follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota 86 / Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous


User Tag List
go_a_way1

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2020, 08:15 AM   #10767
CY86
Member
 
CY86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Drives: they all have 4 wheels
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 34
Thanks: 27
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hey all. Regarding batteries, I was doing some research for another project and while looking for battery solutions, I discovered that you can get batteries from the Nissan eleaf for a few hundred bucks (used) 3.5 kw storage, 24 volts etc. You guys think this would be a good fit for an echarger?
CY86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 01:35 PM   #10768
Urmyson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: FL
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 45 Times in 28 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
OFT Tune

Which version OFT is everyone running? I'm running the original 2.0 tune I believe from 2014 and saw there is a 4.0 tune now. Any benefit in trying to upgrade to 4.0?
Urmyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 10:05 PM   #10769
Urmyson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: FL
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 45 Times in 28 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Volt Meter

Does anyone know where I could get the volt meter/on off switch? I've been searching and haven't been able to find one. Mine died today, but it appears it's just the display.
Urmyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 04:20 PM   #10770
Mufasa
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Drives: Scion FR-S
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAEMANO View Post
If you're talking about the license plate frame, then yes, the one I'm making can absolutely be BRZ. The emblem can go in either the bottom or top. You choose.

If you're talking about a console plaque, Yospeed makes one for the BRZ heated seats as well that can be customized, but like I mentioned, I'm not sure if he's going to be doing custom orders again soon. Example...
Since YoSpeed and MTEC are no longer producing these, is there another manufacturer/vendor that is producing them?
Mufasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 05:35 PM   #10771
DAEMANO
Time Traveller
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 Scion FRS - Raven
Location: So Cal - Orange County
Posts: 3,666
Thanks: 9,231
Thanked 3,374 Times in 1,663 Posts
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufasa View Post
Since YoSpeed and MTEC are no longer producing these, is there another manufacturer/vendor that is producing them?
Not as far as I've heard, although you can find boilerplate/ready-made ones on various sites on the net from Aliexpress, Amazon, and Ebay.
__________________
DAEMANO's RAVEN FR-S
Phantom Electric Supercharged & Open Flash Tuned
Showa Evolution Spring/Shocks | WedsSport SA-10R | e85
DAEMANO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 07:24 PM   #10772
Mufasa
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Drives: Scion FR-S
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAEMANO View Post
Not as far as I've heard, although you can find boilerplate/ready-made ones on various sites on the net from Aliexpress, Amazon, and Ebay.
Bummer. This is the only one I like. The other ones don't flush out/don't have the texture or color that I'm looking for. Let me know when you're done with yours.
Mufasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 09:10 PM   #10773
Gums
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Drives: SWP BRZ
Location: Sydney
Posts: 159
Thanks: 576
Thanked 95 Times in 45 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urmyson View Post
Does anyone know where I could get the volt meter/on off switch? I've been searching and haven't been able to find one. Mine died today, but it appears it's just the display.
There are a few volt meters on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WDPR22C...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==
Gums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 11:46 PM   #10774
Urmyson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: BRZ
Location: FL
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 45 Times in 28 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gums View Post
There are a few volt meters on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WDPR22C...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==
I saw those but was hoping to find one with an on/off switch like the kit came with. I figured one would have popped right up somewhere online but nothing matching the one in the kit so far.
Urmyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 12:06 AM   #10775
tzbang
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Drives: 2013 GT86
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 95
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have a kit for sale if anyone is interested. I had professional cabling made for RHD so would be ideal for anyone in UK, Australia or NZ. (Comes with original LHD cables)

I also have a Procede Controller and OFT.

https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=139009
tzbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 01:57 AM   #10776
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 1,088
Thanks: 87
Thanked 480 Times in 340 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzbang View Post
I have a kit for sale if anyone is interested. I had professional cabling made for RHD so would be ideal for anyone in UK, Australia or NZ. (Comes with original LHD cables)

I also have a Procede Controller and OFT.

https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=139009
Or you could be an innovator and twin charge it with the sprintex and phantom. Just need to run a Y merged coupler pre MAF so at high rpm its not a restriction. Would be crazy low end torque.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 11:25 PM   #10777
BlOody_BoOger
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: Hot lava FRS Monogram Charizard
Location: Sacramento Ca
Posts: 89
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86TOYO2k17 View Post
Or you could be an innovator and twin charge it with the sprintex and phantom. Just need to run a Y merged coupler pre MAF so at high rpm its not a restriction. Would be crazy low end torque.
I actually just bought his unit and am planning on running twin phantoms!

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
BlOody_BoOger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 11:27 PM   #10778
BlOody_BoOger
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: Hot lava FRS Monogram Charizard
Location: Sacramento Ca
Posts: 89
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Since I plan on running twin phantoms I want to go back to having a full size batter in the car rather than the Odyssey. But the smaller batteries won't since I'll have to run four batteries. My plan is to have them in the trunk and run wire to the front. My question is. Would it be safe for me to use jumper cables wires?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
BlOody_BoOger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 11:39 PM   #10779
Sojhinn
Lightning McQueen Driver
 
Sojhinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: Limited Red 6MT BRZ
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,242
Thanks: 753
Thanked 1,167 Times in 644 Posts
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlOody_BoOger View Post
Since I plan on running twin phantoms I want to go back to having a full size batter in the car rather than the Odyssey. But the smaller batteries won't since I'll have to run four batteries. My plan is to have them in the trunk and run wire to the front. My question is. Would it be safe for me to use jumper cables wires?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk


Run the full size in the back and the smaller batteries up front.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Nicknamed Lightning by my Kids.

Installed Mods:
Phantom Electric Super Charger | Open Flash Tune | Perrin OP/ HFC Front pipe | Invidia Q300 catback | ST Suspension | JDL Header | Flex Fuel
Sojhinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 12:13 AM   #10780
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 1,088
Thanks: 87
Thanked 480 Times in 340 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlOody_BoOger View Post
Since I plan on running twin phantoms I want to go back to having a full size batter in the car rather than the Odyssey. But the smaller batteries won't since I'll have to run four batteries. My plan is to have them in the trunk and run wire to the front. My question is. Would it be safe for me to use jumper cables wires?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Why not do it right with the proper wire/cable? Technically jumper cables would work but probably not ideal and may not be safe.

EWCS 1/0 Gauge Premium Extra Flexible Welding Cable 600 Volt Combo Pack - Black+Red 15 Feet of Each - Made in the USA

Something like that should work.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 86TOYO2k17 For This Useful Post:
BlOody_BoOger (03-03-2020), Target70 (03-02-2020)
 
Reply

Tags
26$ / wtq, affordable boost, better than turbo, brz electric supercharger, do want, dumbass freddy, electric shrimpage, electric supercharger, electronic supercharger, epic thread tag, fanboy circle jerk!, freddy keyboardwarrior, frs electric supercharger, get a real blower, haters gonna hate, hows the battery life?, lol, moar powa, nos with battery, one gear race champion, only pulls hard once, phantom charge, pm-robftss to order!, release date=not yet, release it already!, released!, rice, shut up and take our $$$, snake oil claims, street only, super pursuit mode, the price isn't known yet, tq300 plzkkthxbai, wooshy noise, yes turbo is better, yes turbo is expensive

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Motorsports - Vortech Supercharger FR-S Build + Full Perrin Exhaust & Extras Circuit Motorsports Member's Car Journals 4 03-21-2013 04:45 PM
Subaru BRZ : Full Throttle, powerslide, hard revving & ride ESBjiujitsu Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 20 05-30-2012 06:43 PM
86 Full Throttle Video + another. Aus86 Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 2 04-02-2012 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.