follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook. Interested in the FT-1? Check out FT1Club
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2017, 06:57 PM   #1
Chronology
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: 14' Satin White Pearl BRZ
Location: Claremont, CA
Posts: 121
Thanks: 13
Thanked 38 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
AVH-4200NEX + Apps

Gents / Ladies,

I am starting to do more and more track days, and wanted to see if it was possible to side load an android app to the 4200. I don't mind rooting it if possible and honestly have not had the time to do much research sorry!

I was trying to load RaceChrono or Torque, but on the 4200 screen, currently I have to have my Nexus7 mounted and a ton of exposed wires.

TIA

Chrono
__________________
RS*R Sport-I w/custom spring rate / Cusco Front/Rear Sways, Cusco Diff Brace / Cusco Power Brace (Rear/Front/Upper/Lower) / JDL UEL Headers / INVIDIA Q300 Ti / Valenti Revo Tails and rear backup/ EcuTek / Moto-East Flexfuel / Moto-East E85 tune
Chronology is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 09:15 PM   #2
Crazypinoy9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: FR-S TRD RS1#1488
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 268
Thanks: 144
Thanked 183 Times in 101 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Maybe try this?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...51.arunchained

XDA Link for more resources
https://forum.xda-developers.com/gen...ained-t2955966
Crazypinoy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 12:46 AM   #3
Chimera
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FRS
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 950
Thanks: 365
Thanked 211 Times in 154 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronology View Post
Gents / Ladies,

I am starting to do more and more track days, and wanted to see if it was possible to side load an android app to the 4200. I don't mind rooting it if possible and honestly have not had the time to do much research sorry!

I was trying to load RaceChrono or Torque, but on the 4200 screen, currently I have to have my Nexus7 mounted and a ton of exposed wires.

TIA

Chrono


I have looked into this a little. They run on 4.2.2. that said the current progress with these is that enough is known to do things like clone the OS to a new sd card, and change the boot to boot from os files instead of preloaded ready state (slows boot actually a lot) however no one that I know of has puts a root binary or gotten usb adb yet. I think the next milestone is adb.


the avic411 and xda forums have a section on these machines with some of this info, and some interest groups if you are interested in developing. if you are interested in final solutions, there is much distance to be covered yet.
Chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 01:11 PM   #4
Chronology
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: 14' Satin White Pearl BRZ
Location: Claremont, CA
Posts: 121
Thanks: 13
Thanked 38 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
I have looked into this a little. They run on 4.2.2. that said the current progress with these is that enough is known to do things like clone the OS to a new sd card, and change the boot to boot from os files instead of preloaded ready state (slows boot actually a lot) however no one that I know of has puts a root binary or gotten usb adb yet. I think the next milestone is adb.


the avic411 and xda forums have a section on these machines with some of this info, and some interest groups if you are interested in developing. if you are interested in final solutions, there is much distance to be covered yet.
I was checking out XDA last night, a simple fix would be to use Mirrorlink and have it mirror my android.

The other option I saw was inline of what your saying, guess its time to break some sh!t, I did see that ADB via USB is available by using dev mode and adding the av.apk, http://avic411.com/index.php?/topic/...er-debug-menu/
__________________
RS*R Sport-I w/custom spring rate / Cusco Front/Rear Sways, Cusco Diff Brace / Cusco Power Brace (Rear/Front/Upper/Lower) / JDL UEL Headers / INVIDIA Q300 Ti / Valenti Revo Tails and rear backup/ EcuTek / Moto-East Flexfuel / Moto-East E85 tune
Chronology is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 01:16 PM   #5
jasonojordan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: 2013 satin white brz limited
Location: Cottage Grove MN
Posts: 713
Thanks: 109
Thanked 336 Times in 214 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have this same head unit installed. Let me know how it goes!
jasonojordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 01:27 PM   #6
jasonojordan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: 2013 satin white brz limited
Location: Cottage Grove MN
Posts: 713
Thanks: 109
Thanked 336 Times in 214 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Doing a little reading into it sounds like Dash command (see the link) is supported by the head unit(see 2nd link) Dash command is like torque. I have very little hands on use with either app however.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...hCommand&hl=en

https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/P...e+for+AppRadio
jasonojordan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jasonojordan For This Useful Post:
Chimera (02-16-2017)
Old 02-16-2017, 03:43 PM   #7
Chimera
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FRS
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 950
Thanks: 365
Thanked 211 Times in 154 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonojordan View Post
Doing a little reading into it sounds like Dash command (see the link) is supported by the head unit(see 2nd link) Dash command is like torque. I have very little hands on use with either app however.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...hCommand&hl=en

https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/P...e+for+AppRadio
I actually have never used the app radio mode. I have thought about it. looks cool. I have been using android auto.. which is more limited, but is still nice.
Chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 03:49 PM   #8
jasonojordan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: 2013 satin white brz limited
Location: Cottage Grove MN
Posts: 713
Thanks: 109
Thanked 336 Times in 214 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
I actually have never used the app radio mode. I have thought about it. looks cool. I have been using android auto.. which is more limited, but is still nice.
Does torque work through android auto? I just got this head unit and I only drive the vehicle in the spring/summer/fall so I have a couple months here still before my car will see the road and I can really get to use the head unit outside of playing with it in the garage.
jasonojordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 04:33 PM   #9
Chimera
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FRS
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 950
Thanks: 365
Thanked 211 Times in 154 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonojordan View Post
Does torque work through android auto? I just got this head unit and I only drive the vehicle in the spring/summer/fall so I have a couple months here still before my car will see the road and I can really get to use the head unit outside of playing with it in the garage.
it does not.
Google has plans to use OBD2 data in android auto, and has even suggested a torque like analog, but android auto development has been slow, partly due to OEMs giving them trouble about sharing data. Stuff about google stealing their secret sauce.. like google couldn't afford a porche to tear apart if they wanted to secret sauce.
Chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 04:34 PM   #10
jasonojordan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: 2013 satin white brz limited
Location: Cottage Grove MN
Posts: 713
Thanks: 109
Thanked 336 Times in 214 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
it does not.
Google has plans to use OBD2 data in android auto, and has even suggested a torque like analog, but android auto development has been slow, partly due to OEMs giving them trouble about sharing data. Stuff about google stealing their secret sauce.. like google couldn't afford a porche to tear apart if they wanted to secret sauce.
Good to know. Thanks for sharing.
jasonojordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 06:33 PM   #11
Crazypinoy9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: FR-S TRD RS1#1488
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 268
Thanks: 144
Thanked 183 Times in 101 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Your other option would be to hook up a Chromecast to your 4200nex. It works. I just set it up last night actually lol

You just gotta make sure to use your Wifi Hotspot function of your phone as the default network that the Chromecast uses during setup. Works like a charm. I used USB Port 1 as my power source for the Chromecast FYI. other people branched it off to a separate USB port plugged into their cigarette lighter.
Crazypinoy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVH-4200NEX/AVH-8850BT Problems Panman Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 10 07-14-2016 05:41 PM
Gadgets, Apps, and Non-Mechanical Additions? 02.ACCORD.DUDE Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 2 10-16-2015 10:23 PM
Any nitrous apps yet? 86pro Forced Induction 20 02-07-2014 12:00 PM
smart phone apps autobrz Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting 11 09-27-2013 05:24 AM
Best Car Apps For A Ipad travace Other Vehicles & General Automotive Discussions 2 09-19-2012 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.