Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Engine, Exhaust, Transmission (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   How to do E85 correctly? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45155)

Anthony 08-25-2013 01:24 AM

How to do E85 correctly?

Either the search engine is not very good, or there isn't a single thread on this whole site with "E85" in the title. That doesn't seem right. Anyway...

Pending a local gas station responding to my email and confirming they do indeed offer E85, I'm strongly considering making the switch. No flex fuel kit for me, 100% E85. I have zero experience with the stuff, outside of my hatred for E10. So I'm wondering:

What all needs to be done for a proper, long term, 100% E85 setup? I know you can just get a tune and go, but I want to do it right.

Is a tune alone all I need for smooth running performance and longevity, or should I seriously consider injectors, sensors, etc.? If so, what makes the additional parts necessary?

I believe I read somewhere that E85 doesn't get as good of mileage per gallon as regular gasoline. I'm not even sure if that's true or not, much less whether a tune would bring the efficiency closer to ethanol-free numbers. I don't really care about fuel economy, but considering this one station will be the only one within a 100 mile radius of my house, I'll pretty much be tethered to this store. Not really a deal stopper, but something I definitely will need to be aware of.

I'm also open to and would appreciate any other insight to the mysterious world of E85-onlyness.

husker741 08-25-2013 01:28 AM

I heard people have had good luck with Visconti working on getting different fuel in our cars.

Anthony 08-25-2013 01:48 AM