follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Off-Topic Discussions > Other Vehicles & General Automotive Discussions

Other Vehicles & General Automotive Discussions Discuss all other cars and automotive news here.

User Tag List

Old 12-14-2012, 09:44 AM   #1
Texas BRZ
Sports Car = Anti-Drug

Drives: 2014 Honda CBR600RR
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
May Give Up FR-S For Karting

Hello FT86Club,

As some of you may know, I've been tracking my own personal car(s) for the past 3 years now... And I just recently completed my 6th two-day DE event with the FR-S (approximately 28-30+ two-day events overall).

And now I've come to the point of questioning myself.

Yes, I've gained some solid knowledge and experience to become a much better driver with the help of my DE organization(s) / Instructors. And I have no regrets for all the time and money I've given up for this particular hobby and its benefits / enjoyment.

Truth is, I'm starting to feel that tracking one's own personal car on a consistent basis may likely be a rich man's hobby and pastime. Maintaining the car and always owning up to covering parts that may break and cost a fortune... Unfortunately, I don't have the knowledge or motivation to do some of the more technical labor to keep up with the car, and no telling how much stress I'd have to take on if I'd even purchase a cheap beater (or an older Miata). And then my heart would desire to get into racing, which could again take some good money.

I try to be modest about this fact, but I tend to be a highly competitive individual... Although I've struggled in accomplishing many dreams from the past.