follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
OAKOS Automotive
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2012, 12:47 PM   #1
ft86-UAE
turbo FT-86
 
ft86-UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: ft-86
Location: Dubai
Posts: 91
Thanks: 76
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Map Sensor Hookup?

i want someone to help on how to hookup a map sensor for the BRZ for turbo application?
ft86-UAE is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ft86-UAE For This Useful Post:
ericvanderwoodsen (02-14-2013)
Old 10-12-2012, 09:56 PM   #2
Silverdub
Boostin'
 
Silverdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: FRS-T
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 337
Thanked 487 Times in 240 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Lift up small plastic cover on intake manifold take sensor out and replace with omni for honda k series motor. But in all honesty, if you have to ask this, i would not attempt to do this myself! Just sayin
Silverdub is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Silverdub For This Useful Post:
ft86-UAE (10-13-2012)
Old 10-12-2012, 10:45 PM   #3
ANTI_LAG
Senior Member
 
ANTI_LAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Ones with Big Turbos
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 149 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
If your asking about wiring up a gm 3 bar or something like that you'll need the Oem wiring diagram for the car and you can get the wiring for the map from google, but I would stick with a plug and play.
ANTI_LAG is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ANTI_LAG For This Useful Post:
ft86-UAE (10-13-2012)
Old 10-12-2012, 11:13 PM   #4
Roadstercycle
FRS Rear Mount Turbo
 
Roadstercycle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 FR-S Raven, Rear Turbo
Location: Torrance, Ca
Posts: 193
Thanks: 53
Thanked 108 Times in 49 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ft86-UAE View Post
i want someone to help on how to hookup a map sensor for the BRZ for turbo application?
I put a 4 bar S2000 Honda map sensor in my setup. plug and play.
3 bar will work fine too. Just because you need help with a map sensor does not mean you are not capable of building an awesome turbo setup. I wondered about the same thing when I did my rear turbo FRS. I just was not educated yet on the map sensor, now I know and so will you when your done. People will be asking you how to do things. Press on, live and learn.
Roadstercycle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Roadstercycle For This Useful Post:
bakerr6 (04-25-2014), ericvanderwoodsen (02-14-2013), ft86-UAE (10-13-2012), jamesm (11-23-2013), nix (10-15-2012), normancw (04-25-2014)
Old 10-13-2012, 05:58 AM   #5
ft86-UAE
turbo FT-86
 
ft86-UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: ft-86
Location: Dubai
Posts: 91
Thanks: 76
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks a lot for the Help
ft86-UAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:44 PM   #6
ANTI_LAG
Senior Member
 
ANTI_LAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Ones with Big Turbos
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 149 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadstercycle View Post
I put a 4 bar S2000 Honda map sensor in my setup. plug and play.
3 bar will work fine too. Just because you need help with a map sensor does not mean you are not capable of building an awesome turbo setup. I wondered about the same thing when I did my rear turbo FRS. I just was not educated yet on the map sensor, now I know and so will you when your done. People will be asking you how to do things. Press on, live and learn.
Please note that there is a different map sensor from the 01-05 (AP1) to the 06-09(AP2), you would want the AP2 if your ordering by this model, 06+SI would be the easiest way to make sure you dont get shipped the wrong map.

We will be having a thead on here soon where we list all the parts we have for the turbo community and we will have these.

Dave
ANTI_LAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:16 PM   #7
ft86-UAE
turbo FT-86
 
ft86-UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: ft-86
Location: Dubai
Posts: 91
Thanks: 76
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
i have fitted a Yamaha 2 bar map sensor (jet sky). and we are running fine now. Thanks.
ft86-UAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:08 PM   #8
Tradewind
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: 2005 Subaru RS25 Supercharged
Location: Mackay, Qld, Australia
Posts: 302
Thanks: 0
Thanked 50 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Go the Jetski parts - good work
__________________
Toyota 86 test driver
Tradewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:00 PM   #9
Cnidus
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86 GT (Black) :)
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
In fitting one of these is a full retune required immediately to rescale the map etc? Or can it be done as prep for a turbo install?
Cnidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:14 PM   #10
350zgoingFRS_lol
BIG Dreamer =D
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Drives: 2003 nissan 350z
Location: deployed
Posts: 19
Thanks: 70
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Just* from what i have read on here ( never done) when installing a new sensor you need a ROM to go with it?… correct me if wrong, but i was just reading the FI threads with this topic also…but I'm assuming its the calibrations for the new sensor to make everything happy again lol
350zgoingFRS_lol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:31 PM   #11
whitefrs
Love Boost!!!!!!!!
 
whitefrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Whiteout Scion FR-S
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 3,656
Thanks: 428
Thanked 875 Times in 595 Posts
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
New Map = you need a new tune
__________________
༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ I LOVE BOOST ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
whitefrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:35 AM   #12
Howardwei
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: Houston
Posts: 129
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
P3 external boost sensor

Does anyone know how to hook up the P3 external boost sensor? I was not awared of the Omni plug n play.So I bought the external sensor since the gauge vendor sells. them.
http://www.p3cars.com/add-ons-and-ac...-boost-sensor/


The analog sensor would hook up to the vacuum boost tap on the manifold. I assume cuttings will be done?
Howardwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 01:01 PM   #13
King Tut
Started as a joke...
 
King Tut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2012 BMW M3 Coupe
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 6,194
Thanks: 566
Thanked 4,303 Times in 2,375 Posts
Mentioned: 239 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to King Tut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardwei View Post
Does anyone know how to hook up the P3 external boost sensor? I was not awared of the Omni plug n play.So I bought the external sensor since the gauge vendor sells. them.
http://www.p3cars.com/add-ons-and-ac...-boost-sensor/


The analog sensor would hook up to the vacuum boost tap on the manifold. I assume cuttings will be done?
Hook vacuum line up to sensor, run wires to gauge, done. I prefer using a vacuum manifold, but you will probably need to purchase a T fitting and maybe some extra vacuum hose then cut an existing vacuum hose and put the T in with the output going to your external boost sensor.
__________________
- King Tut
Street/Track Car: Coming Soon || Race Car: 1987 BMW 325is SpecE30 || Daily Driver: 1987 BMW 325is || Tow Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
Sold Cars: 2012 BMW M3 || 2013 Subaru BRZ || 2012 Porsche Cayman R || 2009 Chevrolet Z06 || 2009 BMW M3 || 2004 BMW M3 || 2004 Nissan 350Z
King Tut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to King Tut For This Useful Post:
Howardwei (04-25-2014)
Old 04-25-2014, 05:01 PM   #14
Howardwei
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: Houston
Posts: 129
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yea I just have trouble with the wiring part. My jr kit has a pcv somewhere in that vacuum line from the manifold. I assume you just install the whole T joint with sensor upstream of that pcv?
Howardwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 06:17 PM   #15
King Tut
Started as a joke...
 
King Tut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2012 BMW M3 Coupe
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 6,194
Thanks: 566
Thanked 4,303 Times in 2,375 Posts
Mentioned: 239 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to King Tut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardwei View Post
Yea I just have trouble with the wiring part. My jr kit has a pcv somewhere in that vacuum line from the manifold. I assume you just install the whole T joint with sensor upstream of that pcv?
What your JR kit has is a check valve to prevent the crankcase from being pressurized. You need to place the T prior to the check valve and closer to the back of the intake manifold. As for wiring, my guess is you have a power, ground, and the wire actually sending the 0 to 5V signal to the gauge.
__________________
- King Tut
Street/Track Car: Coming Soon || Race Car: 1987 BMW 325is SpecE30 || Daily Driver: 1987 BMW 325is || Tow Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
Sold Cars: 2012 BMW M3 || 2013 Subaru BRZ || 2012 Porsche Cayman R || 2009 Chevrolet Z06 || 2009 BMW M3 || 2004 BMW M3 || 2004 Nissan 350Z
King Tut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:32 PM   #16
Howardwei
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: Houston
Posts: 129
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The p3 vent gauge has a auxiliary port for external boost sensor in the driver cabin. Just don't know how the wire from the actual sensor itself could be connect to in the engine bay that would correspond to one of the place where the aux wire inside the cabin need to go.
Howardwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 03:53 AM   #17
HRTROB
Senior Member
 
HRTROB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: Toyota 86
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 403
Thanks: 123
Thanked 203 Times in 115 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardwei View Post
The p3 vent gauge has a auxiliary port for external boost sensor in the driver cabin. Just don't know how the wire from the actual sensor itself could be connect to in the engine bay that would correspond to one of the place where the aux wire inside the cabin need to go.
There is a round hole covered by a plug in the firewall right below the brake fluid reservoir. You just have to remove the plug then you can use that hole to pass the wire from the boost sensor to your gauge
HRTROB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HRTROB For This Useful Post:
Howardwei (04-27-2014)
Old 04-27-2014, 01:09 AM   #18
Howardwei
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: Houston
Posts: 129
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Ah I see. and the auxkillary on the side of cabin from the sensor. do you just tap it into one of the plugs covered by trim near the clutch?
Howardwei is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is P0108 (MAP sensor) common ? regal Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 0 10-06-2012 11:21 AM
Understanding the BRZ/FR-S/86 Occupant Detection Sensor Turbowned Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 13 08-27-2012 09:58 PM
Bad MAF Sensor paulieblaze Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 3 08-23-2012 09:34 PM
How to fool airbag sensor? track_warrior Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 3 07-12-2012 10:46 PM
Stock O2 Sensor d1ck Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 1 07-11-2012 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.