follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 04-28-2012, 06:21 PM   #1
Afdad120108

Drives: Mr2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Change gear ratio?

So im not an expert but a buddy of mine has a mustang ppl are know for changeing out the stock gears to 3.73 or 4.10's. Now im not sure what the FR-S final drive is but could we change it for quicker 0-60 times like the mustangs?
Afdad120108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:27 PM   #2
Dimman
Kuruma Otaku

Drives: Mk3 Supra with Semi-built 7MGTE
Thanked 2,265 Times in 1,234 Posts
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afdad120108 View Post
So im not an expert but a buddy of mine has a mustang ppl are know for changeing out the stock gears to 3.73 or 4.10's. Now im not sure what the FR-S final drive is but could we change it for quicker 0-60 times like the mustangs?
It's 4.10 here. The only lower ratio I can think of that may have chance is the 4.30 from a NA Mk3 Supra. But that's pretty much ancient history. Japan gets 3.73s on their base model.

Because titanium.
Dimman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
Afdad120108

So could we change the to 4.30 and would it make a difference? Im sure some company will pick up makeing some aftermarket gears i there is enough demand for it
Old 04-28-2012, 06:43 PM   #4
Dimman
Kuruma Otaku

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afdad120108 View Post
So could we change the to 4.30 and would it make a difference? Im sure some company will pick up makeing some aftermarket gears i there is enough demand for it