follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 10-04-2012, 11:55 AM   #1
SkullWorks
Banned

Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
SMOG Issues

I'm a Cali resident, and having bought my car out of state, it is mandated that i have to pass a smog check before the registration can take effect on my vehicle. (yes even though it is on a MSO and is shown on the title as a California Emissions equipped vehicle)

So i take it to my friend 2 doors down that smogs all my personal and work vehicles, and go about my day.....several hours later he calls me to come get my car and says it barely passed, and man he wasn't kidding.

both the NOx readings and the HC's were within several points of failing, and I guess they had to run it several times to get it to pass...

Vehicle has the sound diverter removed as well as the resonator that hangs below the intake elbow, this shouldn't affect the metered airflow, but may have affected the direction the air follows as it passes the MAF sampling tube...having the MAF in a section so close to a bend is problematic in that way, if it were in a longer straight section of tubing it wouldn't be as sensitive to turbulence,

Anyone else had issues with a Cali Smog test?

Any other ideas?
SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:20 PM   #2
jeebus

Drives: 2015 Mustang GT (on order)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I had to smog mine too since I bought from out of state. It passed with flying colors. The NOx and HC were well within normal.