Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Wrecked my FR-S, now can't afford insurance (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37030)

Joetheegyptian 05-20-2013 02:17 PM

Wrecked my FR-S, now can't afford insurance

Some background info:
-I'm 20 years old
-put all my money as a down payment ($5,000)
-I've had over 15 tickets and 4 wrecks (my fault) in the past 5 years. 3 of those tickets and 2 of the wrecks were in the past 3 years.
-Since I have a bad record, my dad has insurance on the car but I drive.
-I'm a full time student
-I work 55 hours a week making minimum wage.
-I've been leasing the FR-S for 7 months

So a few days ago I rear ended a car and caused 7k worth of damage to my love. Insurance is fixing the car but I will have to get my own insurance. I've gotten quotes at around $800 per month! As a student, I can't afford to pay over $1100 per month to drive this awesome car. Since this car is leased, what options do I have? I can't imagine working all summer to buy a POS Civic and still pay $300 per month for liability. I'd appreciate any kind of advice.

zaptorque 05-20-2013 02:21 PM

http://assets.diylol.com/hfs/62b/5e2...ing-1e309e.jpg

polarstorm 05-20-2013 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joetheegyptian (Post 947704)
Some background info:
-I'm 20 years old
-put all my money as a down payment ($5,000)
-I've had over 15 tickets and 4 wrecks (my fault) in the past 5 years. 3 of those tickets and 2 of the wrecks were in the past 3 years.
-Since I have a bad record, my dad has insurance on the car but I drive.
-I'm a full time student
-I work 55 hours a week making minimum wage.
-I've been leasing the FR-S for 7 months