Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   FR-S / BRZ vs.... (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   86 v 911 (1998 - 1999) (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34441)

Orange86er 04-22-2013 09:56 AM

86 v 911 (1998 - 1999)

With some smart shopping the price would be the same. Looking at the water cooled engine... 996.

What would you do?

Can anyone with experience of both comment?

n2oinferno 04-22-2013 10:27 AM

I have no experience in either yet. That said, maintenance and parts prices on a 14-15 year old Porsche would steer me in the direction of the 86. If you're paying the same for both vehicles, make sure you take into account that the Porsche just might need thousands of dollars of work in the near future.

norsamerican 04-22-2013 10:35 AM

The cost to maintain that porsche is astronomical. Take it from someone who has a family friend that is a world reknown Porsche mechanic aka Mike Callas. Not to mention you wouldn't want to daily drive the 996 if you expected it to hold any kind of value. What 996 did you find that was comparable to the price of the FRS? Any 996 that is less that 40K is going to have alot of miles, wear & tear, and probably need alot of maintenance work.

Turbowned 04-22-2013 10:36 AM

996? Ewww.

EAGLE5 04-22-2013 11:06 AM

I decided against the 911 because of maintenance costs for a daily driver. If you're just talking weekend cars, it becomes much more attractive. If you want to spend the money to put an LS1 into a 4WD 911, then it's awesome.

WolfpackS2k 04-22-2013 01:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by norsamerican (Post 882682)