High MT
Location: Stanger, South Africa
Posts: 49
Thanks: 23
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
sup gents!

Just did my first service last week at Killarney Toyota in Stanger, they managed to find the software update but i did have to take my car in on two days. lol! they didnt have all the parts for a service! so if any of the durban guys having a problem finding the software update just get your dealership to call them and see what they can do.

other than that i noticed very little from the remap other than the mid range feels better. somehow i feel like the throttle is slightly softer between 0 and 25%, makes it somewhat easier to cruise with on a long trot. but I could be imagining it. still need to punt it around a bit.

anywho, cars is on the button and is so much stronger down on the coast! absolutely loving it. now im biding my time for an induction and exhaust.
riyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:14 PM   #97
Ryan86
Road Warrior
 
Ryan86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: Toyota 86 Satin Pearl White
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 1,651
Thanks: 181
Thanked 544 Times in 359 Posts
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Dealers cannot claim from TSA as part of your service plan to do the upgrade prior to service, so hence many will decline to assist until 15000km service.
Those helpful dealers or if you have a good relationship with your Workshop Manager, will do this free for you.
The upgrade gives slight improvement to mid, but drops off at top end quicker.
Red line is the run after SW upgrade.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Ryan86; 07-24-2013 at 04:50 AM.
Ryan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Ryan86 For This Useful Post:
BentAnat (07-24-2013), Kev01 (07-24-2013), Nik27 (07-23-2013), Shadeslayer (08-04-2020)
Old 07-24-2013, 03:47 AM   #98
sav
Official anti-BS squad
 
sav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: Toyota 86 High 6MT
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,363
Thanks: 374
Thanked 452 Times in 309 Posts
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Eish Ryan, do you want us to do handstands or what?
__________________
Toyota 86 High 6MT (Satin Pearl White)
95RON SAV Tuned
sav is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unichip MapsQ software Unichip Jack Software Tuning 191 12-28-2015 07:28 PM
So what ECUtek software do you need to make changes to the ECU yourself? seven Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 30 01-04-2013 11:58 AM
Subaru BRZ, Scion FR-S Stuck With a Software Glitch MarkWF1 Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 10 10-11-2012 09:23 AM
EcuTek preparing to release PRO ECU software for BRZ Visconti Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 335 08-13-2012 11:34 PM
Software Gauges shirouxkamui Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 1 08-12-2012 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.