follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing

Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing Relating to suspension, chassis, and brakes. Sponsored by 949 Racing.

User Tag List

Old 04-18-2018, 10:44 AM   #1
Thueniken

Drives: Subaru BRZ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Suspension Hell Hole

So I'm new to the car scene. Like really new. I bought my 2013 BRZ about 1 and a half years ago when I was 14. One of the things I always wanted to do was dial in the suspension (Not saying the stock suspension isn't awesome!) So like anyone else would do, I started researching...There is a lot more than I thought.

The first thing that came to my mind was to get coilovers. I started looking around on FT86SF and found these: https://goo.gl/uS8k7F
The "setup" I'm looking for is a track/daily config and one of the parts I'm confused is the spring rates. Does that control the stiffness? Does it control how far the wheel travels? Would higher rates be better?
After trying to wrap my head around coilovers, I started looking at everything else. So a little more research later and I found out that once you lower your car, the suspension geometry can get out of wack. (doesn't sound good, don't want it) so I found lower control arms for the front.
https://goo.gl/W4kL8g
With these, it promises to "maintain correct suspension geometry on a lowered vehicle." Would these be something worth looking into?
After a while of this I realized that I'm in a suspension sink hole..
So at this point I'm just going tab by tab and looking at all the aftermarket suspension components.