follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86SPEED
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2014, 07:03 PM   #29
DanoFA20
Shift Down
 
DanoFA20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: Toyota 86, Mazda RX7 RaceCar (FC3S)
Location: Stone Ridge, NY
Posts: 526
Thanks: 158
Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Wish I could go to a subie place. But im going to bring it up to them

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
DanoFA20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:37 AM   #30
l0aded
Addicted
 
l0aded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S 6MT
Location: United States
Posts: 1,085
Thanks: 258
Thanked 257 Times in 173 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Maybe a noob question but will flashing with OFT or ECUtek fix these issues? Is there any way of telling whether you are on the latest stock ROM via OBD2 or OFT?
__________________
Phantom Supercharger | Tsudo Cat-Back Exhaust | K&N Drop-in Filter | Winjet Headlights | Opti-coated | 35/20 Tint | Radar/Dashcam Hardwired | OFT tuned | OEM Audio+ Reference 400CF | Uber Sound Deadened | LED DRL strips | JPM Coachworks Kneepads
l0aded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:13 AM   #31
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,324
Thanks: 954
Thanked 4,564 Times in 2,715 Posts
Mentioned: 507 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by l0aded View Post
Maybe a noob question but will flashing with OFT or ECUtek fix these issues? Is there any way of telling whether you are on the latest stock ROM via OBD2 or OFT?

Tuners generally base modded ROM's on latest ones available. The DI fix will be included.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
l0aded (03-31-2014)
Old 03-31-2014, 10:42 AM   #32
stugray
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: 2013 GBS BRZ Limited
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,925
Thanks: 627
Thanked 1,443 Times in 710 Posts
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARNZ View Post
I work at a Subie dealer and if any(not a certain prod date range) 2013 BRZs come in and they mention/need the reflash we install ZA1JB01C/D (depending on MT/AT).
I was just at the dealer for this very purpose.

They stated repeatedly that they could not upgrade me beyond ZA1JA00C. Because (for MY car) there was not a newer ROM version available in the computer.

I explained that the new ROM was compatible, that Toyota updates their cars, and the newer ROMs solved other problems.
They explained that they could not upgrade me to anything beyond A00C because they were not capable of selecting a newer ROM in the computer.
stugray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 11:05 AM   #33
CARNZ
CHECK ENGINE
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: 2004 STi
Location: White Marsh, MD
Posts: 158
Thanks: 91
Thanked 233 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Whoever you talked to sounds like they didnt have a clue what they were doing

other possiblity is that, for some reason, they didn't receive the latest push update from subaru that contained the reflash files.
__________________
i don't cry about crickets
CARNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 11:28 AM   #34
SloS14
Senior Member
 
SloS14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S whiteout
Location: United States
Posts: 726
Thanks: 381
Thanked 650 Times in 255 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
wearever you took your car and they told you that, I wouldn't go anyware near there again.
SloS14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 08:55 PM   #35
dsgerbc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: BRZ(sold), STI
Location: A2, MI
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 176
Thanked 418 Times in 241 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuit Motorsports View Post
Check the TSBs here:
http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21868

There is a TSB for both the FRS and BRZ for the idle stability/idle drop issue.
FRS: TSB: S-SB-0040-13
BRZ: TSB: 11-136-14

Both TSBs will get you flashed with the latest B01 ROM.

- Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARNZ View Post
I work at a Subie dealer and if any(not a certain prod date range) 2013 BRZs come in and they mention/need the reflash we install ZA1JB01C/D (depending on MT/AT).
Quote:
Originally Posted by stugray View Post
I was just at the dealer for this very purpose.

They stated repeatedly that they could not upgrade me beyond ZA1JA00C. Because (for MY car) there was not a newer ROM version available in the computer.

I explained that the new ROM was compatible, that Toyota updates their cars, and the newer ROMs solved other problems.
They explained that they could not upgrade me to anything beyond A00C because they were not capable of selecting a newer ROM in the computer.

Conflicting info. Would like to get some thoughts on this before I bitch to SOA.

Took my very '13 BRZ (very early, delivered ~2 years ago) to get the rpm drop TSB flashed. Came home, hooked up ecuflash and the calibration is ZA1JA00C. No idea if they did anything per TSB, since the rpms were kinda unstable as usual when idling at a couple of traffic lights.

Anybody knows what exactly this TSB does to other tables? Unfortunately I didn't think to pull what was there before doing the TSB.

Anyway, naturally, that ZA1JA00C calibration does nothing to address transient ignition retard tables, which was the only reason I decided to waste an hour to get this TSB. So, is there a way to know if my dealer did anything at all per TSB (the TSB text says that everything should be updated to ZA1JB01C which didn't happen) or they just claimed they did something when in fact they didn't?

Were people with early '13 BRZ able to get newer calibrations?

Last edited by dsgerbc; 05-09-2014 at 12:55 AM.
dsgerbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:09 PM   #36
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,324
Thanks: 954
Thanked 4,564 Times in 2,715 Posts
Mentioned: 507 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsgerbc View Post
Conflicting info. Would like to get some thoughts on this before I bitch to SOA.

Took my very '13 BRZ (very early, delivered ~2 years ago) to get the rpm drop TSB flashed. Came home, hooked up ecuflash and the calibration is ZA1JA00C. No idea if they did anything per TSB, since the rpms were kinda unstable as usual when idling at a couple of traffic lights.

Anybody knows what exactly this TSB does to other tables? Unfortunately I didn't think to pull what was there before doing the TSB.

Anyway, naturally, that ZA1JB01C calibration does nothing to address transient ignition retard tables, which was the only reason I decided to waste an hour to get this TSB. So, is there a way to know if my dealer did anything at all per TSB (the TSB text says that everything should be updated to ZA1JB01C which didn't happen) or they just claimed they did something when in fact they didn't?

Were people with early '13 BRZ able to get newer calibrations?
If the cal-id still reads as A00C then they did not flash the ecu to the latest firmware which is B01C

AFAIK the A01C addressed the transient ignition retard issue that was in earlier firmware 700C. The B01C just appears to be idle dip issues and air-cond idle dip issues.

But everyone likes to be on latest firmware

Heard a few others had similar issues with dealer refusing to update them to latest firmware pretty sure @regal had same issue and he just flashed latest with ecuflash.

By the way tactrix release BRZ ecuflash official version in website still get the defs and bitbases from github as the ones in the release not the latest.

Last edited by steve99; 05-08-2014 at 09:49 PM. Reason: transient retard fix in A01C not A00C
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:12 PM   #37
dsgerbc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: BRZ(sold), STI
Location: A2, MI
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 176
Thanked 418 Times in 241 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
AFAIK the A00C addressed the transient ignition retard issue
No it didn't. I wouldn't be posting if it did.
dsgerbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:48 PM   #38
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,324
Thanks: 954
Thanked 4,564 Times in 2,715 Posts
Mentioned: 507 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsgerbc View Post
No it didn't. I wouldn't be posting if it did.
Yep correct it was A01C sorry, I am in another country though just trying to help

If you have ecuflash why not just flash B01C, and if your worried flash it back to A00C for dealer visits ?
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:33 PM   #39
dsgerbc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: BRZ(sold), STI
Location: A2, MI
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 176
Thanked 418 Times in 241 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
If you have ecuflash why not just flash B01C, and if your worried flash it back to A00C for dealer visits ?
I would if there's a ZA1JB01C raw file somewhere, or a techstream-compatible file. Couldn't find it so far.
dsgerbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:40 PM   #40
jamesm
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 2,288 Times in 1,178 Posts
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
I'll add that I've seen stock cars pull significant timing as well, and cars with aftermarket intakes tend to do so more as bob has already said. A car I did recently was pulling 4+ degrees under load, where most of the time I don't see more that 2 degrees or so on good 93.
jamesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 12:49 AM   #41
Circuit Motorsports
Senior Member
 
Circuit Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 4,353
Thanks: 294
Thanked 495 Times in 259 Posts
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to Circuit Motorsports
I'd like to point out that the updated flash updates (ROM versions) are cumlative, in that the latest release contains all of the previous versions' corrections.

So the ZA1JB01C calibration does in fact contain the new transient ignition retard table values (first implemented in the A01 ROMs), as well as all previous corrections from earlier calibration versions.

Seems like not all dealerships are up to date on their info, and/or calibration files. I don't know how that process works within a dealership, but it would be great for you guys to find a dealership that is on top of these things.

- Bob

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsgerbc View Post

Anyway, naturally, that ZA1JB01C calibration does nothing to address transient ignition retard tables, which was the only reason I decided to waste an hour to get this TSB. So, is there a way to know if my dealer did anything at all per TSB (the TSB text says that everything should be updated to ZA1JB01C which didn't happen) or they just claimed they did something when in fact they didn't?
Circuit Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 12:56 AM   #42
dsgerbc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: BRZ(sold), STI
Location: A2, MI
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 176
Thanked 418 Times in 241 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What in fact was there in my post is a typo. I'm on ZA1JA00C still. Fixed the post.
dsgerbc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.