follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2012, 05:34 PM   #1
Flat Black VW
Senior Member
 
Flat Black VW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: NOVA
Posts: 840
Thanks: 214
Thanked 324 Times in 193 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
BRZ Back-up Camera and NAV Bypass SOLVED

So after spending my day off of work at work working on my car I have completed a back up camera and the DVD/NAV/VIM bypass.
If anyone tries this, I am NOT responsible for you blowing up your radio or car, try this at your own risk.

I started with running the backup camera, and was happy to find this perfect grommet for the wire. I will be using this grommet for my passport 9500ci also when I install that.


All the wires were hidden under the trunk cover and run with the factory license plate light wires up to the front of the car. This shows the trunk cover back on with no visible wires.


Camera:


Close-up:


For those wondering, this is a Rydeen Miny camera. I used this since they are the ones we sell at my shop and I trust them, plus I get a very good deal on them.

I used this diagram to determine where the camera pins go:


For the pins I used one of SVXdc's plugs for the 2012 impreza rear camera since we had a few sitting at my shop. I pulled the three wires out of his plug and inserted them in my 16 pin plug. The three wires are Camera +, Camera -, and a simple ground. Heres how they looked in the 16 pin connector:


The black and yellow wires on the end lead to an RCA video input, and the second black one in slot 15 needs to be grounded.

While I was there I grounded the grey wire (parking brake) with the black wire:

This was the beginning of the VIM bypass process.
NOTE: THE GROUNDING LOCATION PICTURED DID NOT WORK, the ground was later moved, but I did not get a picture.

Grounding the grey wire allowed me to watch a DVD with the parking brake disengaged, however I still could not type in an address or use my phone because the VSS(vehicle speed sensor) was letting the radio know I was moving. So, the next step in the VIM bypass was to cut the VSS wire and put it on a switch. The VSS is in pin 17 on the 28 pin connector, on my car it was pink/green. This picture shows the wire cut with the switch wires spliced in:

I tested everything before putting it back together and it seemed to work fine, took a quick break out back of the shop and spotted this bad boy:


Back to work, put it mostly back together and tested again:


Camera works!
Completely reassembled:


The camera automatically comes on when the vehicle is put into reverse.

The words and lines on the screen are there from the factory radio settings and as of now I do not know how to get rid of them, they don't bother me too much though so who cares.

The VIM bypass also worked perfectly, although I couldn't really get any pics of this.

Good luck to anyone else who gives it a shot, both are totally worth it!
Flat Black VW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to Flat Black VW For This Useful Post:
baldolera (08-24-2012), Bristecom (08-24-2012), cobrabyte (08-24-2012), Floggin Tires (08-21-2012), Gintsuki (11-20-2013), grst1 (08-22-2012), illmatic (08-22-2012), Kimsey47 (08-21-2012), kwood9000 (08-22-2012), monkie (01-12-2013), mou (04-28-2013), quik1987 (08-22-2012), RYU (08-22-2012), ShoNUFF (01-06-2013), sparks (08-22-2012), Sportsguy83 (08-22-2012), THEWAKLER (12-18-2013), tripjammer (08-24-2012), TSY (08-21-2012), zoomzoomers (08-21-2012)
Old 08-21-2012, 05:48 PM   #2
mechaghost
Senior Member
 
mechaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: Silver AT Limited
Location: Seattle
Posts: 827
Thanks: 145
Thanked 337 Times in 155 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
what, they totally should have put the back up camera to begin with! Do the lines change when your steering wheel rotates?
mechaghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 05:50 PM   #3
Flat Black VW
Senior Member
 
Flat Black VW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: NOVA
Posts: 840
Thanks: 214
Thanked 324 Times in 193 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechaghost View Post
what, they totally should have put the back up camera to begin with! Do the lines change when your steering wheel rotates?
no unfortunately not
Flat Black VW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:08 PM   #4
zoomzoomers
Senior Member
 
zoomzoomers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 2013 Subaru SWP BRZ Limited 6AT
Location: Darkside
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 523
Thanked 298 Times in 202 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Awesome job! This is a high priority on my list of things to do to my BRZ. I hope somebody puts out a reasonably cheap kit for this soon. As I'm not so technically inclined as you are I'll have to find a shop to do the work.
__________________
Man Law#17:A man in the company of a hot, seductively dressed, woman MUST remain sober enough to fight!

MODS: AVO tubes + filter, Cusco (F) strut brace w/ MC brace, Perrin CBE, Subaru OEM trunk tray, Grimmspeed front license re-locator & hood struts and Beatsonic rear cam.
zoomzoomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:44 PM   #5
dwx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: 2013 DGM Subaru BRZ (Subie #9)
Location: ATL, US
Posts: 2,043
Thanks: 83
Thanked 615 Times in 397 Posts
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Sweet. I was in contact with SVXdc and he was going to do some R&D on my car since we live near each other but I guess you got it figured out.

Why couldn't you just use his harness? Are the pin locations different on the BRZ Nav unit?
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:05 PM   #6
Flat Black VW
Senior Member
 
Flat Black VW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: NOVA
Posts: 840
Thanks: 214
Thanked 324 Times in 193 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
The harness I had from him was a 6 pin for different nav radios. I simply used it for the pins with the RCA input.
Flat Black VW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:12 PM   #7
green_comet
Member
 
green_comet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Ford Focus ST
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 64
Thanks: 5
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Nice work, here's hoping someone does a detailed step by step install guide on this, including what parts are needed.
green_comet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:18 PM   #8
TouchMyHonda
Vtec Jesus
 
TouchMyHonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 13 BRZ Limited, 13 Golf R
Location: LSD
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 561
Thanked 220 Times in 144 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Dope!
TouchMyHonda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 08:01 PM   #9
Floggin Tires
Senior Member
 
Floggin Tires's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: ZC6, Junk of ALL sorts
Location: Ohio
Posts: 477
Thanks: 98
Thanked 247 Times in 147 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Nicely done.
Post this here > http://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43

Halla @DarrenDriven
__________________
# 1. Always know where your towel is.
ZC6-CBS, is home
Floggin Tires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 08:56 PM   #10
Flat Black VW
Senior Member
 
Flat Black VW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: NOVA
Posts: 840
Thanks: 214
Thanked 324 Times in 193 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floggin Tires View Post
I didn't put it there since its not a very detailed write up. There is a lot more to the install than I showed.

If the mods deem it good enough to be a DIY feel free to move it
Flat Black VW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 11:13 PM   #11
TSY
Senior Member
 
TSY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited SWP
Location: Seattle
Posts: 204
Thanks: 53
Thanked 50 Times in 29 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Did you have to wire it to the shifter or is it already pre-wired? Do the JDM cars have back up cameras?

Nice work- I'd love to have a back up camera on my BRZ! I'm going to have to look into getting this done myself.
__________________
Past Subarus: 08 STI, 05 Legacy GT, 98 Legacy L wagon, 97 SVX LSi
Daily Driver: 2013 Acura MDX
TSY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 11:25 PM   #12
Flat Black VW
Senior Member
 
Flat Black VW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: NOVA
Posts: 840
Thanks: 214
Thanked 324 Times in 193 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSY View Post
Did you have to wire it to the shifter or is it already pre-wired? Do the JDM cars have back up cameras?

Nice work- I'd love to have a back up camera on my BRZ! I'm going to have to look into getting this done myself.
I did not have to wire it for the shifter. These NAV radios are pretty much set up to add a back up camera.
Flat Black VW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:02 AM   #13
TSY
Senior Member
 
TSY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited SWP
Location: Seattle
Posts: 204
Thanks: 53
Thanked 50 Times in 29 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flat Black VW View Post
I did not have to wire it for the shifter. These NAV radios are pretty much set up to add a back up camera.
That's what I figured. You'd think it would be an option since it's just hooking up an inexpensive little camera.

Thanks again!
__________________
Past Subarus: 08 STI, 05 Legacy GT, 98 Legacy L wagon, 97 SVX LSi
Daily Driver: 2013 Acura MDX
TSY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:13 AM   #14
zoomzoomers
Senior Member
 
zoomzoomers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 2013 Subaru SWP BRZ Limited 6AT
Location: Darkside
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 523
Thanked 298 Times in 202 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I'm personally waiting for the JDM parts to be available here in the US. Then it should be entirely plug and play. Just hope it won't cost and arm and a leg. Here's hoping the wait will pay off. Cheers to you for taking your own route! :happy0180:
__________________
Man Law#17:A man in the company of a hot, seductively dressed, woman MUST remain sober enough to fight!

MODS: AVO tubes + filter, Cusco (F) strut brace w/ MC brace, Perrin CBE, Subaru OEM trunk tray, Grimmspeed front license re-locator & hood struts and Beatsonic rear cam.
zoomzoomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 07:13 AM   #15
Foobar
SLO NO MO
 
Foobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: DGM BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 2,481
Thanks: 196
Thanked 852 Times in 594 Posts
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Excellent! Will be doing this over the weekend. I can't really tell from the pic - is that grommet on the trunk used for the trunk release button? Looks like that whole panel screws off?

Finally, I like the look of that Rydeen - any chance you can spread your good deal around to us FT86Club members?

By the way, the lines/text are from the camera itself I believe. At least that's how other cameras have worked for me.

Here - found this on Rydeen's site:

Quote:
Speaking of the original, the MINy™ retains its Super CMOS III Night Vision camera and waterproof engineered plastic housing. On the inside, it features selectable parking lines that overlay the image, and the view can be reversed for front-mount applications.
Foobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:43 AM   #16
sparks
Senior Member
 
sparks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 251
Thanks: 70
Thanked 117 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Was the ground on pin 15 required to activate the camera?

What did you use to power the camera? Back-up lighting?
__________________
2013 BRZ Preimum #452 - Sterling Silver
sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:28 AM   #17
Flat Black VW
Senior Member
 
Flat Black VW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: NOVA
Posts: 840
Thanks: 214
Thanked 324 Times in 193 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foobar View Post
Excellent! Will be doing this over the weekend. I can't really tell from the pic - is that grommet on the trunk used for the trunk release button? Looks like that whole panel screws off?

Finally, I like the look of that Rydeen - any chance you can spread your good deal around to us FT86Club members?

By the way, the lines/text are from the camera itself I believe. At least that's how other cameras have worked for me.

Here - found this on Rydeen's site:
The grommet had nothing running through it, seemed like it was basically made for a back up cam/ rear laser diffuser.

The Rydeen camera does have its own lines, I had already disabled them, the ones on the screen are in fact from the Radio, when I first hooked it up it had both sets of lines. Basically I had to connect two green wires in the camera cables to disable those.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks View Post
Was the ground on pin 15 required to activate the camera?

What did you use to power the camera? Back-up lighting?
I have not tried it without the pin in the harness but I do know when that wire wasn't grounded I did not get the camera to come on, so I would say yes.

And yes I used the reverse light wire to power the camera.
Flat Black VW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Flat Black VW For This Useful Post:
sparks (08-22-2012)
Old 08-22-2012, 11:01 AM   #18
ap5512
Senior Member
 
ap5512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 2013 SWP BRZ
Location: NoVA
Posts: 293
Thanks: 53
Thanked 56 Times in 42 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Great write up!...quick question..i saw a pic of your interior showing your head unit...how come you have the FR-S climate controls wheels?....i thought all BRZs have the toggle switches??? Am I missing something??
ap5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:03 AM   #19
ap5512
Senior Member
 
ap5512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 2013 SWP BRZ
Location: NoVA
Posts: 293
Thanks: 53
Thanked 56 Times in 42 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
nevermind...just figured it out...FACE PALM!!!
ap5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:05 AM   #20
sparks
Senior Member
 
sparks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 251
Thanks: 70
Thanked 117 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap5512 View Post
i thought all BRZs have the toggle switches??? Am I missing something??
The Preimum BRZ = FRS, the auto air BRZ is the limited.
__________________
2013 BRZ Preimum #452 - Sterling Silver
sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:26 AM   #21
Foobar
SLO NO MO
 
Foobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: DGM BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 2,481
Thanks: 196
Thanked 852 Times in 594 Posts
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flat Black VW View Post
The grommet had nothing running through it, seemed like it was basically made for a back up cam/ rear laser diffuser.

The Rydeen camera does have its own lines, I had already disabled them, the ones on the screen are in fact from the Radio, when I first hooked it up it had both sets of lines. Basically I had to connect two green wires in the camera cables to disable those.
Does the Premium not have a trunk release button on that surface? I wonder if the Rydeen Duo could fit right through that hole:
http://www.rydeenmobile.com/Backup%2...upCameras.html

I hope I can disable the lines on the cheapo camera I bought, I didn't realize the HU had its own.
Foobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:22 PM   #22
sure74
Senior Member
 
sure74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ Delivered: 6-1-2012
Location: NY
Posts: 188
Thanks: 64
Thanked 143 Times in 41 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Nicely done!

Any suggestion as to where we can get one of those 16 pin plugs and few wire pins?
sure74 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sure74 For This Useful Post:
GremlinDX (09-06-2012)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BRZ NAV/DVD bypass Scooby South Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 88 02-24-2014 03:41 PM
Name that spoiler! (SOLVED) WingsofWar Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 62 02-09-2014 11:55 AM
DIY Nav unit in FRS with e-brake bypass and iPhone cable by cupholders Nitro DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides 37 09-10-2013 09:44 PM
how I solved my gilrfriend's problem with headrest angle alexmotrix Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 8 08-08-2012 07:00 AM
Drove the 86GT and NC miata back to back on GT5 Hanzo Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 39 01-07-2012 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.