Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Topping brake fluid (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=151158)

droopynips 09-20-2022 10:19 PM

Topping brake fluid

Hello guys,

new to this forum and new to car maintenance as a whole really. I have been driving an AT 2013 Scion FR-S, second owner since 2018, car has 85km on the odometer. It has been driving smooth, 0 issues so far, oil changed every 5km etc. but no other major maintenance done.

However, recently I have been getting intermittent brake light signal on the dash when I come to a stop ie, at traffic lights.

I read it could be my brake oil fluid needs to be topped up? I doubt my pads have been worn, as I drive just for commute and am very easy on the whip.

My question is then, if I were to top the oil up, can I just add oil to the canister, or do I have to drain the old oil out first completely? If I can simply add oil, the cap says DOT 3 oil, can I just add any brand of DOT 3 oil to it, or could it possibly cause an issue due to incompatible mixing from the previous fill?

Thanks guys and I love you all :threadjacked::party0030::w00t:

soundman98 09-20-2022 10:23 PM

brake fluid is supposed to be changed every 30k miles, per the manual.

it starts off clear. if it's black, it's likely time to change it.

but you're likely also getting low on brake pads, and there's not enough fluid to compensate. i'd definitely look over the entire brake system. at a minimum, replace the brake fluid, but be prepared to be doing build, pads, and possibly rotors as well.

droopynips 09-20-2022 10:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundman98 (Post 3548172)