follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 02-19-2013, 03:31 PM   #1
Sonolin
Banned

Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Visconti Stg 1, and other bolt on mods

Hi guys,

I'm not 100% sure I want to boost my FR-S yet, but I think (in prep for track) I want to do some bolt on mods and get a tune.

I've noticed with the injen intake there's a gain of about 15whp, and some exhaust combos are showing as much as 20whp gains. However, from what I've heard Visconti say, there wasn't any gains with his tune and exhaust.

This is weird to me, because I'm new to modding cars, but I want to squeeze as much (affordable) juice out of this car as possible, esp. for autocrossing and track days (which I'm looking forward to). Not mentioning weight/suspension upgrades, what are some good mods to do that will result in real, measurable performance?

NOTE: I have an AT FR-S, if that matters.

Here's a list I'm thinking of doing to the car:

- Injen Intake: cheap, and shows 15whp gains
- Visconti STG1/Ecutek racerom
- Perrin lightweight pulley: cheap, with some better throttle response (maybe 0whp)
- Nameless (?) catback exhaust: I've heard it gets +15-20 whp. Question is, will this gain with Visconti's tune??

Any ideas would be helpful. I'm mainly looking for performance, and can care less about looks/sound (although I don't want an obnoxious car, and live in cali, so won't be swapping headers).
Sonolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:38 PM   #2
white devil
Go Gators!

Drives: FRS White-out "blown up"