follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.

User Tag List

Old 06-20-2013, 09:23 AM   #1
Ludacrits

Drives: 2007 Porsche Cayman S MT
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question What tires would you recommend?

I haven't bought the wheels yet so I'm still open to suggests.

Anyway, I plan on ordering some 17x8 +45 Enkei RPF1s. This is my first time ever buying aftermarket wheels and tires for one of my cars. I'm just having trouble deciding on a tire size and which tire to purchase.

235/40/17: I was told this size would preform well but I might get a rough ride. The tires I was considering would be Falken Azenis FK-453.

245/40/17: I was considering this size as well. It seems like there are a ton of tires at this size but the ones that seem nice are Hankook Ventus V12 evo K110.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
Ludacrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:58 AM   #2
FR-S Matt
Banned

Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S MT
Thanked 1,771 Times in 1,111 Posts
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Garage
Use the tools and find ones that keep your speedometer accurate. I was in the same boat you were a few months ago and by using the tire calc on this site and the miata.net tool, I was able to get a balance that kept it less than .05% off of stock.
FR-S Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:58 AM   #3
Mike@TSM

Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Send a message via AIM to Mike@TSM
Great choice on the wheels!

Either size will work well - what do you plan on doing with the car? Any track use?
Mike@TSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 10:14 AM   #4
Jidonsu

Drives: Scion FR-S | 6MT | Ultramarine