Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   FR-S / BRZ vs.... (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   BRZ/FR-S vs. Datsun S30/280Z size and styling (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35028)

shiumai 04-28-2013 06:32 PM

BRZ/FR-S vs. Datsun S30/280Z size and styling

7 Attachment(s)
The GT86, FR-S and BRZ are the latest offerings in the genre of the 'affordable sports car'; and the level of enthusiasm and following that they've garnered in such a short time will surely cement its place in sports car history along with the other 'classics'.

The Nissan S30 (Datsun Z) is one member of that hall of fame, and I've been driving a 1978 280Z since 1985. The 280Z was the last in the line of the S30 model, and IMHO had already lost some of the 'fun, simple sports car' concept that started out with the original 240Z in 1969, with its ungainly crash bumpers and fuel injected engine vs. carbs. I consider the S30 body style 'classic' and timeless, with the later ZX models and latest iterations of the 300/350/370 a deviation from the original fun, low horsepower concept.

My 28-year relationship with the Z has been full of highs and lows, as maintaining a 35 year old car can be both expensive and time consuming. Okay for a project/weekend car or single-guy's car, but not so good for a 2nd family car (our main family car is a 2013 Subaru Outback in dark grey metallic).