follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing

Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing Relating to suspension, chassis, and brakes. Sponsored by 949 Racing.

User Tag List

Old 09-12-2018, 10:19 PM   #1
Lol_Traction

Drives: 2015 Scion FRS
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Raising the car causing clunking sounds?

Hi all. First all, I’m pretty new to the chassis as a whole and consider myself a novice when it comes to suspension tuning. After buying the car I incrementally raised the ride height every month for a few months to where it sits now. Previous owner was about low and slow and I was not. Went from no gap and a slight tuck to about 3 fingers and possibly higher as I plan on getting some meaty tires for the 18x9.5s.

However I started to notice that there is some clunking and a sharp tap occasionally coming from the corners. Primarily in the rears but sometimes in the front. It occurs pretty randomly and only at low speeds especially when one side is under load (or potholes) and the other side isn’t like those speed bumps with a gap in the middle. I would take driver side wheels through the gap and the passenger side goes over the bump. I didn’t notice this very much when the car was lower.