follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
SPC Performance
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
SkullWorks
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 803
Thanked 736 Times in 328 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
AEM in BRZ

The time has finally come.

My car is currently tooling around on an AEM Series 2.

Mitch @ MP tuning has sorted out a patch Harness to allow us to run AEM standalone ECU as a piggy back controlling the motor.

Is it done? Not Yet, but we will be on the Dyno in short order.

Our Goals:

1. Establish baseline for motor on Port injection only,

2. Determine overall gain with the utilization of DI.

3. E-85??? we will see what kind of headroom there is in the DI system

4. Turbo, the reason behind it all. I want 300WHP. this will be discussed further later :-) but not too much later.

Last edited by SkullWorks; 07-28-2012 at 07:30 PM. Reason: To protect the innocent
SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to SkullWorks For This Useful Post:
03Z33 (08-02-2012), civicdrivr (07-26-2012), Guff (07-31-2012), jedibow (07-26-2012), Sall (08-03-2012), Swift Racing Technologies (07-26-2012), wu_dot_com (07-26-2012)
Old 07-26-2012, 01:10 PM   #2
wu_dot_com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: accord
Location: ca
Posts: 406
Thanks: 266
Thanked 155 Times in 71 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
do you have AEM intake exahust as well?

if not let me know i can give you the contact i have at that other side of AEM so you may be able to work something out.

Bryan
wu_dot_com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:16 PM   #3
TouchMyHonda
Vtec Jesus
 
TouchMyHonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 13 BRZ Limited, 13 Golf R
Location: LSD
Posts: 1,092
Thanks: 532
Thanked 205 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
OH MAN.
TouchMyHonda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:17 PM   #4
OrbitalEllipses
haz degree, is superior
 
OrbitalEllipses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Attitude
Location: MD
Posts: 9,838
Thanks: 860
Thanked 4,517 Times in 2,735 Posts
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Never heard good things about AEM standalones.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻

Quote:
Originally Posted by chanomatik View Post
I am a noob
OrbitalEllipses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:45 PM   #5
Dave-ROR
Site Moderator
 
Dave-ROR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Drives: 95 M3, 13 BRZ-L, 00 GS-R, 96 Teg
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Thanks: 358
Thanked 2,745 Times in 1,339 Posts
Mentioned: 117 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrbitalEllipses View Post
Never heard good things about AEM standalones.
Compared to?

I've used them with luck. :shrug:
__________________
-Dave
DD: 1995 BMW M3 || Street/Track car: 2013 BRZ-L || Track car: 2000 Integra GS-R || Race car: 1996 Integra something or the other

Too many cars.. never.
Dave-ROR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:58 PM   #6
AJUSA.com
Senior Member
 
AJUSA.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 337
Thanks: 485
Thanked 151 Times in 85 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrbitalEllipses View Post
Never heard good things about AEM standalones.

Pretty much all the big HP street cars run them
http://undergroundracing.com/vehicle...-gallardo.html
AJUSA.com is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AJUSA.com For This Useful Post:
20valvewynn83 (07-31-2012)
Old 07-26-2012, 02:07 PM   #7
TheRipler
Reap the BReeZe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 04 LandShark STi
Location: Texas Mile -198.1mph
Posts: 286
Thanks: 81
Thanked 69 Times in 43 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrbitalEllipses View Post
Never heard good things about AEM standalones.
Series 2 is supposed to be better, but I do have a series 1 doorstop. I found out the "infinitely configurable" series 1 PnP was too finite for my needs. The full standalone is much more configurable than the PnP models, so that helps.

It should be fine if he is or has someone who knows AEM inside out without the need for support from AEM.
TheRipler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:18 PM   #8
SkullWorks
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 803
Thanked 736 Times in 328 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
The guy doing my Tuning and integration is the guy AEM tells you to call when they can't help you internally.

I have a bricked series 1 also, too many installs and uninstalls for that poor guy.
SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,213
Thanks: 597
Thanked 1,459 Times in 885 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullWorks View Post
The guy doing my Tuning and integration is the guy AEM tells you to call when they can't help you internally.

I have a bricked series 1 also, too many installs and uninstalls for that poor guy.
AEM wont' do anything for the bricked units?
xjohnx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:44 PM   #10
SkullWorks
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 803
Thanked 736 Times in 328 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
after the box had been opened, no

after more than a decade of hard use? no
SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:51 PM   #11
OrbitalEllipses
haz degree, is superior
 
OrbitalEllipses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Attitude
Location: MD
Posts: 9,838
Thanks: 860
Thanked 4,517 Times in 2,735 Posts
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-ROR View Post
Compared to?

I've used them with luck. :shrug:
ViPec, MoTeC, Link.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻

Quote:
Originally Posted by chanomatik View Post
I am a noob
OrbitalEllipses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:57 PM   #12
rusty959
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: DGM BRZ limited
Location: Indiana
Posts: 274
Thanks: 61
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
How are you going to be controlling the DI? Does the AEM have the ability to control both separately?
rusty959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:59 PM   #13
Lonewolf
Pissing People Off Daily
 
Lonewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: Moped
Location: CA
Posts: 2,830
Thanks: 1,365
Thanked 1,216 Times in 676 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have some experience with the AEM F/IC and I have never had any problems. I look forward to seeing what you can do with your setup.
Lonewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 03:03 PM   #14
SkullWorks
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 803
Thanked 736 Times in 328 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrbitalEllipses View Post
ViPec, MoTeC, Link.

Sorry you had bad luck bro,

Not really my deal though, Pro tuners+new Hardware=Great results in my experiences (of which there have been dozens upon dozens)

It turns out with any complete standalone upgrade it is muh easier to have a bad experience than a good one. AEM isn't power FC or E-manage, you have to really have someone who knows the ins and outs of the software and tuning theory or you are gonna get bad results, this doesn't reflect on the hardware or it's capabilities.

As has been pointed out, lots and lots of big HP guys use AEM.

You will also find it on everything from snowmobiles to ducatis, Monster trucks to minis.

SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SkullWorks For This Useful Post:
AJUSA.com (07-31-2012)
Old 07-26-2012, 03:04 PM   #15
SkullWorks
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 803
Thanked 736 Times in 328 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty959 View Post
How are you going to be controlling the DI? Does the AEM have the ability to control both separately?


that is tricky,

All i can really say is yes
SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SkullWorks For This Useful Post:
20valvewynn83 (08-07-2012)
Old 07-26-2012, 03:15 PM   #16
rusty959
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: DGM BRZ limited
Location: Indiana
Posts: 274
Thanks: 61
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullWorks View Post
that is tricky,

All i can really say is yes
Interesting. Feel free to say anything you can really say :happy0180:
Ive been looking for a way use a standalone with the d4s, but as to be expected having both types of injectors is an issue. Me paying $1200 and still having to rely on someone else for the tune isn't going to happen.
Ive been considering developing a module that would do all the work of controlling them both for me that would just take a signal from the standalone... Been trying to decide if it is worth the time to develop.
rusty959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:18 PM   #17
rusty959
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: DGM BRZ limited
Location: Indiana
Posts: 274
Thanks: 61
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Any updates on this?
rusty959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:52 PM   #18
Dimman
Kuruma Otaku
 
Dimman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Drives: Mk3 Supra with Semi-built 7MGTE
Location: Greater Vancouver (New West)
Posts: 6,393
Thanks: 1,485
Thanked 1,668 Times in 952 Posts
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJUSA.com View Post
Pretty much all the big HP street cars run them
http://undergroundracing.com/vehicle...-gallardo.html
My understanding about the AEMs in the Lambos is that they are the customer's choice but the tuner (John Reed) recommended MoTeC. John is the tuner for my buddy's 1015 whp 7M Supra.

I believe the issue with AEM standalones was with very, very early ones. Could have been a mix of new hardware and new tuners.
__________________


Because titanium.

Last edited by Dimman; 07-31-2012 at 05:57 PM. Reason: vague.
Dimman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dimman For This Useful Post:
AJUSA.com (07-31-2012)
Old 08-01-2012, 01:01 PM   #19
Dustin@Dynosty
FT86Club Official Vendor
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: KY
Posts: 525
Thanks: 0
Thanked 205 Times in 115 Posts
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
^ correct
__________________

Phone: 502.384.8882. For all of your performance parts, services, dyno tuning, high performance engine builds, and turn-key packages.
Order Online @ www.frsmod.com
Dustin@Dynosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:15 AM   #20
rusty959
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: DGM BRZ limited
Location: Indiana
Posts: 274
Thanks: 61
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANTI_LAG View Post
We might be doing a ProEFI system, we are currently doing one on a Lexus ISF which has the identical direct injection system. A series 2 AEM does not have enough backbone to control what will be needed if you want to run both injection systems.
Is there any insight you can give on how the DI system is controlled as far as signals needed etc?
rusty959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:43 AM   #21
Visconti
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Drives: 05 STi
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 2,912
Thanks: 196
Thanked 3,185 Times in 1,197 Posts
Mentioned: 372 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to Visconti
Opposing interests ?

Last time I checked the only interest I have is making these cars the best they can be for the customer

Only stating facts- I hope you prove me wrong

Unbelievable...
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:57 AM   #22
SkullWorks
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: SSM LT MT BRZ
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 803
Thanked 736 Times in 328 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Visconti View Post
Opposing interests ?

Last time I checked the only interest I have is making these cars the best they can be for the customer

Only stating facts- I hope you prove me wrong

Unbelievable...

You are offering tuning solutions for this car...am I not right?

I wish you had stated facts...instead you just supported an unfounded viewpoint with no facts attached, don't get hostile, I am not.

you haven't seen me in your thread telling you you can't this or you can't that...even after your shakey this header makes power oh wait no it doesn't dyno pulls....
SkullWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.