Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Tweeter install? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51394)

Prog 11-15-2013 08:35 AM

Tweeter install?

I'm about two steps above a total noob when it comes to audio, so I apologize in advance for the dumb question. I've only done one speaker install on an S13 with no tweeters, so I've never installed tweeters. I've taken out the mid and the tweeter in my BRZ and noticed that when one is removed, the other doesn't work. So my question is, how do you installs mids/tweeters in our cars? (I just want to drop in new speakers, possibly add an amp and a sub later.) Do you have to cut the factory wires? Is there a guide somewhere? I've looked for a harness for it with no luck. Both the tweeters and the mids have plugs that go into them instead of just wires, and I know normal speakers don't have plugs, but do tweeters?

JPFr-s 11-19-2013 10:48 AM

I couldn't find any harnesses either.. The tweeter harness has 4 speaker wires going into it. 2 are coming from the headunit and 2 going back out to the mid. If you disconnect the tweeter, obviously you will have no sound to the mid. Just cut the wires and re-connect for your configuration. Use a meter to determine which are coming from the head unit to save a little time, as the colors are not the same on R and L sides. If you're running the factory head unit, don't expect much difference in sound quality, and remember that the factory mids are 2ohm. I took out the dash mids all together and ran a nice 2-way setup in front with a 10inch sub in back. Not too pricey and sounds pretty nice. Of course this is with a new headunit and some amps driving all of the channels.. Good luck.

Prog 11-21-2013 08:50 AM

Quote: