follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook. Interested in the FT-1? Check out FT1Club
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
OEM Audio Plus
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2013, 03:49 PM   #1
Lverasky
RedBunny w/ Wing
 
Lverasky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 86
Location: >PDX< OR
Posts: 962
Thanks: 345
Thanked 172 Times in 148 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Pioneer AVIC-X950BH?

Had anyone hear anything about this new Pionner AVIC-X950BH unit yet? When is the release, and how hard is it install to the FRS?
__________________
Firestorm FR-S MT【PDX, OR】唔叼到你以为自己好啉型,叼那星 hehe u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎,冚家拎. u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎
Lverasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:56 AM   #2
mbh1101
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: Raven 6mt FR-S
Location: Chester, Va.
Posts: 145
Thanks: 31
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
I saw something about pioneer releasing some new products in early spring. It could be around then. I just installed the avh-x5500bhs, first radio install ive ever done and it was incredibly easy, and im pretty sure that all the pioneer wireharnesses are the same.
mbh1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:24 AM   #3
Lverasky
RedBunny w/ Wing
 
Lverasky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 86
Location: >PDX< OR
Posts: 962
Thanks: 345
Thanked 172 Times in 148 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbh1101 View Post
I saw something about pioneer releasing some new products in early spring. It could be around then. I just installed the avh-x5500bhs, first radio install ive ever done and it was incredibly easy, and im pretty sure that all the pioneer wireharnesses are the same.
Do you have instruction for installation? Also, if I bought the unit, can I bring it to Cartoys or BestBuy have those people install for me??? I am so curious.
__________________
Firestorm FR-S MT【PDX, OR】唔叼到你以为自己好啉型,叼那星 hehe u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎,冚家拎. u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎
Lverasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:38 PM   #4
xitaliapunk
Member
 
xitaliapunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: '13 BRZ, WR Blue, '06 Acura RSX VBP
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I know Best Buy will install it even if it's bought elsewhere.
xitaliapunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 01:20 AM   #5
cruzinbill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Argento 6spd FR-S
Location: AR
Posts: 676
Thanks: 72
Thanked 176 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by peace_noel View Post
Do you have instruction for installation? Also, if I bought the unit, can I bring it to Cartoys or BestBuy have those people install for me??? I am so curious.
I'd suggest a local stereo shop over bestbuy. Their work is terrible as Burger King cooking you a rack of ribs.
cruzinbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:35 PM   #6
ecko04
Seems Legit
 
ecko04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: Toyota
Location: Here & There
Posts: 789
Thanks: 168
Thanked 369 Times in 221 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruzinbill View Post
I'd suggest a local stereo shop over bestbuy. Their work is terrible as Burger King cooking you a rack of ribs.
That's a rash generalization. All Best Buy installers aren't idiots, some are MECP Certified, represent their respective patch well, and actually know what they're doing. Once again, it is not a reflection of the brand but a reflection of the installer. Sure there are horror stories out there, but what installer can honestly say that nothing has ever gone wrong during the course of an install? Probably none. I used to be an installer at Circuit City for a few years, prior to their closing, and I also was an lead installer at Best Buy. I still keep my Master level MECP and ASE A6 certifications current. To add to that, I have a few degrees in computer science, software engineering and electrical engineering. Even though I am beyond retail and commercial level installs now, I had many of the degrees and certifications while I was an installer at Best Buy and would often run across the same generalizations as the one you made so I take exception to it. I have completed over 1000 remote starts in 4 years with Best Buy, countless in-dash radios, amplifiers, etc. I worked on high end Ferraris, Bentleys, boats, commercial vehicles, motors homes, Winnebagos, you name it and I worked on it and I had 0 damage claims. There were some installers, that I worked with, that I wouldn't let change a tail light in my vehicle, and there were some that I would trust to do anything because I was familiar with the level of work they completed. The same is true for any place of business and I can't stress enough the importance of dialog with installers.

To the OP, as with all things, I would feel the place out and ask a ton of questions prior to letting anyone touch my vehicle. This goes for a big box retailer like Best Buy and local shops. A benefit of most shops, is that they have insurance so if they FUBAR it, they pay to fix it but 99.9% of the time, your install will go off without a hitch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peace_noel View Post
Had anyone hear anything about this new Pionner AVIC-X950BH unit yet? When is the release, and how hard is it install to the FRS?
As with anything I suggest you check it out in person, i'm sure a local electronics retailer will have them on display when they come out. I would also read up on the differences between the X940 and X950, they may be minimal. If you want to learn how to do things yourself, there are some DIY's on installing aftermarket radios that you can look over now in preparation for when you get your head unit. If it looks like foreign language after a few reads and a few questions, i'll be happy to guide you along.
ecko04 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ecko04 For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (03-21-2013)
Old 03-20-2013, 01:41 PM   #7
dabocx
Senior Member
 
dabocx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Scion FRS
Location: United States
Posts: 1,202
Thanks: 541
Thanked 238 Times in 179 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Really nice unit, are you just adding the headunit or changing out the system?

I was hoping for them to continue the Appradio line, I really liked the appradio 2 but it was too laggy.
dabocx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 02:11 PM   #8
ecko04
Seems Legit
 
ecko04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: Toyota
Location: Here & There
Posts: 789
Thanks: 168
Thanked 369 Times in 221 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabocx View Post
Really nice unit, are you just adding the headunit or changing out the system?

I was hoping for them to continue the Appradio line, I really liked the appradio 2 but it was too laggy.
I like the Appradio but like you said it's too laggy. Pioneer really screwed the pooch with the 1st Appradio, they were horrible. They did better with the Appradio 2 but shortly after they were released, Pioneer halted sales and issued a recall to do an update. It was a good idea poorly implemented.
__________________
No build thread. I don't want to be reminded of how much money I spent.
[insert profound quote here]
ecko04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 03:06 PM   #9
Lverasky
RedBunny w/ Wing
 
Lverasky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 86
Location: >PDX< OR
Posts: 962
Thanks: 345
Thanked 172 Times in 148 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabocx View Post
Really nice unit, are you just adding the headunit or changing out the system?

I was hoping for them to continue the Appradio line, I really liked the appradio 2 but it was too laggy.

I want to know how this unit works on performance and functionally...I heard good things about the Z140 alot from differnt forum. Since the Z150 just came out, seem lots updates here and there. Just asking if anyone had the Z150 installed yet or not.

But the price on 950BH is cheaper...would probably go for the 950Bh if I can.
__________________
Firestorm FR-S MT【PDX, OR】唔叼到你以为自己好啉型,叼那星 hehe u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎,冚家拎. u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎
Lverasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:03 PM   #10
TRD_86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 86 white
Location: ca
Posts: 726
Thanks: 69
Thanked 128 Times in 93 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by peace_noel View Post
I want to know how this unit works on performance and functionally...I heard good things about the Z140 alot from differnt forum. Since the Z150 just came out, seem lots updates here and there. Just asking if anyone had the Z150 installed yet or not.

But the price on 950BH is cheaper...would probably go for the 950Bh if I can.
Pioneer top of the Line:
2012 model Z140 @~$600. I like this deal
2013 model Z150 @~ $980. Will see price drop a little.
TRD_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 07:21 PM   #11
ecko04
Seems Legit
 
ecko04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: Toyota
Location: Here & There
Posts: 789
Thanks: 168
Thanked 369 Times in 221 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by peace_noel View Post
...and how hard is it install to the FRS?
Might come in handy but i'll follow-up with you
Attached Images
File Type: pdf scn081.pdf (331.7 KB, 207 views)
ecko04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:16 PM   #12
cruzinbill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Argento 6spd FR-S
Location: AR
Posts: 676
Thanks: 72
Thanked 176 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I went with the X5500BHS and added the U250 for nav. Its a better deal IMO than the Z140. The Z140 I think sucks for what it is. The Z150 still isnt out so cant say on that. So I say get one of the dvd players and add the nav unit.
cruzinbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:15 PM   #13
abutterman
Senior Member
 
abutterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited - WRB, MT
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 58
Thanked 171 Times in 136 Posts
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecko04 View Post
That's a rash generalization. All Best Buy installers aren't idiots, some are MECP Certified, represent their respective patch well, and actually know what they're doing. Once again, it is not a reflection of the brand but a reflection of the installer. Sure there are horror stories out there, but what installer can honestly say that nothing has ever gone wrong during the course of an install? Probably none. I used to be an installer at Circuit City for a few years, prior to their closing, and I also was an lead installer at Best Buy. I still keep my Master level MECP and ASE A6 certifications current. To add to that, I have a few degrees in computer science, software engineering and electrical engineering. Even though I am beyond retail and commercial level installs now, I had many of the degrees and certifications while I was an installer at Best Buy and would often run across the same generalizations as the one you made so I take exception to it. I have completed over 1000 remote starts in 4 years with Best Buy, countless in-dash radios, amplifiers, etc. I worked on high end Ferraris, Bentleys, boats, commercial vehicles, motors homes, Winnebagos, you name it and I worked on it and I had 0 damage claims. There were some installers, that I worked with, that I wouldn't let change a tail light in my vehicle, and there were some that I would trust to do anything because I was familiar with the level of work they completed. The same is true for any place of business and I can't stress enough the importance of dialog with installers.

To the OP, as with all things, I would feel the place out and ask a ton of questions prior to letting anyone touch my vehicle. This goes for a big box retailer like Best Buy and local shops. A benefit of most shops, is that they have insurance so if they FUBAR it, they pay to fix it but 99.9% of the time, your install will go off without a hitch.
i used to work at a best buy as well and it was basically the same. We had 2 guys there that were absolutely amazing and never had any issues. Then they took this idiot sales person and made him an installer and he actually did a simple deck install on my old car and it took him 3 hours and ended up disconnecting all my lights. The other guy was like we don't touch the lights... then he looked at it and was like holy shit he's retarded. This guy then went on to puncture an airbag on an Audi while hardwiring a power cable for a portable gps... kinda hit or miss on who you end up with but there are sometimes some really good installers there.
abutterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:17 PM   #14
abutterman
Senior Member
 
abutterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited - WRB, MT
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 58
Thanked 171 Times in 136 Posts
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
anyways the x950 does look pretty nice. i used to have a z120 with the old mapping software and it was pretty good. they use navteq now and support the iphone 5, although kinda ghetto rigged and they seem pretty quick. i'd say go for it. Either that or a kenwood dnx6990hd. Specifically that one as it has the excelon audio enhancement feature.
abutterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:55 PM   #15
cfusionpm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Drives: Firestorm 6MT Scion FR-S
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 295
Thanked 452 Times in 261 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Looking to get this for my car, how is the navigation compared to say, an old Garmin?
__________________

2013 Firestorm 6MT Scion FR-S
cfusionpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 03:56 PM   #16
Lverasky
RedBunny w/ Wing
 
Lverasky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 86
Location: >PDX< OR
Posts: 962
Thanks: 345
Thanked 172 Times in 148 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfusionpm View Post
Looking to get this for my car, how is the navigation compared to say, an old Garmin?
Talked to someone at Cartoy today, seems this unit is very legit. The Navi is very sensitive and fast loading. I think I am going I get it, but wait for July 4th when this unit get below $700 or less.
__________________
Firestorm FR-S MT【PDX, OR】唔叼到你以为自己好啉型,叼那星 hehe u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎,冚家拎. u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎
Lverasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:51 PM   #17
cfusionpm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Drives: Firestorm 6MT Scion FR-S
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 295
Thanked 452 Times in 261 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
It's around 700 pretty regularly on amazon. 709.95 right now. I'm picking one up as soon as I get cash for some things I'm selling.
__________________

2013 Firestorm 6MT Scion FR-S
cfusionpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:08 PM   #18
TRD_86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 86 white
Location: ca
Posts: 726
Thanks: 69
Thanked 128 Times in 93 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by peace_noel View Post
I want to know how this unit works on performance and functionally...I heard good things about the Z140 alot from differnt forum. Since the Z150 just came out, seem lots updates here and there. Just asking if anyone had the Z150 installed yet or not.

But the price on 950BH is cheaper...would probably go for the 950Bh if I can.
The 950 is a good unit, but for me currently w/ S3 android I'm debating to get one of these best deal z140 @$600 (amazon) vs new z150 @ $800 (local). Should I go for z150 ?
TRD_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:01 PM   #19
Lverasky
RedBunny w/ Wing
 
Lverasky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 86
Location: >PDX< OR
Posts: 962
Thanks: 345
Thanked 172 Times in 148 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRD_86 View Post
The 950 is a good unit, but for me currently w/ S3 android I'm debating to get one of these best deal z140 @$600 (amazon) vs new z150 @ $800 (local). Should I go for z150 ?
From the unit description, seems like Z150 has a faster processor, and better signal reception. For sure if spend extra $200, I would definitely go for Z150.
__________________
Firestorm FR-S MT【PDX, OR】唔叼到你以为自己好啉型,叼那星 hehe u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎,冚家拎. u know what the 忽 i'm saying 冚家拎
Lverasky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lverasky For This Useful Post:
TRD_86 (04-01-2013)
Old 04-02-2013, 08:25 AM   #20
Skippman
Senior Member
 
Skippman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: GBS BRZ Limited
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 278
Thanks: 47
Thanked 46 Times in 40 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You lost me when it mentioned NAVTEQ. Never again.
Skippman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:40 AM   #21
cfusionpm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Drives: Firestorm 6MT Scion FR-S
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 295
Thanked 452 Times in 261 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skippman View Post
You lost me when it mentioned NAVTEQ. Never again.
Why is that? My only nav experience has been with a 2008 garmin that has never had its maps updated. POI is useless, but otherwise it works pretty well. I just hate having something blocking my view (and reflecting off the windshield at night). I figure two birds one stone to get a better sounding deck with built in nav.
__________________

2013 Firestorm 6MT Scion FR-S
cfusionpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:00 AM   #22
Skippman
Senior Member
 
Skippman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: GBS BRZ Limited
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 278
Thanks: 47
Thanked 46 Times in 40 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
NAVTEQ has a tedency to use outdated maps. They're the number one vendor of OEM maps for the major car companies. If you ever price a map update from them be prepared to cry. The one for my Jeep was over $300. They're also VIN locked so you have to purchase it from a dealer. All in all not a very good busines model TO ME. Your milage may very. All I know is half the time on my commute to and from work it shows me driving off road on a highway that's been there for a few years now.
Skippman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pioneer AVIC-X930BT JPxM0Dz Canada Classifieds 7 03-19-2013 04:20 PM
Help with after market Pioneer AVIC X940BT jimgfl Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 23 12-22-2012 10:58 AM
Pioneer AVIC-X940BT confirmation FR-Shadow Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 35 11-29-2012 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.