Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Software Tuning (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=88)
-   -   Tuning Questions (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149608)

SeddyBRZ 04-28-2022 03:06 PM

Tuning Questions

I've been reading up on tuning over the last few days. I am a total noob when it comes to this stuff but I really want to get into it as I have an OFT. I have been reading several posts about little adjustments and also a thread by steve99 and several others.

I have a few questions that I haven't seen the answer to or perhaps I missed it (I apologize if I have).
  • What throttle settings do I data log at?
  • what should AFR be at cruising and WOT?
  • How do I adjust AFR? Is it done through the closed loop fuel map and adjusting timing?
  • What does adding more timing do vs retarding timing?
  • If making minor adjustments, what are the typical values to follow (ex: 1.00, 0.50, 0.01)
  • What is knock correction and MAF scaling and how do they work?
  • Is AFR, timing, and overall everything done different if running e85?
I understand that some if not all of these questions have been talked about before but if I could be pointed in the right direction for the harder to answer questions that would be great. I just want to dial in my OFT tune to work with my UEL and Intake. Keep in mind I am editing the stg2 e85 v4 tune off their website.

tomm.brz 04-28-2022 07:27 PM

you literally won t be able to tune yourself if you can t answer by yourself to any of your questions, sorry

Better to ask help directly by let the tuner do the work

ots tunes are already a good start to understand what it is usually modified