Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Oil leak after wheel bearing repair (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=147575)

xyrodon 11-14-2021 09:38 AM

Oil leak after wheel bearing repair

Morning all,

I own a 2015 FRS with lots of mileage, over 200,000 km. My wheel bearing were very noisy so they were repaired at iGarage in Markham. Right after I got my car, it's been leaking oil like crazy. Any ideas or suggestion on the severity of this issue?

FLIPDADY 11-14-2021 09:42 AM

Have you taken it back to have them look at it?

Sent from my LM-G900 using Tapatalk

soundman98 11-14-2021 11:28 AM

My childhood dog was put down after I graduated. Does that make it the schools fault for allowing me to graduate?

Petah78 11-14-2021 11:29 AM

Normally speaking, a wheel bearing repair/replacement should not have anything to do with oil leaks, not that i can think of anyways.

soundman98 11-14-2021 11:40 AM

But then, I've never had a 200k km vehicle that didn't leak something all the time.

Purist 11-14-2021 03:17 PM

We're not talking about a rear wheel bearing and a diff oil leak are we???

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Ultramaroon 11-14-2021 03:33 PM

OP, are you saying it didn't leak at all when you took it in for the wheel bearing, and now it leaks like crazy? Like others have asked, from where is it leaking. If it's NOT the engine, then don't drive it back. Have it trailered because the transmission and diff don't have a convenient way to check oil level. If it's from the engine, then as long as you know there's oil on the dipstick, and it sounds normal, it's probably safe to drive a short distance.

xyrodon 11-14-2021 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultramaroon (Post 3481232)