Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Paying down payment with credit card?? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17341)

carlo1912 09-14-2012 07:48 PM

Paying down payment with credit card??

Guys, so I decided to put a down payment for a car. It is an out of state car and I'm currently away from USA. So the dealer asked me to pay the down payment using a credit card and he asked me about the details of my credit card such as card number, security code, etc.

Is it safe to provide him with such important information? What should I do? This is my first time buying a car out of state.

Really appreciate any comments and opinion. Thanks!

Re~Mix 09-14-2012 07:58 PM

I paid the down payment for my FRS with a credit card. However, I did this in person with the car 2 feet away from me.

If anything fishy happens, credit companies are real quick to lock down those charges and pester the dealer.

carlo1912 09-14-2012 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Re~Mix (Post 441284)
I paid the down payment for my FRS with a credit card. However, I did this in person with the car 2 feet away from me.

If anything fishy happens, credit companies are real quick to lock down those charges and pester the dealer.

So, even though I have to do it away from the dealer I would be safe, right? I mean if something bad happened I could simply call the bank.

Thanks!

switchlanez 09-14-2012 08:10 PM

You should be fine. I've had my number stolen twice (likely through magnetic readers planted behind card readers) and my bank refunded the fraudulent charges both times after I filled out some forms. I'd imagine this type of insurance is required by the gov't or at least standard practice among credit card companies.