Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Anybody stretched seat springs for headroom? How did it work out? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138489)

gshopper 01-08-2020 03:37 PM

Anybody stretched seat springs for headroom? How did it work out?

(repost from interior/ cosmetic mods forum)

I just got a 2019 BRZ with PP. I am a tall driver and might track the car, so I am looking for ways to increase headroom. I read that some members stretched the springs under the seat and got an extra inch or so.

I haven't seen a lot of pictures, so I am a little unsure of how much to stretch the springs. Or how to do so other than grab and pull hard. Did you use tools?

And how did it work out? Any regrets? I am interested in doing this but I would love to benefit from anybody's experience first.

Thanks.

Glenn

PetrolioBenzina 01-08-2020 05:05 PM

A nice hard fart, nearly a shart, will give you an inch or so by itself.

sunami88 01-08-2020 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PetrolioBenzina (Post 3288949)
A nice hard fart, nearly a shart, will give you an inch or so by itself.

That would cause lift though, wouldn't it?

PetrolioBenzina 01-08-2020 05:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sunami88 (Post 3288950)

Correct, but you crater the seat lower in the process.

NWFRS 01-08-2020 08:13 PM

Stretching the seat springs is a well-known trick to lowering seat height. Less well-known but equally effective is to cut a round hole in the floor and weld a wok to the bottom of the seat for maximum tilt/positioning options, effectively turning it into a captain's chair. This has the added benefit of stealthy poops in the Walmart parking lot.

soundman98 01-08-2020 08:23 PM

Quote: