follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86SPEED
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2019, 11:55 PM   #841
Juzzotec
Member
 
Juzzotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS
Location: Sydney
Posts: 69
Thanks: 18
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgtfluffy16 View Post
so if i have the torque app and i do this set up i can view my oil temps in my 2014 BRZ?
Yes
Juzzotec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 11:55 PM   #842
Juzzotec
Member
 
Juzzotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS
Location: Sydney
Posts: 69
Thanks: 18
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Has anyone found the gear selection PID? useless but a nice touch in a custom interface.
Juzzotec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 12:10 AM   #843
Sgtfluffy16
Senior Member
 
Sgtfluffy16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: 14' Satin Pearl White BRZ Limited
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 178
Thanks: 24
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juzzotec View Post
Yes
Okay, I'll have to legitimately sit down and study how to do this. I feel so stupid that I'm not positive how to figure out how to do it. Maybe I'm just getting old?
Sgtfluffy16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 08:44 AM   #844
Juzzotec
Member
 
Juzzotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS
Location: Sydney
Posts: 69
Thanks: 18
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgtfluffy16 View Post
Okay, I'll have to legitimately sit down and study how to do this. I feel so stupid that I'm not positive how to figure out how to do it. Maybe I'm just getting old?
It's not that hard, just setup the connection and configure the PID, a couple of inputs you're done.
Juzzotec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Juzzotec For This Useful Post:
Sgtfluffy16 (05-12-2019)
Old 03-18-2019, 04:00 PM   #845
Kirz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: Subaru BRZ Limited Edition
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Anyone have this dashboard layout on a Android Head Unit?
I canīt have it centered on my screen. The gauges are too big and display off the screen.
Kirz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:50 AM   #846
canon_spec
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: FT86 GTS
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbradley View Post
I had to re-enter the PIDs etc in my phone to check the vitals now that the car is back on the road. Previously a now busted tablet was configured for boost, AFR.

Anyway, for some reason the Vacuum gauge is showing something like -23 PSI at idle and at WOT it is rising up to maybe -11 PSI vacuum but never going into boost.

I am 100% sure the car is actually boosting, based on the performance when I hit the throttle. In fact I am guessing my HKS is putting out ~ 9.5 PSI at 7000 RPM (though I stay below 5500 RPM almost 100% of the time).

So, what's wrong with the way I have the gauge configured that it is always in vacuum? Any help is appreciated! Since the swing is approx 12 PSI perhaps if I knew the proper vacuum PSI at idle I can determine actual boost based on the difference from low to high.
Just thought I'd share some info as I was getting the same issue described by @wbradley where the gauge would never show as hitting boost.

In Torque when setting up the vehicle profile, if you enable the advanced settings it allows you to enter an offset for boost PSI. By default its 0 but you can put in both negative and positive values. To work out what offset to put in you simply need to go into Torque and find the barometer reading from the car.

My barometer reading was ~18.27 PSI. So I minus that from 14.7 and was left with -3.57. I entered that value as my boost offset and now Torque is displaying boost and vacuum accurately.
canon_spec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to canon_spec For This Useful Post:
wbradley (04-01-2019)
Old 05-12-2019, 06:46 PM   #847
Sgtfluffy16
Senior Member
 
Sgtfluffy16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: 14' Satin Pearl White BRZ Limited
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 178
Thanks: 24
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I follow the instructions on this to set up the PID word for word. It works but it only works basically when it feels like it. Any suggestions on what to do to make sure that it works all the time every time I'm using it?
Sgtfluffy16 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
android, app, boost, gauges, torque

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque app for android question Brody602 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 8 01-08-2015 05:53 PM
Torque for Android Freeman Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 7 11-23-2012 12:05 AM
Android Torque app questions Craig Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 1 11-12-2012 05:14 PM
Bluetooth OBD scanner and Android Torque - less than 25 shipped whataboutbob Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 7 10-20-2012 01:15 PM
Android Tablet + torque CharlieChaos Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 3 10-04-2012 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.