follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2012, 01:06 AM   #57
developer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: BRZ Limited
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 127
Thanks: 72
Thanked 62 Times in 29 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Finished my install, used a Rydeen Mini and the head unit connector from http://ae64.com/Ordering.htm (David at SVXdc is great ).

I took my time pulling the trim clips out and the project took about 4.5 hours. The only things I would add to the other walk throughs is:
1) A metric deep socket set is helpful to remove the BRZ fascia.
2) Trim removal tools help (http://goo.gl/NTH6n)
3) Watch out for the area behind the head unit has some sharp metal brackets. I cut my hand in two places feeding the RCA cable

I wanted to thank everyone who did all of the hard work of posting pictures and write-ups of their installs and answering my questions. I would not have been able to do this project without your help.

Cheers
developer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to developer For This Useful Post:
tripjammer (01-29-2013)
Old 11-11-2012, 01:12 PM   #58
WolfSongX
Senior Member
 
WolfSongX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ Limited SWP
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 14
Thanked 84 Times in 36 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
A step by step DIY would be nice, I'm not sure if anyone has one of these in the works yet. I know most of the info's available in multiple posts but it's piecemeal and easy to miss something important.
I think this is going to be a popular mod on the BRZ especially since the functionality is pretty much there, just need to wire the camera.

When I get my parts together, I'll try to take a bunch of pictures and try to do a start to finish DIY.

There seems to be a lot of people doing this mod, so maybe we could put together a DIY thread with links and best practices/suggestions from the users who've already installed the camera to help out someone new?

Just a thought... thanks again to everyone who's contributed so far.
__________________
Derek

2013 BRZ Limited SWP
Professional driver in search of closed course..
WolfSongX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:03 PM   #59
Norkoastal
Never on Time Always Late
 
Norkoastal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: #silenced crickets
Location: Norcal
Posts: 577
Thanks: 86
Thanked 151 Times in 100 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Duo installed... Thx to all for the helpful posts... 3 hours was about right for install (power tap/ground from amp remote) .. Center mounted the cam and was able to adjust the lines to near center..
__________________
CO>CA Cartel

Last edited by Norkoastal; 11-23-2012 at 02:19 AM.
Norkoastal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 12:31 PM   #60
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,726
Thanks: 19,925
Thanked 8,265 Times in 4,336 Posts
Mentioned: 436 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sure74 View Post
Yes you have to delete them. The camera has 2 sets of wires that come cut, the green set when
connected activates the camera line delete. I soldered the green wires and covered them with a
small piece of heat shrink tubing (not pictured).


I just want to make sure and make no mistakes. Looking at your picture, I would just cover them up and thats it? Nothing else is needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sure74 View Post
I'd move it to the amp power, it is the darker of the green wires on the bigger plug
(next to the red wire which is power for the camera).

You have any idea what wire gauge is it? I am looking to get a wire tap but want to make sure I get proper size (12/14/16/20/22)

Thanks for the great write up, it has helped me decide
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:44 AM   #61
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,726
Thanks: 19,925
Thanked 8,265 Times in 4,336 Posts
Mentioned: 436 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
@sure74 or anyone else can help me answer my question on the previous post?

Thanks.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sportsguy83 For This Useful Post:
iBRZ (11-27-2012)
Old 11-27-2012, 12:34 AM   #62
iBRZ
fanboy
 
iBRZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: SWP Limited BRZ AT
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 125
Thanks: 118
Thanked 60 Times in 30 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foobar View Post
I have a Curb-Alert for that. It's a proximity sensor with an audible alert.
Sounds interesting -- Which system are you using specifically?
iBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:38 AM   #63
Foobar
SLO NO MO
 
Foobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: '13 DGM BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 2,922
Thanks: 218
Thanked 1,053 Times in 733 Posts
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazzzy View Post
Sounds interesting -- Which system are you using specifically?
Curb-Alert Mini

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Foobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:57 PM   #64
iBRZ
fanboy
 
iBRZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: SWP Limited BRZ AT
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 125
Thanks: 118
Thanked 60 Times in 30 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foobar View Post
Curb-Alert Mini

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
@Foobar -- Thank you sir.

BTW, for those who are interested, I found this to be the best price on the Curb-alert system. It's on sale with free shipping for the holiday.

http://www.curb-alert.com/order.php
iBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:47 PM   #65
Foobar
SLO NO MO
 
Foobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: '13 DGM BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 2,922
Thanks: 218
Thanked 1,053 Times in 733 Posts
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBRZ View Post
@Foobar -- Thank you sir.

BTW, for those who are interested, I found this to be the best price on the Curb-alert system. It's on sale with free shipping for the holiday.

http://www.curb-alert.com/order.php
Just an FYI - $149.99 is pretty much what everyone sells it at. I can't disclose who I purchased mine from, but I was trying to get a group buy going for FT86Club and with ten orders, we could've gotten it down to $119.99. I didn't get any interest at the time, and the forum was going through some changes with regard to vendor requirements on any commercial sales, so I dropped the inquiry. I ended up buying a couple for my own cars though, and still got it for less than $149.99, so you may want to see if anyone is willing to negotiate on price before buying.
Foobar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Foobar For This Useful Post:
iBRZ (11-27-2012)
Old 11-29-2012, 08:04 AM   #66
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,726
Thanks: 19,925
Thanked 8,265 Times in 4,336 Posts
Mentioned: 436 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
@SVXdc

Hey Dave, I am doing my install tomorrow and I was wondering, what power sources can I use to test my camera? I have a 19.2 Volts Li-ion tool battery, but I'm concerned its too much Voltage and would damage the camera. Aside from that, I have a car battery charger I could use and the car battery itself. (Car battery would be ideal I guess, just trying to see if other options work).

Thanks.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:13 PM   #67
sure74
Senior Member
 
sure74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: 2016 Toyota 4Runner Trail Premium
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Thanks: 65
Thanked 160 Times in 41 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
@SVXdc

Hey Dave, I am doing my install tomorrow and I was wondering, what power sources can I use to test my camera? I have a 19.2 Volts Li-ion tool battery, but I'm concerned its too much Voltage and would damage the camera. Aside from that, I have a car battery charger I could use and the car battery itself. (Car battery would be ideal I guess, just trying to see if other options work).

Thanks.
Just use the power from the car. If you have a spare car battery that would be fine also. Why risk blowing out your new camera?

Also, not sure what gauge the wires at the factory amp are.
sure74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:16 PM   #68
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,726
Thanks: 19,925
Thanked 8,265 Times in 4,336 Posts
Mentioned: 436 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sure74 View Post
Just use the power from the car. If you have a spare car battery that would be fine also. Why risk blowing out your new camera?

Also, not sure what gauge the wires at the factory amp are.
Oh yeah, I plan on using the car's battery. I was just trying to know if it was possible doing it with a higher Volt source without damaging it, and without having to move a TV to the garage.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:42 PM   #69
SVXdc
Radio wiring harness guru
 
SVXdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 1996 SVX L AWD
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 155
Thanks: 59
Thanked 94 Times in 46 Posts
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
Hey Dave, I am doing my install tomorrow and I was wondering, what power sources can I use to test my camera? I have a 19.2 Volts Li-ion tool battery, but I'm concerned its too much Voltage and would damage the camera. Aside from that, I have a car battery charger I could use and the car battery itself. (Car battery would be ideal I guess, just trying to see if other options work).
Yeah, 19.2 is probably a bit high. I wouldn't use that.

First, look around your house -- you might find you have something with an A/C adapter ("wall wart") that supplies 12 V.

Or you can pick up an adapter that plugs into a cigarette lighter outlet and has plain wires. Walmart has those fairly cheap. You might have a device sitting around your house that has that kind of plug to run the device in your car (just make sure the plug doesn't contain circuitry to drop the voltage to something less than 12 Volts).

If you're careful, you can take two pieces of small-gauge stranded wire, strip the ends, and shove one end of each wire into the rear of your factory radio harness (on the pins for +12V and ground).

For everyone else who's wondering why he asked about this -- I've heard from more than a few people who received bad cameras (usually the no-name Chinese ones from eBay). Some have arrived completely dead. Others were PAL even though they were labeled and sold as NTSC (Subaru's HU requires NTSC, even in countries that use PAL for TV). And some died just a few days after being installed.

So I recommend people first test the camera on a TV or monitor. Then test the camera using my harness but before installing the camera's long wire and definitely before drilling any holes or cutting any wires. That will make it much easier to return the camera if it doesn't work. Plus, your next camera may need a different size hole.

For a no-name camera, I would even go as far as temporarily clipping the camera to your license plate (or inside your rear window, if you're worried about it getting stolen), and simply string the cable over/around the seats into the trunk. Then drive around with it a few days, to make sure it doesn't die.
__________________
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SVXdc For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (11-29-2012), tripjammer (03-13-2013)
Old 11-29-2012, 07:23 PM   #70
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,726
Thanks: 19,925
Thanked 8,265 Times in 4,336 Posts
Mentioned: 436 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVXdc View Post
Yeah, 19.2 is probably a bit high. I wouldn't use that.....
David, thank you so much for your always kind help.

Have a great night.

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DGM BRZ limited on the way? Coheed Member's Car Journals 16 04-11-2013 02:09 AM
My LR BRZ Limited epson1 Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 11 09-08-2012 02:18 PM
BRZ Limited Available JohnATL Southeast 3 08-12-2012 11:32 AM
Want to buy a BRZ Limited AT kgc Northwest 1 06-16-2012 11:45 PM
DGM BRZ Limited (man) available Mitchs_86 Subaru BRZ General Forum 6 06-14-2012 12:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.