follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.

User Tag List

Old 10-10-2018, 02:02 PM   #1
Riftur

Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question about Tire Rotation

I rotated my tires a few weeks ago and now the rear end of my car feels like I am driving on ice. The traction control is constantly coming on which was never the case before. Any idea what would cause this to happen? The tires all look fine and do not vibrate or anything when driving, but I am no professional.

Thanks,
Riftur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 02:08 PM   #2
DarkSideFRS
Banned

Drives: 2013 pearl white FR-S
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
are your tires directional?
DarkSideFRS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkSideFRS For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (10-10-2018)
Old 10-10-2018, 02:19 PM   #3
Tristor

Drives: 2017 Subaru BRZ Limited
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Garage
Every time I rotate my tires the car wants to slide a lot more and I may see TC kick in on the street, but this typically goes away within around 50-100 miles of driving. I always chalked it up to slightly differences in diameter and tread wear patterns wearing themselves in between the front and the rear, probably exacerbated by the fact I dual-use the car on track.

Also, check your tire pressures. If you let other people do your tires they always do pressures stupidly high. Look at the door card, it's supposed to be 35psi cold in every tire. I run slightly higher on the street for economy and because I'm lazy and there's a big black marker for 2.5 bar (36.25 psi) on my tire gauge.