follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook. Interested in the FT-1? Check out FT1Club
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86SPEED
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2012, 06:30 PM   #1
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
OFFICIAL Torque Android app PID/Misc Thread

For the BEST tablet mount for the Nexus 7, visit this post!: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showp...&postcount=436

List of confirmed working PID(s) can be found in the second post.
Frequently Asked Questions can be found in the third post.
Custom made themes can be found in the third post.

As many of you know, and I'm sure many of you don't know, there is an App called Torque/Torque Pro on the Android market for Android based devices.

To sum it up, the app allows the user to have access to hundreds of readings from the cars factory sensors, and can allow for data logging and other cool features, you will find the description pulled directly from the app below.

What are the benefits of this app?

Allow for data logging to help with trouble shooting
An alternative to expensive gauges which take time to set up.
Good for anyone that wants a basic idea of what's going on with their cars.

i.e. I plan on mounting a Nexus 7 in my car, for the only purpose of a "Gauge Pod" and maybe the use of navigation. This is actually very similar to the Nissan GT-R's setup. (You can monitor specific readings through the head unit and have the ability to customize it your preference.)

There are various reasons as to why I'm starting this thread;

- The main focus of this thread is to have area where we can discuss the manufacturer specific PID's for OBDII, I'm not entirely sure if FRS/BRZ PID's are the same. The app comes standard with a bunch of features, but to get the good stuff we need access to the PID's which tend to be very hard to get. I'm hoping with the help of the large community we can gain access to PID's like the Engine Oil Temperature (EOT), to be able to have a live reading of our cars EOT. I plan on maintaining a list of PID's that are confirmed to work with our vehicles.
UPDATE: Oil Temp PID has been determined.

- We can also use this thread as a universal thread for anyone having troubles with app, OBDII BT transmitter and other problems.

-Discuss current setups such as your layout on torque, mounts, devices, transmitters.

There's many benefits of this thread, and hopefully with the help of the community we can get access to an advanced list of PID's for our cars.

Here is the app description;

Quote:
Measure BHP, Torque & 0-60
Clear car OBD faults
View engine data in Google Earth

See what your car is doing in realtime, get OBD fault codes, car performance, sensor data and more!
Torque is a vehicle / car performance / diagnostics tool and scanner that uses an OBD II Bluetooth adapter to connect to your OBD2 engine management / ECU
Layout your own dashboard with the widgets / gauges you want!
It can use the GPS to provide tracker logs with OBD engine logging so you can see what you were doing at any point in time
It can also show and reset a DTC / CEL / fault code like a scantool. Helps you fix your car and helps keep repair costs down!
Torque also features:
* Dyno / Dynomometer and Horsepower/HP & Torque
* Can read Transmission Temperatures (vehicle dependant)
* 0-60 speed timings - more accurate than just using plain old GPS - see how fast your car is (or truck )
* CO2 emissions readout
* Customisable dashboard & profiles
* Video your journey using the Track Recorder plugin with onscreen OBDII data overlay - a black box for your car/truck!
* Automatically send GPS tagged tweets directly to twitter (for example if you are going on a road trip)
* Massive fault code database for lookup of fault codes from different manufacturers
* Theme support (choose from different themes to change the look of your dashboard)
* Send logging information to web or email CSV/KML for analysis via excel / openoffice reader
* Heads up display / HUD mode for night time driving
* Compass (GPS Based) that won't suffer magnetic interference
* GPS Speedometer/Tracking and realtime web upload capability - see what you were doing and your engine, at a point in time
* Turbo boost feature for vehicles that support MAP and MAF sensors (VW & Golf / Audi / Seat etc supported)
* Alarms and warnings (for example if your coolant temperature goes over 120C whilst driving) with voice/speech overlay
* Car dock support
* Graph data
* MPG
* Able to share screenshots to Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Email, etc
* AIDL API for third party apps, A simple Telnet interface for developers to talk to the adapter, and an OBD scanner.
* Works on tablet devices like the Motorola Xoom, Dell Streak, Samsung Galaxy Tab and Nook
Works on any vehicle that uses the OBD 2 standard (most vehicles built after 2000, but can work for vehicles as far back as 1996) if in doubt check with your manufacturer first or look for 'OBD2' on written on a big white label in your engine bay
Works on vehicles made by Ford, VW, GM/Vauxhall/Opel, Chrysler, Mercedes, Volkswagen, Audi, Jaguar, Citroen, Peugoet, Skoda, Kia, Mazda, Lexus, Subaru, Renault, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Honda, Hyundai, BMW, Toyota, Seat, Dodge, Jeep, Pontiac and many more vehicle makes, European, US, Far East, etc. Some vehicle ECUs may support more/less features than others
The app needs a Bluetooth OBD2 adapter to work. The adapter is small and plugs into the diagnostics socket on the car which gives your phone access. You can find a list of adapters on: http://torque-bhp.com/wiki/Bluetooth_Adapters (Garmin EcoRoute HD adapters not supported)
If you buy one of the cheap china OBD2 ELM327 bluetooth adapters from ebay / amazon, then make sure you have a good returns policy with the seller
Some of the best reliable OBD2 / OBD adapters are the Scantool.net adapter, the OBDKey, and PLX Devices, OBDLink, Bluetooth, ELM327 and other adapters are supported - search on google for them
More features added every release - there are forums at http://torque-bhp.com/forums/ - if you want something added then let me know and I'll try to add it if it is possible! Vehicle ECUs vary in the amount of sensors supported
*PLEASE NOTE* Any reports of hanging or reboots after quitting the app is due to a bug in HTC devices and Galaxy Tab,this can be triggered by using the Pandora/Vlingo/Other BT apps. Disabling Pandoras new bluetooth settings fixes the problem, but HTC/Samsung need to release a fix.Please contact their support and request a fix,Thanks!Changelog:
http://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforu...iewtopic&t=3.0
Let's please keep this thread flame free and ON TOPIC.

Last edited by Brody602; 11-05-2013 at 03:44 PM.
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to Brody602 For This Useful Post:
ali (03-16-2015), amram (04-06-2014), Black Tire (08-08-2014), blackfireball5 (03-31-2014), CxG (01-12-2017), Fly Guy (04-26-2013), ftc~brz (07-12-2013), gled21 (03-08-2016), jonnyozero3 (04-20-2013), Lischynski (10-28-2014), melon (02-16-2014), mid_life_crisis (09-09-2013), nexusatm (08-19-2015), themadscientist (11-28-2014), WillRacer1jz (11-13-2013), zoomzoomers (04-01-2013), \o/ (09-04-2014)
Old 12-03-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Oil Temperature PID credit to andreyiv:

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreyiv View Post
OBD2 Mode and PID: 2101
Minimum Value: -40
Maximum Value: 215 (this is just the maximum that this location can support, which does not mean the sensor can read that high)
Scale factor: x1
Unit type: C
Equation: AC-40 (no space between A and C; "AC" is the location within the response)
OBD Header: 7E0 (Auto also works, but seems to take longer)
PID setup for VERY accurate fuel remaining credit to developer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by developer View Post
It seems to be much more accurate than the default fuel percentage that is in Torque.

PID: 2129
Long name: Fuel Remain (or whatever you want)
Short name: Fuel Remain (or whatever you want)
Minimum Value: 0.0
Maximum Value: 100.0
scale: x1
Unit: Gal
Equation: ((A*13.2)/100)
OBD Header: 7c0

If you want the fuel remaining in Liters:
Unit: L
Equation: ((A*50)/100)

Last edited by Brody602; 03-20-2013 at 05:31 PM.
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to Brody602 For This Useful Post:
6pack (10-28-2014), adjusts (07-27-2017), ali (03-16-2015), blackfireball5 (03-31-2014), ChiefG (09-03-2014), CxG (01-12-2017), daiheadjai (09-10-2014), Draco-REX (04-22-2014), finch1750 (03-18-2014), Fly Guy (04-26-2013), fstlane (04-05-2015), garfull (09-16-2013), jonnyozero3 (04-20-2013), Joon525 (09-13-2017), LeeMaster (02-05-2013), Lischynski (10-28-2014), melon (02-16-2014), mountainside (08-23-2013), nexusatm (08-19-2015), P3tras (07-03-2015), Pacific (03-27-2014), Sideways (08-30-2016), t0dd (02-04-2013), Touge Factory (11-05-2013), Trunksse (01-11-2014), whataboutbob (07-20-2013), WillRacer1jz (11-13-2013), zoomzoomers (04-01-2013)
Old 12-03-2012, 06:31 PM   #3
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Frequently Asked Questions:
(Please note: Some of the answers provided are borrowed from other users, not just me.)
Q. How do I add extra PID's?
A. Open the Torque app and then hit the menu button. Select "Manage extra PIDs/Sensors" (should be second from the bottom).

Hit the menu key again and select "Add custom PID". Enter the PID information provided (And a full and short name of your choice).

Hit ok. The parameter will now be available for logging and real time display.

Q. How accurate are the readings, are they trustworthy?
A. Generally speaking any sensor related information should be accurate considering it is coming directly from your ECU. There is a slight lag/delay in receiving the information but nothing major, unless your racing competitively you may want actual gauges. I've tested the Boost and AFR gauges for accuracy in my brothers EVO X in comparison with his in car gauges, the readings I was getting on my tablet matched perfectly his in car gauges. When it comes to WHP that is a calculation based on the car specific information you input into the app, for an accurate reading, you'd to input exact weight, max RPM ect. The same applies to any other non sensor calculations.

Q. Will we be able to monitor Boost levels even if our car isn't a factory forced induction system?
A. Yes it shouldn't be an issue, our MAP sensor is what calculates these values. We are able to monitor our Vacuum produced and Boost is the same value as Vacuum except Vacuum is a negative value and Boost is a positive value therefore it should display real time boost information with any setup.

Q. The PID I've entered is in Celcius can I switch it to Fahrenheit?
A. Yes. To change the read out to Fahrenheit, go to Settings -> Units on the main screen for Torque and uncheck the checkmark that says something along the lines of Display In Celsius. All temperature readouts should change to Fahrenheit correctly.

Q. I don't have an option for OBD header in the custom PID, do I need this?
A. For certain PID's such as Engine Oil Temperature you need to input OBD header information, you'll need to purchase the Torque Pro App in order to be able to enter the OBD header information.

Custom made themes:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Credit to GT86vs944
  • Metric theme:Toyota_GT86_Theme_RC1.zip
    To use it you just need to extrackt the zip-file into the \.torque\themeDir folder. The folder might be hidden, so make sure your filebrowser shows also hidden files.
  • Dashboard:Toyota_GT86_Dashboard_metric_RC1.dash
    Put this file into the folder \.torque\dashboards\, then start Torque and got to "Realtime Information" > "Settings" choose "Layout Settings" and import the Layout/Dashboard.
In the imperial theme there is also 0-60mph time and 1/4 mile time on the "Home Screen".

They look like this:



Last edited by Brody602; 02-06-2013 at 03:45 PM.
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Brody602 For This Useful Post:
5hairpins (02-07-2013), 6pack (10-28-2014), ali (03-16-2015), ChiefG (09-03-2014), CxG (01-12-2017), mit_peid (02-09-2014), nexusatm (08-19-2015), ultra (12-17-2013)
Old 12-03-2012, 06:56 PM   #4
xn7485
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 1995 Acura Integra GS-R
Location: VA
Posts: 337
Thanks: 44
Thanked 94 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Getting a Nexus 7 this week, got a Proclip to use with it. Might be trading proclip mount for the beatrush one when it comes out. I think it's an awesome alternative to actual gauges.

There is no glare from the display, it's just the camera with sun right in front of it. Got the charger looped around behind and into glovebox charger. It's slightly in the way of headunit, but all corner touch controls are still operable.


This mount clips where center console joins with dash, and clips in vent. It's a little close to headunit, so I might 'upgrade' to Beatrush's mount that goes in the slit to the right a little.

Last edited by xn7485; 12-06-2012 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Picture
xn7485 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to xn7485 For This Useful Post:
Scooby South (12-24-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 07:09 PM   #5
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xn7485 View Post
Getting a Nexus 7 this week, got a Proclip to use with it. Might be trading proclip mount for the beatrush one when it comes out. I think it's an awesome alternative to actual gauges.

I'll put pictures up on this post after installation.
I'm waiting for my Nexus 7 to come in the mail, also in regards to pro clip, im curious how much their mount for the nexus 7 mounted on the pro clip would intervene with the HU? Their mount looks nice and sturdy. (Good for abrupt turns/movements ;D)

Edit: I'm also looking into if the app's boost gauge will support aftermarket turbos, because it supports factory turbo setups. Simply because I plan on going down the FI route. I did get some feedback on the Torque forums from a user but idk how reliable his info is.. If anyone can confirm this it would be appreciated. :happy0180:

Quote:
As far I can understand, AVO kit is beeing controlled from your factory ECM, probably your engine already has the needed sensors to measure boost (MAP) and intake air temperature (IAT), the 2 basic params to manage air forced configurations.
Obviously at this moment your MAP only reads negative pressure (vacuum), but probably is able to read positive (boost), and your ECM only requires a software upgrade from EcuTek when you install the turbo kit.
So, if you can already read the MAP vacuum values using an OBD2 tool, after the tune, you will be able to continue reading this data.

Last edited by Brody602; 12-03-2012 at 07:26 PM.
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:35 PM   #6
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BUMP
__________________
'13 6MT Firestorm FR-S
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:01 PM   #7
Freeman
Senior Member
 
Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Liberty Lake
Posts: 1,212
Thanks: 1,978
Thanked 534 Times in 325 Posts
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
What OBDII readers are you guys Using?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:08 PM   #8
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeman View Post
What OBDII readers are you guys Using?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
I have the ELM327 "MINI" from ebay, paid 12$ shipped, used it on my friends android device as im still waiting for my Nexus 7 to arrive, and it seemed to work perfect
__________________
'13 6MT Firestorm FR-S
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:17 PM   #9
Spartan65
USMC Veteran Semper Fi
 
Spartan65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2010 WR Blue STi
Location: NM it's part of the US
Posts: 955
Thanks: 801
Thanked 377 Times in 243 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Super Mini ELM327 OBD-II Interface Bluetooth V1.5 Auto Diagnostic Scanner For Windows PC
Arkon TAB-FSM Tablet Seat Bolt Mount

__________________
Spartan65 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Spartan65 For This Useful Post:
Brody602 (12-04-2012), Scooby South (12-24-2012), whataboutbob (07-20-2013)
Old 12-04-2012, 02:37 PM   #10
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan65 View Post
Super Mini ELM327 OBD-II Interface Bluetooth V1.5 Auto Diagnostic Scanner For Windows PC
Arkon TAB-FSM Tablet Seat Bolt Mount
Nice setup! Currently AVO is looking into seeing if they can acquire the vehicle PID's via the tunner edition of EcuTek for us ! ;D
__________________
'13 6MT Firestorm FR-S

Last edited by Brody602; 12-04-2012 at 04:48 PM.
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brody602 For This Useful Post:
Spartan65 (12-04-2012)
Old 12-04-2012, 03:25 PM   #11
Freeman
Senior Member
 
Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Liberty Lake
Posts: 1,212
Thanks: 1,978
Thanked 534 Times in 325 Posts
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan65 View Post
Super Mini ELM327 OBD-II Interface Bluetooth V1.5 Auto Diagnostic Scanner For Windows PC
Arkon TAB-FSM Tablet Seat Bolt Mount

hows that seat bolt mount working out? pretty sturdy or does it move around when cornering? I've been looking for some car mounts for my Nexus 7 and this one topped my list.
Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Freeman For This Useful Post:
CxG (01-12-2017)
Old 12-04-2012, 03:45 PM   #12
Spartan65
USMC Veteran Semper Fi
 
Spartan65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2010 WR Blue STi
Location: NM it's part of the US
Posts: 955
Thanks: 801
Thanked 377 Times in 243 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeman View Post
hows that seat bolt mount working out? pretty sturdy or does it move around when cornering? I've been looking for some car mounts for my Nexus 7 and this one topped my list.
Ok when cornering, but I was thinking of augmenting it for our third world country roads where I live.
__________________
Spartan65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:49 PM   #13
2forme
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: MA
Posts: 2,975
Thanks: 972
Thanked 1,550 Times in 841 Posts
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
BTW, I've been told PIDs are locked on ECUTek tunes. So unless it's a standardized parameter (ex. Coolant Temp), then you won't be able to access the signal.

2forme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:48 PM   #14
Brody602
Drift King
 
Brody602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '13 Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: Kirkland Lake Ontario, Canada
Posts: 617
Thanks: 435
Thanked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2forme View Post
BTW, I've been told PIDs are locked on ECUTek tunes. So unless it's a standardized parameter (ex. Coolant Temp), then you won't be able to access the signal.

Even with the tuner edition of EcuTek? If so this is unfortunate , if this is the case I believe Techstream is the only way..
__________________
'13 6MT Firestorm FR-S
Brody602 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brody602 For This Useful Post:
Barusu (04-21-2017)
 
Reply

Tags
android, app, boost, gauges, torque

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque app for android question Brody602 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 8 01-08-2015 05:53 PM
Torque for Android Freeman Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 7 11-23-2012 12:05 AM
Android Torque app questions Craig Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 1 11-12-2012 05:14 PM
Bluetooth OBD scanner and Android Torque - less than 25 shipped whataboutbob Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 7 10-20-2012 01:15 PM
Android Tablet + torque CharlieChaos Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 3 10-04-2012 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.